New COE quota allocation

Picanto

Wait... If my memory serves me right, last time they said the strategy then is to use ERP to curb the car usage. Then, gov can release more COE to fulfill our dream of owning car. Remember the headline "ERP enable more Singaporean to own car"? As a result, COE price crashed and everyone was happy with the low COE price but cross with the additional ERP gentries. So, It is not over-project issue but strategy.

Yes, i still remember that is what LHL say in national day speech in 2008. they want more ppl to own car. So they release more COE and increase ERP. now they are saying the reverse because ppl complain too many car on the road.

First they open the gate big big for more cows to come in....now they are going to close the gate and slowly slowly milk the cow using ERP tool.

That time he say to let citizens own cars, so everyone happy.

But last few years due to super huge increase in FT, who are buying up the cheap cars (and housing too).

So now everything has to limit and make it more expensive to make these FT pays more.

Those Singaporeans who bought their cheap first cars have to be thankful to the gov.

Credit to the Gov for trying to fulfill our dream of owning car by increase the COE supply in the past few years and control the traffic by using ERP. But maybe they honestly overlook 1 part, the car park at HDB estate. There is no effort to increase the car park ratio.

Now, people got car but failed to get season parking ticket and go bang table at town council. Now they woke up and need a quick fix.

Options:

1. Build more car park at HDB estate. But this takes time and cost millions.

2. Reduce the number of car by reducing COE. Oh, cost nothing and yet can collect Billions as the COE is for sure to surge.

Bingo! Option 2 is approved.

But last few years due to super huge increase in FT, who are buying up the cheap cars (and housing too).

So now everything has to limit and make it more expensive to make these FT pays more.

Those Singaporeans who bought their cheap first cars have to be thankful to the gov.

Seriously, I am really thankful because I will have to pay more than double for the same car in the years to come.

In other words, they farked it up...what's so difficult about putting it into words? why must use such a long essay to say "we farked up the mathematics"

guess you are right. they screwed up

I thought the new allocation method is back to basic. It is good and should have been implemented long ago. The estimate method use now must be thought out by some gek kiang scholar then, but how come no one oppose to it?

who has the power to oppose anything in singapore politics? we just leave it as it is.

Actually the parf system is just for government to collect taxes. They should have void it but maintain that the minimum OMVs of cars importing into Singapore should be $40k. So our bread and butter cars become BMW 3 series, and lexus might be some of the only japanese carscoming into Singapore.

Wah lau... u think their Cambridge, Harvard all study for nothing ?

ARF is go in their own pocket, OMV is go back to manufacturer's pocket... hmm......

There are too many cars on the road, so unless the govt REDUCE the number of COE(negative growth)..the traffic condition won't improve..

The latest announcement from Mr Lemon about pegging the no of COE directly to the number of deregistered car won't work..because what it does is only to maintain the numbers(as opposed to reducing it)..what it will do is, jack up the price of COE..and more money goes into the coffers..

There are too many cars on the road, so unless the govt REDUCE the number of COE(negative growth)..the traffic condition won't improve..

The latest announcement from Mr Lemon about pegging the no of COE directly to the number of deregistered car won't work..because what it does is only to maintain the numbers(as opposed to reducing it)..what it will do is, jack up the price of COE..and more money goes into the coffers..

in 2005, they increased no of coe supply, to lower the prices of coe and attract alot of new car owners onto the road

then the erp gantries increased alot, follow by much higher erp prices and longer erp hours

then they say traffic very bad need to reduce coe supply and hence the price of coe increased

so now ERP HIGH, COE HIGH and NO OF CARS HIGH

the plan actually works wonder

who earn the most?

Edited by Nimm12

Well, i dont understand why the govt has to limit the number of COEs?....Dont they understand that there are people who really in need of cars? I am kinda one of them....I am working as a sales rep in one of the company.....I sometimes need to rush to the warehouse and head office around. It just makes no sense of me travelling public transport. Neither can the Off peak cars can help. I am really very vexed now, so i have to use my dad's car in the mean time while he ride a motorbike instead. Sometimes i hope the govt understands that for some people....Car is a need. Or why dont u ask the people in the delivering sector to travel via public transport????? Do you think it makes any sense?

take taxi lor. the govt is not going to change it stance just because people NEED car to move around.

Your company is funny!

If car is a need to your line of work? How come ur salary cannot afford one?

Is the company underpaying you? Or company expects u to take bus, or at best ride motorcyle if time is of essence?

I cannot understand why those people complain cannot afford a car by u

Yet work requires them own one!

Come on, my company give me car allowances which is sufficient for me to own a basic car, by I chose to get a good bmw. Of course I have to subsidize the cost from my regular salary to get this conti car.

I will never put my father at risk of motorcycle riding while I drive his car. I can't sleep well at nigg should anything suay happen to my dad!

Simple. Lack of space.

If there are no taxes (COE, ERP, etc), then we will be able to get used cars for 1k SGD. This means every family will be able to own a car or 10 - What do you think the traffic will be like?

There needs to be some allocation of rights to the road - Which is more fair? A lottery or a bidding system? For a lottery, it will just depend on pure luck; I would think a bidding system is more fair since the person who is willing to spend the most will get the item.

I'm happy to bot mine in Jan 2009. My first car that did not depreciate in value after 1 year+ driving...

[cool]