Engine Experts Pls Comment

Blackseal

The main reason is torque vs power.

High rpm means power! Like the Vtec can go up to 8000rpm. But somehow car drivers dont like the 'delay' in getting the power.

Lower rpm mean more torque, just like those diesel engine at <4000rpm max.

In cars drivers prefer TORQUE as it gives them the sensation of power.

In motorcycle, there is more finer control of the power band to cater for precise cornering, etc. And guys like the high vibration inbetween their legs whent he engine is screeming at 15000rpm.

Of course there are big CC bikes whose RPM also like car below 6000rpm. Those are smooth cruiser type of bikes lah.

Its just a way of giving what the customers want. It not about why cannot this and that. Engine can be designed to any RPM vs power, just how the designer wants it to be thats all.

did u design yr own brain?

U are comparing a puny capacity with big capacity...how to compare...exhaust gas also produce more.

Small 4 pot can have nice sound...VTEC is one. Still my fav when the VTEC opens up...add a air intake...wow...if its a ITB fitted...HEAVENS !!

I have driven a 2.5L 6 cylinder with straight thru...sound is just awesome....but on a small engine like 1.6 VTEC, if you want to sound shiok...have to open the rev and let the VTEC sing....

At idle...I adore the sound of a throbbing boxer.

not entirely true leh... free flow exhaust on a 4 pot jap wannabe sounds very different from one on a BMW or Merc V8 leh.. the 4 pot sounds terrible! like engine want to die like that...

if wat u say is true, how come those 4 pot jap wannabe don't fix a better sounding exhaust that sounds deep and creamy? they have no way of doing that, because their engine sounds terrible regardless what kind of high class exhaust they put on. The louder the exhaust, the more it amplifies what kind of pathetic 4 pot they have under the hood

even though i am driving a coarse 4-pot diesel myself, i agree with u fully, but just one exception. i love the boxer beat of subaru engine. even though i feel that evo is a superior car (compare stock to stock), but the sound just sucks in comparison to subaru engine/exhaust note.

given the rather large price difference between WRX/STI and evo, i might just go for an STI in future and get to enjoy that wonderful sound

U are comparing a puny capacity with big capacity...how to compare...exhaust gas also produce more.

Small 4 pot can have nice sound...VTEC is one. Still my fav when the VTEC opens up...add a air intake...wow...if its a ITB fitted...HEAVENS !!

I have driven a 2.5L 6 cylinder with straight thru...sound is just awesome....but on a small engine like 1.6 VTEC, if you want to sound shiok...have to open the rev and let the VTEC sing....

At idle...I adore the sound of a throbbing boxer.

VTEC sound more comparable to motorbike. sounds quite nice too :wub:. those high cam vtec not the pussy ivtec

You're not gonna get the rumble if the extractor is equal length. Some newer versions come with equal length if I'm not wrong.

even though i am driving a coarse 4-pot diesel myself, i agree with u fully, but just one exception. i love the boxer beat of subaru engine. even though i feel that evo is a superior car (compare stock to stock), but the sound just sucks in comparison to subaru engine/exhaust note.

given the rather large price difference between WRX/STI and evo, i might just go for an STI in future and get to enjoy that wonderful sound