Replacing a 2yrs old tyre?

mcspiky

Clutched

Hi folks. Is it too early to replace my 2 year old tyre? This was from the previous owner of my car that was fitted with a Yokohama BluEarth-Es ES3. It kinda still look OK and have grip even in wet road but it is still a 2yr old tyre so kinda bugs me. 

Any thoughts if I need to replace it soon? I'n considering in moving up to 17" rims also if I'm going to replace. 

As everyone knows I had an accident with old rubber so you can never be too careful.

• Haha! 15

On 5/10/2024 at 8:20 AM, Jamesc said:

As everyone knows I had an accident with old rubber so you can never be too careful.

Noob!

u know the way of the best here…😂

• Haha! 7

On 5/10/2024 at 8:05 AM, mcspiky said:

Hi folks. Is it too early to replace my 2 year old tyre? This was from the previous owner of my car that was fitted with a Yokohama BluEarth-Es ES3. It kinda still look OK and have grip even in wet road but it is still a 2yr old tyre so kinda bugs me. 

Any thoughts if I need to replace it soon? I'n considering in moving up to 17" rims also if I'm going to replace. 

2 yr old is based on date of manufacture?  If yes, and mileage is low no need to change yet.  But if u just itching to upsize to bigger rims then go for it lor...

Clutched
On 5/9/2024 at 8:25 PM, Tkseah said:

2 yr old is based on date of manufacture?  If yes, and mileage is low no need to change yet.  But if u just itching to upsize to bigger rims then go for it lor...

Yah, I see 2022 on the tyre itself. 

Clutched
On 5/9/2024 at 8:20 PM, Jamesc said:

Hmm but how old is old?  😊

On 5/10/2024 at 8:29 AM, mcspiky said:

Hmm but how old is old?  😊

He not referring to tyres lah..

• Haha! 8

On 5/10/2024 at 8:29 AM, mcspiky said:

Yah, I see 2022 on the tyre itself. 

Typically tyres should last around 4 yrs from DOM before the rubber hardens.. and a non performance model like the ES3 should last at least 40k km with rotation..

If you consider 17 inch tires “moving up” then your current tire must be smaller. It’s not expensive to buy 15/16 inch tires so go ahead if you’re bothered. 

You’re a neutral newbie so you’re allowed to do that. Forum old birds here just straightaway change car when tire got puncture or wiper water fluid runs low. And full cash, no loan. /s

Clutched
On 5/9/2024 at 8:34 PM, Tkseah said:

Typically tyres should last around 4 yrs from DOM before the rubber hardens.. and a non performance model like the ES3 should last at least 40k km with rotation..

Oh ok cool then! Thanks man! 

Clutched
On 5/9/2024 at 8:34 PM, macrosszero said:

If you consider 17 inch tires “moving up” then your current tire must be smaller. It’s not expensive to buy 15/16 inch tires so go ahead if you’re bothered. 

You’re a neutral newbie so you’re allowed to do that. Forum old birds here just straightaway change car when tire got puncture or wiper water fluid runs low. And full cash, no loan. /s

LOL -- for real? 😜

Clutched
On 5/9/2024 at 8:30 PM, Tkseah said:

He not referring to tyres lah..

HAHAAH maybe I'm old... I had to re-read it! HAHAHA 

I get it! 😛

On 5/10/2024 at 8:34 AM, macrosszero said:

Got some (well....one) becoz kena mistaken for teksi, straightaway change car! 

• Haha! 8

On 5/10/2024 at 8:23 AM, RadX said:

Noob!

u know the way of the best here…😂

It's a slippery slope worth the while to venture into...with or without good rubber...without any the betterer...😁

On 5/10/2024 at 8:45 AM, Soya said:

Got some (well....one) becoz kena mistaken for teksi, straightaway change car! 

Ouch!...on behalf of the one and only ever changing car fellow 😁

Edited by mersaylee

Clutched
On 5/9/2024 at 8:42 PM, metalstream said:

If the blue Kia Forte in your avatar is your car, isn't it already on 17" wheels? 215/45R17.

Oh that was my 1st car which I really liked, very stable!!

I'm currently riding now a newer KIA K3 which just came with a 16" 😪

Clutched
On 5/9/2024 at 9:02 PM, metalstream said:

Kia K3 EX. 205/55R16 is perfect for comfort (thicker tyre wall) , yet offers reasonably good cornering grip at high speed.

17" will result in a harsher ride. 

Oh that's a relief! Ok, we will just see how it goes then!

I just see a lot of other KIA K3. I guess higher spec with their stock 17" rims so... I thought to follow the same. 

On 5/10/2024 at 9:11 AM, metalstream said:

Go for this at your next tyre change, perhaps nexr year.

Bites the road like super glue and cuts through water like a razor blade, and yet $20 cheaper than Michelin Pilot Sport 4

https://www.mycarforum.com/marketplace/info-186546/?module=main

Look at the wet and dry grip rating. No horse run! Under rated tyre.

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Continental/SportContact-7.htm

image.png.ebae2038af375382599e579d852e4ac0.png

This one many swear by it for the great performance...then swear at it for the fast wear out than PS4 or 5...😂