Artz Neutral Newbie January 27, 2010 Share January 27, 2010 Any shop to intro to swap rims? i know most tyre shop able to do it. but where and what is the reasonable rate? heard from $20-$30 per car? actually i wonder swap rims, necessary to do balancing? just do a direct swop wont it solve the problem? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 27, 2010 Share January 27, 2010 Any shop to intro to swap rims? i know most tyre shop able to do it. but where and what is the reasonable rate? heard from $20-$30 per car? actually i wonder swap rims, necessary to do balancing? just do a direct swop wont it solve the problem? First you got to ensure that the rims that you are going to swap have the same PCD as your current rims. Charges should be reasonably the same for most of the tyre shops. As for balancing, if the rims and tyres are new and can be used longer, my opinion is that balancing can be done later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harmzuay Neutral Newbie January 27, 2010 Share January 27, 2010 Does OP mean tyre/wheel rotation? If he means rotation, then yes - most shops are able to perform. Some even advertise in this forum. No need to align for this. Competitve rate should be $20. Some shops will throw in alignment, some will try to smoke you and 'sell' you alignment for extra $$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear January 27, 2010 Share January 27, 2010 Any shop to intro to swap rims? i know most tyre shop able to do it. but where and what is the reasonable rate? heard from $20-$30 per car? actually i wonder swap rims, necessary to do balancing? just do a direct swop wont it solve the problem? whats the size of the rim and tyre? how many cars to swap? swapping as in "take the wheels (rim+tyre) of car A and transfer to Car B, vice versa OR need to remove the tyre from the rim from car A and car B, swap the rim but retains the tyre? if you want balancing to be done, then pls indicate how many pcs etc. The cost of everything depends on the scope of work due to the amt of effort, liability and risk. if due to the tyres are very old (the edge is prone to peel or crack when open) and rims are full of scratches, and those "chao guan" customers want to play punk, they will put the blame on tyre fitters for causing the damages (is like "pei le fu ren you zhe bing"). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 27, 2010 Share January 27, 2010 whats the size of the rim and tyre? how many cars to swap? swapping as in "take the wheels (rim+tyre) of car A and transfer to Car B, vice versa OR need to remove the tyre from the rim from car A and car B, swap the rim but retains the tyre? if you want balancing to be done, then pls indicate how many pcs etc. The cost of everything depends on the scope of work due to the amt of effort, liability and risk. if due to the tyres are very old (the edge is prone to peel or crack when open) and rims are full of scratches, and those "chao guan" customers want to play punk, they will put the blame on tyre fitters for causing the damages (is like "pei le fu ren you zhe bing"). ya , so many thing to consider , after rim and tyres swap, can the old centre bore ring be use back?? can the nuts be use back?? is the car bolt or nuts system?? ppl think its simple, but a 100 and 1 thing can go wrong. u can pay 20-30 buks, just a simple swap or tyres and rim, but any thing after u drive, the shop not responsible . end of the days is u pay what u get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westray Neutral Newbie January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 i did my swap for $25, including balancing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentux 1st Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 i selling my tyres n rims n swap with another person...seems similiar model..but 16" swap with 15". if 1 car 20-30 bucks, tink quite expensive leh since just take n swap only. i tot rotation is only $10. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 i selling my tyres n rims n swap with another person...seems similiar model..but 16" swap with 15". if 1 car 20-30 bucks, tink quite expensive leh since just take n swap only. i tot rotation is only $10. maybe u can save the $10 by having 2 cars park at MSCP or at any shaded area, jack both cars up and swap it. or maybe use your $10 to get town council bangala to jack and swap for you + wash/vacuum your car.... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 depends u got change jus take out and throw over next car with balancing. tat will be cheap. for me i only change rim. and need to remove tires and swap too.. meaning change rims and keep tires. did tat 25 bucks too. will balancing. think is abt 20-30 bucks.. go to those old man tire shop can liao. go autobaz and those big shops.. v exp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Artz Neutral Newbie January 31, 2010 Author Share January 31, 2010 i did my swap for $25, including balancing. $25 for 2car ? that will be cheap. i swopped mine with another car $20 for both cars without balancing at a shop in woodland link. i think its pretty reasonable. coz i need to go for servicing soon, so intend to balance and rotate than. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blaquewolf Neutral Newbie February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 I have done rims swops at my normal mech. For free. guess if you know your mech well enough, it can be done for free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched February 8, 2010 Share February 8, 2010 Hi all, Recommend shops to swap rims,I looking at swap 17" rims,those 5 kg or less type. Attach my current rims - 6.5kg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear February 10, 2010 Share February 10, 2010 hi where to swap my stock picanto rims for sport rims? currently using 14' stock and is there any lobang for it? tks.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...