Branteo Clutched March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 (edited) Post-Deleted Edited March 25, 2010 by Branteo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 I was looking for my doses of entertainment.. You have a strange way of entertainment.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishman 1st Gear March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 Thanks! I got mine cat B. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AHaHa Neutral Newbie March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 ya COE up up up like that force us buy smaller car...in the end this kind of thing will happen lor..--> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f51-NluCq0o den how to increase population...hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sungod666 March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 How can we go the way of the communists. The govt should just gate up the extreme right lane on all expressway and introduce a premium pass. for an additional 10k a year, motorist will be able to use the extreme right lane. the rest of the road users can squeeze on the other 2 lane. Now that would solve the congestion issue. at least for those who are willing to pay to solve it. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 How can we go the way of the communists. The govt should just gate up the extreme right lane on all expressway and introduce a premium pass. for an additional 10k a year, motorist will be able to use the extreme right lane. the rest of the road users can squeeze on the other 2 lane. Now that would solve the congestion issue. at least for those who are willing to pay to solve it. cheers it could be worst. We Singaporean are so rich. $10k is peanut. So, everybody also got one and try to squeeze on 1 lane. Then the poor Malaysian car happily zoom zoom on lane 2 and 3. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lufu 1st Gear March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 There are actually 21% more Cat A COEs in the next rounds of COE biddings. This last round under the current scheme, there are only 1,146. However in the COE biddings from Apr to Jul there are 1395. source: http://app.lta.gov.sg/corp_press_content.a...0z7cvadv8vafww4 http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/VQS_Annex.pdf Why is everyone fighting for the COE this round? Can someone enlighten me??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 Maybe AD want to snook those kiasu car buyers loh, more deals at higher prices mean more profits. More suckers hoodwinked into paying for top-ups also menas more profit! The best time to make profit is when there is confusion amid changes in quota rules! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 There are actually 21% more Cat A COEs in the next rounds of COE biddings. This last round under the current scheme, there are only 1,146. However in the COE biddings from Apr to Jul there are 1395. source: http://app.lta.gov.sg/corp_press_content.a...0z7cvadv8vafww4 http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/VQS_Annex.pdf Why is everyone fighting for the COE this round? Can someone enlighten me??? You need to divide 1,395 by 2 (2 biddings per month). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 Total COE for next bidding (1st bid April) for CAT A should be 697. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WakaWaka Neutral Newbie March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 Please enlighten me if this has been discussed before. I feel COE is mainly being manipulated by car dealers. I am not amazed that car dealers are able to predict that COE will shoot up by $8000 even before the bidding exercise. This is because; the cost of COE is ultimately determined by them, not the car buyer. Take this bidding exercise for example. If a car dealer decides that he wants to generate as much sales as possible before COE cut, all he has to do is to bid higher and load it to the next buyer that explains the increase in car price even before the number of COE is being cut. Imagine this scenario. Car dealers are only allowed to sell cars and not package it with COE. A car cost 50k. The current COE is 20K. Will you be desperate enough to bid 28k for the COE? I am sure most will not, at most we will wait a little longer and observe the situation. But a car dealer who is desperate to generate sales or cover the month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oneshot1kill Neutral Newbie March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 WAAHAHAHA a Toyota Corolla 1.6L entry model now costs $82k ! Really cartoon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp33dst3r Neutral Newbie March 25, 2010 Author Share March 25, 2010 WAAHAHAHA a Toyota Corolla 1.6L entry model now costs $82k ! Really cartoon Back in the mid 90s, a normal 1.6L sedan costs $100k. We're near that figure already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nimm12 Neutral Newbie March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 (edited) the thing is, dealers worried their stock of new cars in their warehouse cannot sell without a COE why? because if there are 10k cars in the warehouse now, there are only 4k pieces of COE means there is 6k cars that cannot sell and keep on stay in warehouse till they get a COE so dealers rush to bid for their COEs u see those car dealers who say on TV that they didnt expect COE to rise this much is all telling lies they themselves bidded for this COE how can they dont know the big jump if they really telling truth, i can only say the richer dealers outbidded them by ALOT because their cars can sell higher premium well u know who they are - the bmws and the mercs and the audis so jap and korea cars dealers lan-lan sit in showroom now wait for COE to drop from sky, or hope the next bid they can get but their margin already tighter than continental cars, how to fight? so they must increase sell price to pass the cost to buyers soon u will see only richer people can buy new cars, like in 90s and early 2000s heng i bought my 2.4a odyssey just 2month ago before this madness a new odyssey yearly depreciation is now 11k, a used odyssey in resale market easily sell at depreciation 6.5k i bought mine at depreciation 5.1k and COE still valid for 6yrs!!! (meaning if i sell my car now i can actually earn (6.5-5.1)*6yr=$8k!!!!!!) but i am going to keep it, at least till COE drop back to <15k which wont be anytime soon Edited March 25, 2010 by Nimm12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oneshot1kill Neutral Newbie March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 For Honda already THERE LIAO ! 1.6L civic entry model $91k n 1.8L civic $107k ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nimm12 Neutral Newbie March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 (edited) For Honda already THERE LIAO ! 1.6L civic entry model $91k n 1.8L civic $107k ! civic 1.6l brand new 90k omv is 23k means yearly depreciation is 7.8k 1.8l 106k omv 26k, but yearly depreciation is 9.3k! crazy a used 4yr old accord 2.0a 2mths ago only cost depreciation ~5.5k Edited March 25, 2010 by Nimm12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 Back in the mid 90s, a normal 1.6L sedan costs $100k. We're near that figure already. 9 years ago (in year 2001), I bought a 10 year old Nissan jalopy at a price of S$41k and I thought it was a steal back then. Singapore is going crazy. Will high COE price have an adverse effect on election result? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear March 25, 2010 Share March 25, 2010 Looks like we are gonna go back to the 90s where cars are gonna be extremely ex. THis time round with ERP to tag along. Good luck ppl! Tats right! With the blood sucking ERP and not forgetting last time the petrol price was slightly $1 plus (98). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...