Alechi 2nd Gear December 22, 2009 Share December 22, 2009 There's a road called Slim Barracks leading to NTU Alumni Clubhouse. There's always full of illegal parking and zero enforcement. 2 lanes - 2 ways become 1 lane- 2ways, which is very dangerous. So ... whose fault is this ?? Are the people parking legally inside, paying for parking the stupid ones ?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garis Clutched December 22, 2009 Share December 22, 2009 I share your concerns, I send and pick up my kids from the childcare inside the NTUAC and it is extremely dangerous when I exit the carpark as I can't seem to see the oncoming traffic as my view is blocked by the cars parking illegally on the side. The problem is that there are no yellow lines so it might not be an offence to park. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear December 22, 2009 Share December 22, 2009 There's a road called Slim Barracks leading to NTU Alumni Clubhouse. There's always full of illegal parking and zero enforcement. 2 lanes - 2 ways become 1 lane- 2ways, which is very dangerous. So ... whose fault is this ?? Are the people parking legally inside, paying for parking the stupid ones ?? In life, there are a few things you can do, to correct a suituation, you see is in the wrong. For your case, you feel like blaming another party or parties involved which in your view, is probably the best way. Or making a hell of a lot of noise eithier in some public forums or with your kakis you mingle with. Or you can take a proactive approach and call the relevant authrities to take the appropriate action on this issue. This should be a parking enforcement issue and the number to call is : 1800-5471818. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 22, 2009 Author Share December 22, 2009 I have checked -> there is a continuous white line dividing the road, which means no parking. If it is a broken white line dividing the road, then it can be used for parking. Meaning ... it is an official chargeable traffic offence. Only problem is, TP don't bother to patrol these small roads, NTU Alumni Club as the landlord also can't be bothered. If you ask me, NTU Alumni Club is the main culprit for being passive. I share your concerns, I send and pick up my kids from the childcare inside the NTUAC and it is extremely dangerous when I exit the carpark as I can't seem to see the oncoming traffic as my view is blocked by the cars parking illegally on the side. The problem is that there are no yellow lines so it might not be an offence to park. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 22, 2009 Author Share December 22, 2009 The long-term solution is not for general public to keep calling for ad-hoc enforcement actions, but for the landlord -NTU Alumni Club, with all its security guards etc, to proactively ensure that the roads are safe for its members and guests, and if need be, work with the police or enforcement units. The end objective of this media awareness is the above. In life, there are a few things you can do, to correct a suituation, you see is in the wrong. For your case, you feel like blaming another party or parties involved which in your view, is probably the best way. Or making a hell of a lot of noise eithier in some public forums or with your kakis you mingle with. Or you can take a proactive approach and call the relevant authrities to take the appropriate action on this issue. This should be a parking enforcement issue and the number to call is : 1800-5471818. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garis Clutched December 22, 2009 Share December 22, 2009 (edited) When there is a seminar or course held inside NTUAC, you will see a whole load of cheapskate attendees parking illegally outside. Edited December 22, 2009 by Garis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 22, 2009 Author Share December 22, 2009 The situation will only become worse when the private apartments are ready and the surrounding population balloons. When more courses and seminars are held in NTU Alumni club, it'll also become worse. When there is a seminar or course held inside NTUAC, you will see a whole load of cheapskate attendees parking illegally outside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 22, 2009 Author Share December 22, 2009 Now .. anyone from SPF, LTA or NTU Alumni club office here ? Pls flag out !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topaz Clutched December 22, 2009 Share December 22, 2009 My wife with our 5mth old baby is on the way to biopolis to pick me n my older child up, the problem is she hav drove to slim barrack instead...so she stop along slim barrack n call me n ask for my exact location, n i told her to jus wait there for me to cross over the hill across ntu alum to meet her there... the reason is bcos my younger child is crying 4 milk n my wife not familiar wif the location, unfortunately, 1 wk later we receive a summon of $70, apparantly a security guard actually took down all the car plate no. along this stretch of road n submit to tp. ...so yes they r definitely taking action, cos my wife stop less than 10min...road pretty deserted hardly any traffic it's a sunday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topaz Clutched December 22, 2009 Share December 22, 2009 I share your concerns, I send and pick up my kids from the childcare inside the NTUAC and it is extremely dangerous when I exit the carpark as I can't seem to see the oncoming traffic as my view is blocked by the cars parking illegally on the side. The problem is that there are no yellow lines so it might not be an offence to park. 1)The situation must be v.bad otherwise even with the illegal parking along 1 side of the road , at the exit can still c on coming traffic. 2)Yes, it is an offence, there is double yellow line on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 23, 2009 Author Share December 23, 2009 I wonder how TP can verify that the numbers given are genuine ?? Don't see the security guards taking photos as circumstantial eveidence. Anyway, i was there almost daily for past two weeks and there are always IDIIOTSS parking just before the turn out from the car park ( both left and right side ) ... can't even see any vehicle coming at all !!! I am darnn pissed with this because a road accident i had last year was precisely because of such idiiots parking and blocking people's views ... it was fortuitious that my claims went through because the driver who hit me actually was "travelling against direction" because his lane was blocked by those parked vehicles. My wife with our 5mth old baby is on the way to biopolis to pick me n my older child up, the problem is she hav drove to slim barrack instead...so she stop along slim barrack n call me n ask for my exact location, n i told her to jus wait there for me to cross over the hill across ntu alum to meet her there... the reason is bcos my younger child is crying 4 milk n my wife not familiar wif the location, unfortunately, 1 wk later we receive a summon of $70, apparantly a security guard actually took down all the car plate no. along this stretch of road n submit to tp. ...so yes they r definitely taking action, cos my wife stop less than 10min...road pretty deserted hardly any traffic it's a sunday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 23, 2009 Author Share December 23, 2009 I just went to look-see The road leading to the car park of NTU Alumni Club is single white line without double yellow. Some stretch further away has double yellow ... so i think although your wife stopped at a less congested area .. she kena because of the double yellow 1)The situation must be v.bad otherwise even with the illegal parking along 1 side of the road , at the exit can still c on coming traffic. 2)Yes, it is an offence, there is double yellow line on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear December 23, 2009 Share December 23, 2009 The long-term solution is not for general public to keep calling for ad-hoc enforcement actions, but for the landlord -NTU Alumni Club, with all its security guards etc, to proactively ensure that the roads are safe for its members and guests, and if need be, work with the police or enforcement units. The end objective of this media awareness is the above. This is precisly the mentality that the gov shaft down shxt policies down your throats. You put the problem that troubles you ,as the duty of another party to resolve for you. And if the other party fails to, or simply ignore the problem, Sinkies like you eithier keep : 1) complaining and make a hellva lot of noise 2) live with it but still make a hellva of a lot of noise. 3) be part of the problem and join the rest in the illegal parking as well. 4) Expect every other Tom, Dick and Harriet to take care of the problem, you see is a problem. Repeating my first post but it seems that I'm NOT getting thru at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear December 23, 2009 Author Share December 23, 2009 Gearoil, u obviously do not understand the mechanisms of lobbying and soft moves ... full of assumptions ... moves in presumptions ... so no point talking to you ... dun see anyone entertaining you as well .. so this's my 1st and last reply to u To all who are interested or vested in that area, just to share news that through chit chat, message has somehow gotten through to the club. When i went to "recce" this morning ... rd outside carpark's empty except one lorry with hazard light, whose guy settling some stuffs with security. Gd job to the club ! .... for now .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...