Iliketodrive Neutral Newbie January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xW_GKgGPS4Y MP SALARIES GOING TO INCREASE AGAIN !!! KNN Ministers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acevin Clutched January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 If minister's pay to be adjusted upwards, then most/all public officers' salary will increase too, and tats few hundred thousands of them. Looking at $$, that will accounts to millions.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 what's the source of the news? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 Pay package high then less incentive for corruption mah. Then again, there are so many other nations with very low corruption rate but with pay packages less than half or even a quarter of what our men in white are getting....we might as well hire 4 of their ministers to run 4 of our ministries instead? Idea leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 In the beginning, any form of unconventional action to solve a problem is a good cause. In the end, everyone is sucked into and everyone is involved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antlau 1st Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 high pay does not necessarily equate to no corruption, it only means another party needs to offer higher means to secure the "services" which will also mean the offering party will thus lay off their high costs by selling at even higher ridiculous prices.... vice versa, no pay does not necessarily equate to definite corruption. what happened to the idea of "serving the people, for the people, with heart, soul and loyalty"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 Man will fall on greed anytime. Nobody will really say enough when it comes to money. However fat their pay cheque is, there will still be corruption. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepyman Clutched January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 Wheres the curry sauce? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pukonto Neutral Newbie January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 Who cares. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 Based on the CPF contributions, I wonder how much salary increase the average worker gets? It wud b nice for an independent group to work out the figures & see if the average person gets the same % of increase in salary? Pegging the ministers salary to top CEOs of local companies is not fair. They sud peg their salary increase to an average of all workers as that shows that they r really helping all levels of society. Many of the CEOs r actually from gharmen linked companies & they just pump up their salaries & that is the basis to pump up their ministeral salaries again as its linked. It then becomes a continous cycle of one salary going up followed by the others & the cycle starts again. Like that the rich (& MIW) wil constantly b getting higher & higher salaries whereas the middle & lower income wil b getting lower & lower salaries. Already the gap between the top & bottom earners is getting wider & wider. It sud b stopped before it gets out of hand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 If opposition get their minster pay, they might change their tune. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 act keep talking abt corruption then what is the auditor general there for? seriously the pple in power are no longer in touch w the ground...when even the smallest fry are assured of $30-40k salary per mth, how will they understand the hardship of the heartlanders? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopitam Clutched January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 act keep talking abt corruption then what is the auditor general there for? seriously the pple in power are no longer in touch w the ground...when even the smallest fry are assured of $30-40k salary per mth, how will they understand the hardship of the heartlanders? you are saying people like me are screwed better wear stainless steel or kelvar underwear from now on long live the heartlanders Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 You know! Zeng Zhi Wei once mentioned in the show he hosted few months ago, when he tried out Luxury Hotel in Brunei! B4 he kong-kiaoz - he wanna spend all or most of his $$$. I gave it a thot as hmm it do make some sense to a certain extend, in the case for a person who has $$$ - lots of it to spare. He added whats the use of keeping so much $ in the end all boxed up and turn into ashes - hahahahaa - well said. If the person du spend it - he a just a mere keeper of the $$$. Hmmm guys - agree? Oh do agree with all folks here - ya indeed to amount of salary to our miw is really getting big time out of hands - well not our hands anyway. I hope Karma will come into play soon - really soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 if they didn't give face to ex-president ong when he wanted to do a proper audit of all assets..how complete the info do you think the auditor general has? it's abit hilarious..like you going to your bank and asking how much is in your bank account and they tell you, you have lots, don't worry ok..we can't give you an exact figure though, it might take 56 man-years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 act keep talking abt corruption then what is the auditor general there for? seriously the pple in power are no longer in touch w the ground...when even the smallest fry are assured of $30-40k salary per mth, how will they understand the hardship of the heartlanders? ================ So many "Ivory Towers" standing so high & pretty in SG. Nice to look at but what purpose do they serve to the common man? Maybe we need more commoners as Ministers & MPs to b able to really u'stand what the majority of the pple face on a day to day basis. Get down from your Ivory Towers & feel the needs & wants of the pple. But then its quite hard when u already so used to living in the Penthouse to go down to the basement & see what life is like down there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 if they didn't give face to ex-president ong when he wanted to do a proper audit of all assets..how complete the info do you think the auditor general has? it's abit hilarious..like you going to your bank and asking how much is in your bank account and they tell you, you have lots, don't worry ok..we can't give you an exact figure though, it might take 56 man-years ================= That already makes me very suspcious why they cannot reveal. To me it looks like some pple got something to hide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear January 2, 2010 Share January 2, 2010 (edited) exactly..has that issue been forgotten? the current president does not seem to have ordered something similar to be done..after how many years already if I am holding a key to something..and it concerns a nation (of course, not MM's definition)..then I would want to know, key to what.. think ex-president ong was along the same vein..kudos to him wonder how he felt..wanting to do an audit and have those obstacles Edited January 2, 2010 by Hub_n_mona ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...