Astrid 4th Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 I'm harbouring thoughts of migrating (or quitting, like our government puts it) down under. Life here is getting really suffocating man... no thanks to the influx of people from a certain large Asian country. Starting to feel like a second-rate citizen in my very own country. I think it will be a case of "out of the frying pan, into the fire" in that case! When was the last that you have been to cities like Sydney and Melbourne? If you dislike the thought of having a large % of India-Indians and/or China-Chinese in SG, I think their numbers are growing even more rapidly in these Australian cities. Just walk the streets and observe at traffic light junctions and in department stores. I just came back from Mel a couple of weeks ago. When I landed at Tullamarine airport, there was a huge crowd of people waiting for their folks to arrive there. The strange thing is, they were ALL China-Chinese ..... at least 100 of them. For a while, anyone could have the impression that they have just landed at Beijing or Shanghai airport! You just won't believe it. The worst thing is that YOU (being there) will also be regarded as one of them ... i.e. alien immigrant from China. They all talk very loudly and get into arguments (and fights) easily. And I know for one, that the Aussies have very low regard for them. You can tell on how they are being 'handled' and condescended there. There, you will always have a 'glass ceiling' in the corporate world. Whereas, in Singapore, you are a first-class citizen. Comprehende my drift? That's why I have perished all thoughts about emmigrating to Australia ..... when I was once so enthusiastic, just 6-8 years back. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 Couple of years when I was there, there were many Vietnamese as well. They gathered group by group. like traids. Really scared me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 the only thing thats luring me to aussie is the wage and working lifestyle. other than that, for example the rasicm and tax...not ready for that yet. still thinking hard now. my expat colleagues keep saying "why do the locals like to work way beyond the working hours man?" i keep asking myself that question too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 What you need is juz a change of environment. Try working overseas first. It's important you hold on to your sg citizenship cos once you let it go, that's it you won't get it back. i think you are spot on. but when pple say they wanna migrate, this is a logical first step. dun think pple just renounce their citizenship immediately i'm also seriously considering, but need to find job first and work there for a few yrs before committing. dun burn bridges until i am sure of course, still will come back to visit and enjoy local food Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged December 20, 2009 Share December 20, 2009 i have friends after getting their pr, didn't renounce their sg ic. just to try things out a few years. but apparently they are happy there, despite the cons mentioned above. its one's priority in life, i believe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 when i was there in melb couple of yrs back. there was 1 night when we backside itchy walked to the supermkt instead of driving there. along the way while walking back eggs were thrown at us. really freak my gf out. if they were alight and attack us. i wont know wad to do man... there was once more in a cafe where the waitress refuse to entertain us. so after ordering we refuse to pay. lol other than these 2 incidents the rest were all pleasant. i like the weather, air, pace there. i will fly there immediately if given a chance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 You didnt mention about the taxes there, are they lower or cheaper as well? 50% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Thanks bro The highlighted points are all I want in life.. I understand that I do have to cope with the negatives.. just need to find out how intense these can get. Those highlighted points are what I am after as well... But instead of making my Root in Aust. I would choose my neighbour country, Boleh land... Lousy polities, 2nd class citizen as cihnese, higher crime rate but hey... its a good place for retirement though as I am sure I do not need to work until 65 and above to provide for my daily expeneses , not to mention that the medical bills over there is still confirm cheaper than sg even if you go for those private hospitals over there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Starting to feel like a second-rate citizen in my very own country. Welcome to the club Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 To me Aus is just like another Sg... too many FTs and the sudden influx have drive prices sky rocketing... WYS here is WYG over there. I prefer NZ though... no doubt the life there is a little slow compared to Sg and felt a little like being in a kampung but I like it there. NZ youngsters are also migrating to Aus by the dozen too... nice place to live in, nice environment for kids and best road trips I have ever had.. Well someone has to raise the average IQ of Australia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 You didnt mention about the taxes there, are they lower or cheaper as well? Let me get straight to all you out here. As a citizen I don't mind paying taxes. In fact I have yet to come across any citizen of any country that abhors paying taxes. Sure, the Aussies, French, Brits and Woah! The Swedes and the Danes pay astronomically high taxes. Do they mind? I don't think they do. Look at what all that tax money is doing for them. I have come to conclude that citizens don't mind paying taxes. What citizens find abhorrent is tax dollars that are not well spent for the benefit of citizens. Sure we don't have a high taxes here. However how the tax dollars are mis-used that I find abhorrent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Author Share December 21, 2009 Those highlighted points are what I am after as well... But instead of making my Root in Aust. I would choose my neighbour country, Boleh land... Lousy polities, 2nd class citizen as cihnese, higher crime rate but hey... its a good place for retirement though as I am sure I do not need to work until 65 and above to provide for my daily expeneses , not to mention that the medical bills over there is still confirm cheaper than sg even if you go for those private hospitals over there. One problem about bolehland.. low wages Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Author Share December 21, 2009 Let me get straight to all you out here. As a citizen I don't mind paying taxes. In fact I have yet to come across any citizen of any country that abhors paying taxes. Sure, the Aussies, French, Brits and Woah! The Swedes and the Danes pay astronomically high taxes. Do they mind? I don't think they do. Look at what all that tax money is doing for them. I have come to conclude that citizens don't mind paying taxes. What citizens find abhorrent is tax dollars that are not well spent for the benefit of citizens. Sure we don't have a high taxes here. However how the tax dollars are mis-used that I find abhorrent. Well put. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Author Share December 21, 2009 i have friends after getting their pr, didn't renounce their sg ic. just to try things out a few years. but apparently they are happy there, despite the cons mentioned above. its one's priority in life, i believe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Author Share December 21, 2009 when i was there in melb couple of yrs back. there was 1 night when we backside itchy walked to the supermkt instead of driving there. along the way while walking back eggs were thrown at us. really freak my gf out. if they were alight and attack us. i wont know wad to do man... there was once more in a cafe where the waitress refuse to entertain us. so after ordering we refuse to pay. lol other than these 2 incidents the rest were all pleasant. i like the weather, air, pace there. i will fly there immediately if given a chance. Well.. I was chided by a PRC CYCLIST just this morning for not giving way to him on a pavement. I don't see how that's any better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Sure we don't have a high taxes here. However how the tax dollars are mis-used that I find abhorrent. I feel that our taxes r equally high, there r many funny funny taxes here, i also regard CPF as a form of tax. Money that dun belong to u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Share December 21, 2009 Why abt aust neighbor, NZ? Any feedback on this country? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear December 21, 2009 Author Share December 21, 2009 I feel that our taxes r equally high, there r many funny funny taxes here, i also regard CPF as a form of tax. Money that dun belong to u Eh bro, must be fair to the govt la.. This CPF thing is actually a brilliant system. It's still your money at the end of the day. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...