How will coe prices affect resale car value??

Rolanto

there are still a lot of NAIVE people. why on earth would the 2nd hand dealer buy high just because coe is high.

these dealers are very crafty people. no way would they give an inch of advantage to the sellers.

For info to everyone.. My car which i'm thinking of selling

is honda fit 2008, reg May 2008. black.

with leather seats + sports rim

so.. wat price shld i be looking @? :)

so fast selling away? Most likely loose kaw siao. Better luck to sell direct than through dealer.

not really lose until siao wor.. just did a quote and kia and the amount they can take in my car is the same amount that i can breakeven the loan...

If TS changing car, best is trade in to the AD.. or sell yourself... better value.. dont be put down by what people say about people prefer to buy from 2nd hand dealer..

post ur ad in sgcarmart.. think its $28 only..

you can check SGcarmart for reference, I see around 51 to 53K. The challenge is that brand new Fit is going at $57K.

you can advertise there, maybe asking few K below $51 to 53K their market price and try your luck.

But be prepared to be bombarded by dealers with low deals.

Just deal with direct buyer, IF they are genuine.

yes. but after the 5th yr, your ride will be much easier to sell compared to others.

imagine other cars left with $8k COE after the end of 5th year, assuming OMV same, condition same, your car has to sell lower than the other by $5k - $8k.

if u sell lower by $8k, ppl will rush to buy yours. so u can set higher by $2k - $3k. this is exactly wat happened during 2001. those with $101 COE are easier to sell as they are much cheaper compared to those with $30k COE

Hi Carer and all bros,

I may be a bit stuck in this. My ride is 3.5 years old. Bought it around 55k where COE is 8K. I intend to sell the car when it's about 5 years old. I've been checking around but could not get any information on the price of a similar car that is 5 years old now as a reference on how much I can sell when my ride reaches that age. Based on simple calculation of dividing the car price over 10 years, I think I should get back around $27k by 5th year. Is that a good guage or it will also depend on the market condition at that time?

Please lah, this type no need to hear from friend one lah, just drop by any AD/ PI showroom, they only ask for your full name and IC number, maybe ask got leather seat or sports rim (don't even bother to look at your trade-in car). a call to their car dealer and they will quote you paper + body. They even print out the LTA rebates of your car, Black & White! the critical part is the BODY value!!!

You go tell them SGcarmart price not same leh, they will tell you a lot of stories like dealers overheads, margins bra bra bra, maybe even ask you to fly kite. <_<

Buyer in the end will LL still buy, just overtrade or take a longer loan.

you never go showroom to pretend as buyer one ah?

and yes, we carowners are treated like idiots, from the gahmen, insurance coy, banks to AD/PI.

yes fully agreed to that..wose than shark..its a system for them ..

Actually find that car is a bit like hdb market, in the sense that if you are able to sell your car at high price, it probably means that the new car price is v high as well. This is due to high coe.

I dont think you can sell your car at high price if the new car price are very high. The dealer will still go for paper value. Of course, the dealer will sell the car at a higher price to maximize the profit if anyone want to take it.

That is why when the new car price is low, you have a hard time to get rid of your car if you got it at high COE. As your car will not be able to "compete" with the new car.

I don't see how your theory stands.

Think about it... If dealers can sell more expensive, of cos they will buy more expensive.

If they don't offer higher, someone else will.

You think every car dealer in Singapore gang up to cheat car sellers?

No. but every car dealer will take in your car at the paper value and sell it at the market value to maximize the profit. There will not have any car dealer going to take in your car at high price and sell it at high price. This kind of car dealer will not be able to survive in the market.

sorry to ask a different question.

May i know what wld be the consequences of below :

1. sell a car with open mkt COE ?

2. sell a car with cat A COE ?

Does it affect the whatsoever resale value in anyway ?? or basically there is no difference t [confused] o either AD or buyer at all ?? [confused]

Tks..

You can call this number to ask. 6744 7571.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/quotz/valuation.php

They are not car dealer, but help you sell car by auction.

Fee is $100 with some guarantee.

I'm a student from Singapore Management University embarking on a project in course, Technology & World Change. My team is intending to build a device which will solve the tailgating issue in Singapore.

As we all know, tailgating is a major cause for most accidents. Our device works like this:

1. A sensor will be attached to the front of the vehicle to detect the distance between itself and the car in front.

2. Once the sensor detects tailgating, meaning a distance of less than 1metre between 2 cars, it will trigger an alarm to the driver. To notify him that he is tailgating the car in front.

The full mechanics and details of our device have yet to be finalized. However, we'd like to hear from you, your views and takes on our innovation.

We hope that you guys can give us feedback on our innovation!

Please revert to us at [email protected].

Thanks!!

Sharing my experience with used car shopping and ended up getting new car.

It really depends on your luck. B4 you buy your ride, check out the premium of AD/PI first. I just booked a new latio premium.I gave up the idea of getting 2-3yr ride becoz TC is throwing new stocks at loss(could be on paper only as I suspect somehow they manage to push Latio's OMV same as Forester!!!). As a results, I will lose more by buying used Latio, which could be the reason why out of the sudden Latio is flooding the 2nd hand market!

Buying cars in Singapore is really like "investment", just that you dun plan for profitting but minimizing losses...

Yalor, now a day buy a new car is lost money one on the very first day you get your ride. Unlike buying/selling HDB flat usually can gain $$