Piyopico Supercharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 For comparison: Macadamia is great. Hazelnut is good too but expensive. Almond pales in comparison. Walnut not bad, I have no info on the monounsaturated fat. ALMOND Nutritional value per 100 g Energy 2,418 kJ (578 kcal) Carbohydrates 20 g Sugars 5 g Dietary fibre 12 g Fat 51 g saturated 4 g monounsaturated 32 g polyunsaturated 12 g Protein 22 g Thiamine (Vit. B1) 0.24 mg (18%) Riboflavin (Vit. B2) 0.8 mg (53%) Niacin (Vit. B3) 4 mg (27%) Pantothenic acid (B5) 0.3 mg (6%) Vitamin B6 0.13 mg (10%) Folate (Vit. B9) 29 μg (7%) Vitamin C 0.0 mg (0%) Vitamin E 26.22 mg (175%) Calcium 248 mg (25%) Iron 4 mg (32%) Magnesium 275 mg (74%) Phosphorus 474 mg (68%) Potassium 728 mg (15%) Zinc 3 mg (30%) MACADAMIA Nutritional information Macadamia nuts (raw kernel): Per 100g serve Energy 3040kJ Protein 9.2g Fat (total oils) 76.4g Monounsaturated 63.4g Polyunsaturated 3.0g Saturated 10.0g Carbohydrates (total) 10.0g Sugars 4.0g Dietary Fibre 7.0g Cholesterol NIL Phosphorus 241 mg Calcium 53mg Sodium 3mg Potassium 409mg HAZELNUT Nutritional value per 100 g (3.5 oz) Energy 2,629 kJ (628 kcal) Carbohydrates 17 g Dietary fibre 10 g Fat 61 g saturated 4 g monounsaturated 46 g polyunsaturated 8 g Protein 15 g Thiamine (Vit. B1) 0.6 mg (46%) Riboflavin (Vit. B2) 0.11 mg (7%) Niacin (Vit. B3) 1.8 mg (12%) Vitamin B6 0.6 mg (46%) Folate (Vit. B9) 113 μg (28%) Calcium 114 mg (11%) Iron 4.7 mg (38%) Phosphorus 290 mg (41%) Potassium 680 mg (14%) Percentages are relative to US recommendations for adults. WALNUT Nutritional value per 100 g (3.5 oz) Energy 2,738 kJ (654 kcal) Carbohydrates 13.71 g Sugars 2.61 g Dietary fiber 6.7 g Fat 65.21 g Protein 15.23 g Thiamine (Vit. B1) 0.341 mg (26%) Riboflavin (Vit. B2) 0.150 mg (10%) Niacin (Vit. B3) 1.125 mg (8%) Pantothenic acid (B5) 0.570 mg (11%) Vitamin B6 0.537 mg (41%) Folate (Vit. B9) 98 μg (25%) Vitamin C 1.3 mg (2%) Calcium 98 mg (10%) Iron 2.91 mg (23%) Magnesium 158 mg (43%) Phosphorus 346 mg (49%) Potassium 441 mg (9%) Zinc 3.09 mg (31%) Manganese 3.414 mg Selenium 4.9 mcg ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 I'm currently doing an experiment on myself to see what is the minimum exercise I can do in combination with diet to maintain my hard earned muscles and lean-ness. I find that by cutting out all nuts and dairy (except butter) makes a big difference when it comes to maintaining a low bodyfat level. Cutting out nuts and dairy doesn't mean I eat less. I simply eat more of the other stuff. It's really clear to me that for myself, eating minimal amounts of protein to sustain bodily repairs and functions while eating as much animal/fish sources of fat as I need to feel full is the key to effortlessly stay lean. I guess I'm really lucky to love the taste of fat. Yummy + full + makes me not fat. The best way to live life. I guess bro LookingBusy has no issues with weight. Otherwise, all the nuts you're eating will definitely affect any efforts in weight loss. When I was losing weight, macadamias and almonds were a part of my diet too. But I only ate 10 nuts a day (carefully counted) so I guess it wasn't enough to stall my weight loss. Now that I'm super old bird and experienced, I wouldn't recommend anyone who's trying to lose a lot of weight to indulge in nuts unless they can exercise super portion control. Same goes for cheese and yoghurt. What I recommend is fill up on the fat first, then eat a bit of protein and whatever carbs that are in VEGGIES only. For example, if I eat a piece of Cold Storage belly pork, I will cut out the fat and skin and eat those first before eating the lean parts. It's hard to finish the lean parts after that. But if I eat the lean parts first, there would absolutely be no problems eating everything on the plate. Biochemically speaking, the mechanism is: by eating fat, your body releases a hormone called leptin, leptin tells your brain to stop eating. If anyone has noticed, the feeling of being full from eating fat is completely different from the feeling of being full from eating carbs. When you are full from fat, you have ZERO appetite after that, BUT you don't feel bloated. You don't feel sleepy after and you stay full for a long time (for me it's 24 hours). But when you are full from carbs, you feel like your stomach is going burst, cos carbs do not stimulate leptin and you only feel full when your stomach capacity is stretched to its maximum. And that's not the end. You feel like sleeping after 1/2 hour. But 2 hours later, you feel hungry again and the hunger is the type that drives you to look for more carbs/sugar to eat. Anyway, I dunno what my point is. Just sharing my latest thoughts from my past 2 years experience of losing 40kg and reversing my health. You have a point as far as nuts are concerned. Even the best nut have 10% carb. Some go up to 20%. Frankly with 20% carb content, eg almond you are eating the likes of a vanilla ice cream(13% to 19% carb). So if you eat 200gm of almonds a day, you took in 40gm of carbs. This is not low by any means. So all bros and sis, take note of this point as regards to nuts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 http://www.proteinpower.com/drmike/cardiov...tory/#more-4295 You Bet Your Life: An Epilogue to the Cholesterol Story The first Dietary Goals for the United States (DGUS) were released in 1977 to not a lot of fanfare. At that time, the great unwashed masses hadn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 You have a point as far as nuts are concerned. Even the best nut have 10% carb. Some go up to 20%. Frankly with 20% carb content, eg almond you are eating the likes of a vanilla ice cream(13% to 19% carb). So if you eat 200gm of almonds a day, you took in 40gm of carbs. This is not low by any means. So all bros and sis, take note of this point as regards to nuts. Without doubt, much as we don't like to do it, but we have to count weight of the food group in our food. Even f just to have a 'rough' estimate. I think, besides MO, CBS and skunk, who cook and eat at home (most of the time) for us mere mortals, who eats outside food most of the time, we've to be extra vigilant. The enemy is hiding. It's in the few nuts we took. Or the extra nuts after we counted 10! It's the teaspoonful of sugar in the kopi-o siu dai, but 3 cups. It's the cheese we happily ate thinking dairy's OK... Do I make sense? It's early in the morning, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 3 sing dollars here in Giant Singapore, the 250g block?? yup, brought my mini ice cream pack there to store those yellow fats jb giant la .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LookingBusy Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 I guess bro LookingBusy has no issues with weight. Otherwise, all the nuts you're eating will definitely affect any efforts in weight loss. When I was losing weight, macadamias and almonds were a part of my diet too. But I only ate 10 nuts a day (carefully counted) so I guess it wasn't enough to stall my weight loss. Now that I'm super old bird and experienced, I wouldn't recommend anyone who's trying to lose a lot of weight to indulge in nuts unless they can exercise super portion control. Same goes for cheese and yoghurt. Nuts are a very high calorie thing and as CBS said, 10 wouldn't hurt much for those trying to lose weight, but for me i didn't touch them when i'm in the process of doing it. Until i have hit my ideal weight and further found out that i could not go down anymore, only then i start to indulge in macadamias, 200-250gms of them in one shot every night. Listen to CBS, he knows what he's talking, i've personally experienced them myself too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Triproton Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 (edited) For comparison: Macadamia is great. Hazelnut is good too but expensive. Almond pales in comparison. Walnut not bad, I have no info on the monounsaturated fat. ALMOND Nutritional value per 100 g Energy 2,418 kJ (578 kcal) Carbohydrates 20 g Sugars 5 g Dietary fibre 12 g Fat 51 g saturated 4 g monounsaturated 32 g polyunsaturated 12 g Protein 22 g Thiamine (Vit. B1) 0.24 mg (18%) Riboflavin (Vit. B2) 0.8 mg (53%) Niacin (Vit. B3) 4 mg (27%) Pantothenic acid (B5) 0.3 mg (6%) Vitamin B6 0.13 mg (10%) Folate (Vit. B9) 29 μg (7%) Vitamin C 0.0 mg (0%) Vitamin E 26.22 mg (175%) Calcium 248 mg (25%) Iron 4 mg (32%) Magnesium 275 mg (74%) Phosphorus 474 mg (68%) Potassium 728 mg (15%) Zinc 3 mg (30%) MACADAMIA Nutritional information Macadamia nuts (raw kernel): Per 100g serve Energy 3040kJ Protein 9.2g Fat (total oils) 76.4g Monounsaturated 63.4g Polyunsaturated 3.0g Saturated 10.0g Carbohydrates (total) 10.0g Sugars 4.0g Dietary Fibre 7.0g Cholesterol NIL Phosphorus 241 mg Calcium 53mg Sodium 3mg Potassium 409mg HAZELNUT Nutritional value per 100 g (3.5 oz) Energy 2,629 kJ (628 kcal) Carbohydrates 17 g Dietary fibre 10 g Fat 61 g saturated 4 g monounsaturated 46 g polyunsaturated 8 g Protein 15 g Thiamine (Vit. B1) 0.6 mg (46%) Riboflavin (Vit. B2) 0.11 mg (7%) Niacin (Vit. B3) 1.8 mg (12%) Vitamin B6 0.6 mg (46%) Folate (Vit. B9) 113 μg (28%) Calcium 114 mg (11%) Iron 4.7 mg (38%) Phosphorus 290 mg (41%) Potassium 680 mg (14%) Percentages are relative to US recommendations for adults. WALNUT Nutritional value per 100 g (3.5 oz) Energy 2,738 kJ (654 kcal) Carbohydrates 13.71 g Sugars 2.61 g Dietary fiber 6.7 g Fat 65.21 g Protein 15.23 g Thiamine (Vit. B1) 0.341 mg (26%) Riboflavin (Vit. B2) 0.150 mg (10%) Niacin (Vit. B3) 1.125 mg (8%) Pantothenic acid (B5) 0.570 mg (11%) Vitamin B6 0.537 mg (41%) Folate (Vit. B9) 98 μg (25%) Vitamin C 1.3 mg (2%) Calcium 98 mg (10%) Iron 2.91 mg (23%) Magnesium 158 mg (43%) Phosphorus 346 mg (49%) Potassium 441 mg (9%) Zinc 3.09 mg (31%) Manganese 3.414 mg Selenium 4.9 mcg I think the carb readings are high because they are reporting Gross Carbs which includes Fiber, which is a Carb, but an indigestable Carb. So, a more accurate figure is net carbs = Gross Carbs - Fibre. Look at this website which I usually use to get nutritional data: http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/nut-an...products/3085/2 According to this; Almonds has 21g of Carbs per 100g. But out of that 12g is made up from Fivery, 4g is sugar. So, the effective net carbs is 21-12 = 9g per 100g. Also, look at the Estimated Glycemic Load, which is Zero. This means 50g of almonds have zero effect on blood sugar levels. Best of all, look at the Inflammation Factor. It is 174 and is midly anti inflammatory. For Macadamia : http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/nut-an...products/3124/2 Gross Carbs : 13 g per 100g Fibre : 8g per 100g Net Carbs : 5g per 100g Better than Almonds Estimated GL also Zero But the Inflammation Factor is a whopping 481 - strongly anti inflammatory. Both almonds and macadamia are and have been my staple snacks!! Edited October 14, 2010 by Triproton Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 err ok to sum things up is a high carb diet better or a low carb diet better for general health and wellbeing. Dun say for gaining weight or losing weight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Guys SG Giant has promotion for Australia Grass Fed Striploin @ 1.900/100gram , starts from today , 4 days promotion only. I see striploin also a lot of FATS leh .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 The fats are on the perimeter. But the meat part tends to be more chewy. Some people like that though. I prefer ribeye cos the fat is spread within the steak and the texture is not so chewy and I personally find it more flavourfull. Personal preference I guess... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 err ok to sum things up is a high carb diet better or a low carb diet better for general health and wellbeing. Dun say for gaining weight or losing weight. Wao lao eh. 200 over pages and you ask this question. High carb is very bad. Low carb best. But remember our diet is "high fat coupled with low carb". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Guys SG Giant has promotion for Australia Grass Fed Striploin @ 1.900/100gram , starts from today , 4 days promotion only. I see striploin also a lot of FATS leh .... $19.90 per kg. I bought about 1.5kg liao. Enough for 3 days. The fresh Australian salmon also on offer, $13.50 per kg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 I think the carb readings are high because they are reporting Gross Carbs which includes Fiber, which is a Carb, but an indigestable Carb. So, a more accurate figure is net carbs = Gross Carbs - Fibre. Look at this website which I usually use to get nutritional data: http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/nut-an...products/3085/2 According to this; Almonds has 21g of Carbs per 100g. But out of that 12g is made up from Fivery, 4g is sugar. So, the effective net carbs is 21-12 = 9g per 100g. Also, look at the Estimated Glycemic Load, which is Zero. This means 50g of almonds have zero effect on blood sugar levels. Best of all, look at the Inflammation Factor. It is 174 and is midly anti inflammatory. For Macadamia : http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/nut-an...products/3124/2 Gross Carbs : 13 g per 100g Fibre : 8g per 100g Net Carbs : 5g per 100g Better than Almonds Estimated GL also Zero But the Inflammation Factor is a whopping 481 - strongly anti inflammatory. Both almonds and macadamia are and have been my staple snacks!! Hmmnn, in that case, mac and almond seems to have lower carb then I thought. Ok, can load up more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Cold Storage. In a glass bottle with brine. Made in Germany, long German name I can't spell lol Meica brand. 3 varieties, I buy the variety with 79% pork. Tastes very different from other sausages I've had...can tell it's more meat than anything. No flour on ingredient list, carbs come from milk, a little only hehe. Thanks Skunk I will look out for it the next time I am at CS The smell of sausages cooking on the grill is just too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 $19.90 per kg. I bought about 1.5kg liao. Enough for 3 days. The fresh Australian salmon also on offer, $13.50 per kg. Ahhhh...I did my grocery shopping a day too early Don't think I can buy anymore cos my freeze is already full from my weekly shopping yesterday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahleon Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Which Giant har? or @ all Giants? Guys SG Giant has promotion for Australia Grass Fed Striploin @ 1.900/100gram , starts from today , 4 days promotion only. I see striploin also a lot of FATS leh .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 ahleon i think its all giant , just now i went turf city and bought 600grams only ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahleon Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 600grams only? hmm..later i go buy 2 kgs...for tonite n tmr...then sat go wack again...hehehe ahleon i think its all giant , just now i went turf city and bought 600grams only ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...