LEEgalised corruption

Iliketodrive

you are saying people like me are screwed

better wear stainless steel or kelvar underwear from now on

long live the heartlanders

Frankly you are not that screwed yet.

I think many if not most are just discontent, when they are struggling to keep up with the cost of living, the Govt themselves are enjoying multi-million dollars pay check. I imagine President Obama would blush scarlet red if he were offerred the same kind of salary.

There comes a point when some people ask, why are we paying so much for so little?

So I certainly hope the next GE will be the definning moment of our political history. Do we want to see changes, for better or for worst? Or is status quo a better option?

actualy i dun mind their high pay IF their performance is really on par with that level.......

but look.....such high pay yet at the current level of performance????? omg.....

================

When u can decide your own pay, u will always think u r worth more than what u r really worth. [lipsrsealed]

[laugh] election period got such q and a?

if so,i really dun mind sia coz i like to ask question where i feel its v contradicting and wish to know how people answer it

==============

U must purchase a 1 way air ticket to some far away place where u wil b safe. Departure 1 day after elections hor. :blink:

My humble opinion is that THEY cannot get the people they are targetting IF the pay is not at least commensurate or decent when compared with the targets' current earnings, which are all super high.

Go into the streets and see how many capable and highly qualified people would give up livelihood to serve? Almost zilch man. Many who do will do so vying for the power and influence.

Since society is predominantly so pragmatic, what to do? <_<

Pay for "quality" lor ...

Just like Blue chip firms pay big bucks for FT CEOS.

sometimes i wonder

if a person really wan to do something for the country or citizen, why they want to get paid or so much pay?

if saying can find a better pay in private, then go ahead work in private, y sacrifice?

why get million in serve the country to sacrifice?

isnt it very contradicting?

and also high pay to prevent corruption, if really serve with dignity or integrity,why mention such words? really contradicting in the words and logic behind these

are these questions asked b4?i wonder if so,whats the answer

there's a post on charity in past,answered by a bro..thing what Focus or what one..

if serving with condition thoughts and not unconditional mind,it defeat the purpose of doing everything and end of the day,its for self fulfilling for attain and accumulating conditional karma (someting like this)

his words really enlighten me

My humble opinion is that THEY cannot get the people they are targetting IF the pay is not at least commensurate or decent when compared with the targets' current earnings, which are all super high.

Go into the streets and see how many capable and highly qualified people would give up livelihood to serve? Almost zilch man. Many who do will do so vying for the power and influence.

Since society is predominantly so pragmatic, what to do? <_<

Pay for "quality" lor ...

Just like Blue chip firms pay big bucks for FT CEOS.

If the only reason they can offer to potential candidates to join them is money, then maybe there is something very wrong with the leadership or the party.

You know why capable and highly qualified people sometimes shy away from politics? It's the sacrifice in term of time and most of all privacy. Further, they may be a big wig in their respective organisation, but joining a dominent political party quickly make them into a small cog in a huge machinery. Not something that many will take to easily, unless they have their head screwed in correctly to start with.

As to this concept of "quality" being what you pay for, if the people you pay big bucks for are in primarily because of money and power, then there is very very serious question about their quality to start with.

hahaha if the opp come into power.... hope they come up with a new law which requires all those ministers who have earned more than the "market rate" of US$500,000 all these years to back pay the excess back to the citizens by installment.... this money will go to the old folks fund which will support our aged.... hahahahaha.... [:p]

Politics should never be about the money. Period. When the hell is the next GE? Can't wait...!

but sorry to say that our Gov believe in money make the world go rounds....The peoples that are suppose to serve the country because they want to make a different and they love the country is gone insead now they call those people to be in Gov because the $$ is good.

This is worst then corruption......They are not serving the citizens they are there because of the $$ involve.... [thumbsdown]

but sorry to say that our Gov believe in money make the world go rounds....The peoples that are suppose to serve the country because they want to make a different and they love the country is gone insead now they call those people to be in Gov because the $$ is good.

This is worst then corruption......They are not serving the citizens they are there because of the $$ involve.... [thumbsdown]

Our founding fathers, the so-called old guards of PAP.... they were not in for the money, at least most of them I believe.

They were in because there was a mission, to bring up this country from a 3rd world state into a viable economy, with decent standard of living for all.

I think MM Lee was right in some way, we are getting soft and complacent. But that reference should be made to our leaders, not just the people.

that is why i trying to ask, should $ motivate to serve the country/citizen?if so, are they fit into the criteria even have the quality?

big $ doesnt always means talent hired

see so many europe n us bank collapse..their CEO really get paid alot

I remembered during last GE, one minister mentioned opp only talk and do nothing while they talk and do things. The thing is since then, has our lives (excluding the ministers) become better or worse.

Lao Lee also mentioned all we need is 1 dose of bad government and we're finished. Wonder does the current government meets this criteria. <_<

I remembered during last GE, one minister mentioned opp only talk and do nothing while they talk and do things. The thing is since then, has our lives (excluding the ministers) become better or worse.

Lao Lee also mentioned all we need is 1 dose of bad government and we're finished. Wonder does the current government meets this criteria. <_<

yeah he was damn right, with the amount of money they are sucking up for their pays yearly, this amount could be put to better use in other areas like helping the poor and needy instead of spending on TV shows to make people who are trying to keep up with the standard of living to raise funds for the needy, creating jobs, small upgrading of neighborhood facilities to enhance or to assist the disabled and etc... Sometime really wonder if our leader are really good leaders cos someone once shared with me the concept of in order to be a good leader, one must be a servant to learn how to serve in order to know how to lead. How can our leaders lead when they know nothing about the needs of their people and strands further and further away from the people? Another question about is that why do opp parties only talk and do nothing while "they" talk and do things...From my humble opinion would be the fundings, opp talk and do nothing cos where does the money comes from? "They" talk and do things, where does the money come from? Another important thing I feel about being a leader is that he/she should have strong and good values, make a mistake, admit it and face the music (be it if its a honest mistake or not) even if you are not involve in it but is place charge of it.

i support you~~!!!

Sometimes, I really they do stop helping the poor and needy. Because everytime when they do that, it will cost us in some way or another.

Simple lah, just challenge them to go manage say 1 State of USA or any part of say Brazil - see they can perform or not lor hahahhaa, tink all siammmmmmmm