Sonata Neutral Newbie May 17, 2010 Share May 17, 2010 Auto 6 speed better or manual better, did the auto work well ?? Any bro can tell ?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic May 17, 2010 Share May 17, 2010 Auto 6 speed better or manual better, did the auto work well ?? Any bro can tell ?? For performance go manual,for comfort go auto.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster86 Neutral Newbie May 17, 2010 Share May 17, 2010 Ever sat in both auto n manual, sad to say but an auto rx-8 is very pathetic in terms of performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HOUSENUMBER Neutral Newbie May 17, 2010 Share May 17, 2010 why auto when driving performance? it's just kills the fun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonata Neutral Newbie May 17, 2010 Author Share May 17, 2010 did the auto only very pathetic in pick up ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvyn Neutral Newbie May 17, 2010 Share May 17, 2010 (edited) auto works fine. its paddle shifts so ya can always over-ride the chosen cogs and accelerate as ya like. people always say real men drive manual cuz can play gears, more engaging ride, no fun blah blah lah but ultimately is still up to ur driving style. given s'pore traffic, an auto makes ur life so much easier, traffic jams just press brake, wife or girlfriend can easily drive ur car etc etc. come on lah.. dun say everyday, one week only once.. that's 52 times a year, ya dare to speed down the road at 150km/hr and play shifts and corners without any fear or care? so what if ya stop at traffic light and ppl see that ur third brakelight is on? no skin off ur back and the other driver dosen't get anything from u knowing u drive an auto RX8. in fact, the very fact that u can drive an RX8 is something many already envy a lot. so my vote is auto :) of course if ya telling me cuz want to play drift and stuff then different story. but i doubt someone with this inclination in hobbies will ask this question in the first place. lastly, ya shd also know that there are some bad points abt a RX8. first is that it eats engine oil. track it one time you'll see what I mean. second is that it seats only 4 incl driver. cuz central column extends all the way behind to drive rear wheels. third is that it thrives on high RPMs. not a whole lot of torque so you'll probably lose to a FD2R in pick-up but hey, the looks are lastly, the interior gets super hot as the driveshaft sits beneath the central column. but ya not here to ask if RX8 better or FD2R better so I'll stop my ranting :) Edited May 17, 2010 by Melvyn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic May 17, 2010 Share May 17, 2010 RX-8 petrol comsumption also very big,only the road tax is very cheap...{1.3L}. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fennmax Clutched May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 Go auto for the ease of driving and manual if you go track and like to control the car. It is oyur choice like eating chix rice or char siew rice. I will go for manual for the control part.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NITRO35 Neutral Newbie May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 Given that the RX8 has a very torquey engine. As a matter of longevity, I would advise the mechanical box. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 wah u say RX8 very torquey den the bro on top say no torque leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peaceracer 1st Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 wah u say RX8 very torquey den the bro on top say no torque leh Lol, can say that both are right. The engine is very torquey especially for its mini size. But then, max torque is only achievable at high up the rpm range thus its not very practical in everyday driving. For me, i would say get a manual. No point having a sports car that doesnt really behave like one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liveevil Neutral Newbie May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 manual = redline at 9k rpm auto = much lower Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apottedplant Neutral Newbie May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 RX8 has a long history of engine problems, particularly seal leakages. If you want to buy, i suggest you send it to a workshop specialising in RX8 to do a pre-purchase inspection. An engine rebuild is a very real possibility, and it will set you back at least 5k. And the power and torque truly only comes in after 4k RPM, so if you are driving normally, day to day, it's very bloody sluggish low down. VERY VERY SLUGGISH. And trust me, you wouldn't be pushing it above 4k RPM on your way home from work, every single day. So day to day usability/satisfaction is also an issue. Manual if you are below 30, still got a little boy racer hiding in you, cannot tahan ppl saying you drive auto, and if your wife/mother/gf wouldn't drive the car at all. Otherwise, go for the auto box. As long as you are prepared for these 2 things, then it's a lovely car. Looks good, seats 4 conveniently, powerful enough. And i guess, at the end of the day, driving home in your auto/manual rx8, you are still going to feel pretty good about your car. Good luck!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 (edited) IF you are looking at a brand new unit , i am sure there are many other choices within that pricetag level. i personally find the RX8 pretty bad interms of performance in stock form. ever sat in a 6sp manua which a friend orders it thru garage R many years back.slapped it a supercharger kit and done many things to his ride ,definately much more torque but 1/4 mile still lost badly to a stock evo 9 GSR.and not to mention that owner spent over 30k to bring it up to what it is then. maybe you should reconsider. but , if you are going for the pimp factor ,why not a used S2000 or a miata. Edited May 19, 2010 by Rb26dett ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...