1l0v3you Clutched January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 Who cares. hello. LOL your avatar damn funny [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Higgsboson Clutched January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 its tax free fyi. The amt of tax they pay is what some pple earn in a few yrs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 S'pore cannot expect to go back to growth rates of pre-crisis years By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 03 January 2010 2047 hrs Photos 1 of 1 Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong SINGAPORE : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said that Singapore cannot expect to go back to the growth rates achieved before the global economic crisis. Speaking at the annual Edusave Scholarship awards ceremony at his Teck Ghee division on Sunday, he said that it will be tougher and Singaporeans must work harder and smarter. Mr Lee said that Edusave Scholarship presentations are one of the happiest functions in the year for students who have done well. Noelle Chan, a recipient of the Edusave Scholarship, said: "When my family is short of money, we can take out this Edusave and use it for reading materials, books and uniforms." Another recipient, Sambhavi Rajangam, said: "I can use it for any extra assessment books to help increase my knowledge in a very useful way. That is the whole purpose of this Edusave Scholarship...I will definitely use it in a good way and not waste it." Mr Lee also had some advice for the recipients. He said: "The scholarship we are giving you is to encourage you. Use it to help further your education and do well for yourselves and for Singapore." Mr Lee also emphasised the importance of education and skills upgrading in a period of lower economic growth. He said: "So instead of being seven, eight, nine per cent, we may (achieve) three, four, five per cent growth. But what we must try to do is to make sure that our per capita performance goes up. "So even if the economy is not growing bigger and bigger, for each one of us, we will be doing better and better and performing well. And that means being able to contribute and having the skills and the know-how and the education in order to do well." Mr Lee said he makes a few visits to some schools each year and intends to continue with the practice this year too. He said he wants to encourage teachers, students and their parents to make the effort to ensure the children do well in the Singapore education system. One hundred and eighty primary and secondary students from Tech Ghee received Edusave Scholarships, an increase of 15 per cent from last year. Another 530 students received bursaries worth S$105,000 at an earlier ceremony on Sunday.Under the Edusave Scholarship scheme, primary school students receive S$200 while secondary students receive S$240. - CNA/ms http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1028318/1/.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 The Time's Top Ten Political Leaders in the World: 1. Lee Hsien Loong - Singapore Salary: $US2.47 million Per head of population: 54c 2. Brian Cowen - Ireland Salary: $US341,000 Per head of population: 9c 3. Donald Tsang Yum-Kuen - Hong Kong Salary: $US516,000 Per head of population: 7c 4. Kevin Rudd - Australia Salary: $US229,000 Per head of population: 1c 5. Stephen Harper - Canada Salary: $US246,000 Per head of population: 0.7c 6. Nicolas Sarkozy - France Salary: $US318,000 Per head of population: 0.5c 7. Gordon Brown - UK Salary: $US279,000 Per head of population: 0.5c 8. Angela Merkel - Germany Salary: $US303,000 Per head of population: 0.4c 9. Taro Aso - Japan Salary: $US243,000 Per head of population: 0.2c 10. Barack Obama - United States Salary: $US400,000 Per head of population: 0.1c If the list was not limited to 1 person per country, i think all top 10 spots should be filled up by MIW, STILL NOT ENOUGH ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 actualy i dun mind their high pay IF their performance is really on par with that level....... but look.....such high pay yet at the current level of performance????? omg..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 This issue has been talked to death already. My point is simple. If you are one of 66.6% and not happy, you know what to do. If you are not... then LLST, hopefully there will be more of the 66.6% who gets enlightened before the next election. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 Big money is in their performance bonus man... Ministar smelly2 think at least 6 months bonus, best part its confidential. ============= Wah this is even better than IRON ricebowl. More like SOLID GOLD ricebowl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 sadly many heartlanders are indeed screwed..jobs will b more difficult...cost of living def wont drop...living in a HDB high on paper gains only attracts higher ppty tax...on and on.. =============== The lowly commoner is always the loser & end up paying the way for the elites. Thats why the rich r getting richer & the poor r getting poorer. Time to change my destiny when elections come around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 Extinct the moment when they said must pay high high then can get good talents..... what happened to the idea of "serving the people, for the people, with heart, soul and loyalty"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 yup so still need the auditor general for?? but no choice, who dares to challenge such things in parliament? ============== Can challenge but b prepared to run away from SG or b sued till bankrupt. Later u b labelled a trouble-maker. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 btw..do all these minister pay tax or not? ============= Good question. But even if they do, they still reap huge rewards after paying any taxes. Anyway any tax is just giving back to the gharmen a fraction of what the gharmen has given to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 u think he will ever bite the hands that feed him? exactly..has that issue been forgotten? the current president does not seem to have ordered something similar to be done..after how many years already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 (edited) sometimes i wonder if a person really wan to do something for the country or citizen, why they want to get paid or so much pay? if saying can find a better pay in private, then go ahead work in private, y sacrifice? why get million in serve the country to sacrifice? isnt it very contradicting? and also high pay to prevent corruption, if really serve with dignity or integrity,why mention such words? really contradicting in the words and logic behind these are these questions asked b4?i wonder if so,whats the answer there's a post on charity in past,answered by a bro..thing what Focus or what one.. if serving with condition thoughts and not unconditional mind,it defeat the purpose of doing everything and end of the day,its for self fulfilling for attain and accumulating conditional karma (someting like this) his words really enlighten me Edited January 3, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 i prefer they leave and join private sector with better pay rather than keep having issue with their lower pay. i believe they can get much higher pay in the outside commercial world than working in the government in this tiny island. So if they really go for that, i will be very happy and have celebration for them. if they really leave the government, i dont mind "less" capable ppl willing to take in much lower pay to do the same job. ppl like US president, UK prime minister, etc will be acceptable. At least, on and off they will be not unhappy to work on and keep having a feeling of being underpaid. ============== Exactly. I really wonder how many of our "top quality" ministers can really get a better paying & more secured job if they go to the private sector? I dont mind "losing" them if they r only in politics for the salary. Then is like a mercenary soldier. Wil go to anybody who pays him more. No loyalty to the country. Maybe thats why they r still all hanging around here. No other country has even offered them anything close to what they r being paid here? "Market rate?" Whose market then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopitam Clutched January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 sometimes i wonder if a person really wan to do something for the country or citizen, why they want to get paid or so much pay? if saying can find a better pay in private, then go ahead work in private, y sacrifice? why get million in serve the country to sacrifice? isnt it very contradicting? and also high pay to prevent corruption, if really serve with dignity or integrity,why mention such words? really contradicting in the words and logic behind these can i volunteer you to speak to your MP at meet the people session on this issue I 100% support you no point asking anyone here because non here are Ministers or MP come here and give us your final report thank you for your hard work in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 but private sector higher pay will get sack one wor! scare leh. ============= First they must get the job b4 they can b sacked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 wondering which company in the private sector would pay them that high pay per year? Temasek holding? or GIC? Would be more convincing if they could show some reference to the public that some private sector company would hire them for that lump some per year.... ============== Can lah. GLC wil show that they r willing to pay them higher. But they wont really work there. Only "on paper" to convince the voters lah. Then they say they r "too dedicated" to the pple to leave & wil make the big "sacrifice" to stay on in politics, but with a 10% increase in pay, hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 3, 2010 Share January 3, 2010 election period got such q and a? if so,i really dun mind sia coz i like to ask question where i feel its v contradicting and wish to know how people answer it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...