PM Lee on nepotism

TangoElite

Intellect is very important in a leader but it is not the be all end all.

Every head of state has a team of ministers to help him run the country and share the brain work. A leader does not have to be the brightest bulb at every subject. What he needs is the wisdom to judge the options put before him and also the ability to manage a group of people of his calibre.

A good leader needs to be able to communicate and sell his ideas to the masses. He must inspire and motivate people to see and do things his way. When the leader says "Follow me!", people do so not because they have to but because they want to. Of course in a authoritarian state, all these can be replaced with the heavy hand of the "law".

Then finally, there is the issue of getting it done. No point having big ideas without having the operational ability to implement them

A person relying solely on intellect can only be an academic in my opinioin.

Agree [thumbsup][thumbsup]

I was posted a question during my Management training seminar some years ago ?

What is the difference between a Good Leader and a Great Leader ??

In layman term

good leader = is well like by his party, company... can do things efficiently

( usually being trained, expriences or by back up )

great leader = is well like by the mass, even enemies respect him because of his aura/abilities.

( usually people are gifted have this )

Bro, you angmo is it? The concept of "family business" is quite broad in Asian society. It can be broadly taken to mean the son will take over the father's place.

My question is whether LHL is capable to that extent. And unfortunately, he is not beloved for his intellect either. Built wise, he is tall, thin and somewhat nerdy just like Obama. While Obama can move the world with his words, our hero makes people cringe with his illogical references to local cuisine.

Actually, this is a problem with Team Thunder in general. Their entire line up is filled with administrators of varying ability and not a single orator among them. Maybe last time the old one was good at talking but everytime he opens his mouth nowadays, he comes across as condescending and out of touch.

How can you say that ? But But we pay Millionz to pull the most talented for civil service. They are worth the talents in gold OK ! Do you mean they don't deserve their salary ??

Palin is pretty meh? You all have a fetish for mature aunties ar?

If you want pretty, check out the Ukranian PM. She looks like Princess Leia. Sarkozy's wife also damn hot. :wub:

In layman term

great leader = is well like by the mass, even enemies respect him because of his aura/abilities.

WRONG ANSWER

and Kim Jong Il is not a great leader hor...

Edited by Tigerwoods

In layman term

the only great leader in my books of history is guan yu... someone can add more?

Cao Cao?

for me got lots to name..

usually great leaders are produce in time of chaos where only the most cunning, wisdom, powerful, charm

can outshine others

Cao Cao?

respect to a certain extent. but more of hate than admiration. he's just charming enough to recruit plenty of soldier and generals. but not many awesome generals.

But in his latter years, he got a gread advisor by the name of Sima Yi.

for me got lots to name..

usually great leaders are produce in time of chaos where only the most cunning, wisdom, powerful, charm

can outshine others

Napoleon? George Washington? :D

Question is: Is he the best person for the job?

Personally I dun think so. Then again, there are enough people that think he is good enough and thatz why he is still at the helm.

WRONG ANSWER

My question is what is the difference not who are they ...

a good leader is someone who bring up the nation to have its highest standard etc

but a great leader is someone who listen to his pple and welfare and bring up the nation together to properous together and understand what his people want to advance

just like successful and respectable biznessman,whats the difference between them? [;)]