Sunnytantan Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 I have 1 15 Amp socket at home. One Washer and One dryer ... both about 1.8K Watts absorbed max... Can I use a typical extension cord and change it's head to the 15 Amp type M both washer and dryer plugs to 13 Amp fused ? that is + ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nom107 1st Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 the 4 way extension socket good for thing like PC, TV, radio ( low current ). better dun use for such high current dryer or washer, u may find the socket getting hot, the extension wire oso get hot !!!! sos socket quality is no good ( will not last long ) compare to good wall mount double socket. ( u can convert 15A to good 13A double socket ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 I have 1 15 Amp socket at home. One Washer and One dryer ... both about 1.8K Watts absorbed max... Can I use a typical extension cord and change it's head to the 15 Amp type M both washer and dryer plugs to 13 Amp fused ? that is + not sure abt for washing machine and dryers....but i did what you mentioned (ie change extension cord from 13A to 15A plug to fit my 15A wall socket) to use for my PC, fax, printer, monitor, handphone, desklamp, laptop, router....so far for 10 yrs no problem.....your appliances wattage high ...i also not sure if it can work for you or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 it is possible but not highly recommended. . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 your query is indeed chim.. i don't know.~~ but i think it will be better to purchase one that suit the needs else end of the day, you will really become "Sun"ny"TanNED"tan. =x Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 not sure abt for washing machine and dryers....but i did what you mentioned (ie change extension cord from 13A to 15A plug to fit my 15A wall socket) to use for my PC, fax, printer, monitor, handphone, desklamp, laptop, router....so far for 10 yrs no problem.....your appliances wattage high ...i also not sure if it can work for you or not. Bro, you convert 13A plug to 15A plug to fit the 15A wall socket, to power your low current devices is fine, cos the 15A socket allows you to draw UP TO 15A. But in TS case, his devices are high current ones, nearing 15A, hence the different plug. The 13A extension should never be used as the fuse may blow, or worse become fire hazard. A proper cabling/splitting of sockets would be required, best done by qualified electrician. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 I have 1 15 Amp socket at home. One Washer and One dryer ... both about 1.8K Watts absorbed max... Can I use a typical extension cord and change it's head to the 15 Amp type M both washer and dryer plugs to 13 Amp fused ? that is + You trying to be smart? 15A socket is design for devices with high current like an air-con window unit. Normal electrical appliances just use the normal 13A socket. If you do what you suggest you will hear crackling sound coming out from the socket and high chance of it catching fire and burn down your house. When using extension cord like the one in your pic, use the 13A socket. How to make sure that there's no overloading is to add up the current of your devices consumes. Just look at the specification of your device, usually they will state how much current eg. 5 amp, 3 amp etc. As long as the 4 or 5 devices add up dun exceeed 13 amp, there's no overloading, less chance of a short circuit. If it adds up and equal or exceed 13 amp, take out the device which consumes the most current and plug it onto a different 13 amp socket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coder Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 (edited) that 15A socket is for window aircon unit. if u want to use for other devices, just plug in lor. no harm, 15A means maximum current it can provide b4 black out 1800 watt is power draw at peak level, washer and dryer hardly reach that level in normal usage. FYI, current draw by any device varies drastically. amount of current draw is limited by devices, only voltage is consistent regardless how many devices. Edited March 24, 2010 by Coder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friedpiggy 2nd Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 1800W per machine. With local domestic supply 230V is about 8Amps draw per machine at max loading. If you dunt run both at the same time you dun't even need a 15A plug. If running both at max power at the same time, would be 16Amp draw. Possibility of that happening? 0.01%. Although thats still an extremely tiny miny possibility. The most your fuse blows when that happens. Just make sure your extension cord cables(wires inside) are beefy and not cheapo type that looks normal with thick insulation outside but thin wires inside and you will have no problem with fires. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...