TortoiseRacer Clutched June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 You must have "market value" lah.... Elvin Ng yantao and newbie got so many fans liao... Pple like Tay Peng Hui/Patricia Mok/Mark Lee also pple dun like them at first...but he grit his teeth and now he is A grader... My point is...dun complain lah. You chose this line, you should know the pay is like dat for non A grader. (still I think even for B & C grader, the pay is not really pathetic lah....many pple won't mind) My friend knows Mark Lee when he was just coming up....not top 10 yet...he also drives a E36 320i Coupe... So its like when we chose our career...banking pays well....service IT pays well....sales pay well...but what you chose you think you excel and dun compare lah...eg I am in service industry...dun pay that well as compare to my peers who are in accounts, finance etc....I dun complain....cos complain also no use. Just be happy that you have a job with prospect lor. But Nat makes a right move...if he thinks he is going nowhere....move. Else he might end up like Alamak Hui Ger.... [laugh] sia la.. hui ge super cmi when comes to acting.. elvin ng ain't any better.. though i must say.. elvin did improve on his diction... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 hui ge always have this "about to burst out laughing and yet controlling very hard not to" look in certain scenes.. elvin can't make it until his most recent show "together" which I thought he did ok..after being given so many opportunities, I guess also will improve ba.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 hui ge always have this "about to burst out laughing and yet controlling very hard not to" look in certain scenes.. elvin can't make it until his most recent show "together" which I thought he did ok..after being given so many opportunities, I guess also will improve ba.. have you acted with either before? hui ge tries hard.. but unfortunately... don't have what it takes means don't have. actually i think ch 8 actors/actresses are very type casted already. a certain role, it's always that same certain actor/actress play, always in the same style.. more or less la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 No, I didn't...hui ge although cannot act, but dun pray pray, he got into top 10 most popular list before hor.. Yep..that's the thing I dun like about mediacorp...I feel they tend to cast the same type of roles to the same artistes...after sometime audience get sick and the artiste themselves cannot develop any versatility and they also get demoralised.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 No, I didn't...hui ge although cannot act, but dun pray pray, he got into top 10 most popular list before hor.. Yep..that's the thing I dun like about mediacorp...I feel they tend to cast the same type of roles to the same artistes...after sometime audience get sick and the artiste themselves cannot develop any versatility and they also get demoralised.. hui ge got into top 10??! when??! haha.. come on man.. even chong qing got in top 10 this year! haha... poor dude must have waited for a long time... i acted with both elvin and hui ge before. if compare skills, both can't really act but at least elvin have his looks! not to mention he is improving... yea... our actors/actresses can't improve very much.. that's why occasionally MC come up with an "ugly" role, like the recent one that chen han wei played... forgot which show/role already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 hui ge got into top 10??! when??! haha.. come on man.. even chong qing got in top 10 this year! haha... poor dude must have waited for a long time... i acted with both elvin and hui ge before. if compare skills, both can't really act but at least elvin have his looks! not to mention he is improving... yea... our actors/actresses can't improve very much.. that's why occasionally MC come up with an "ugly" role, like the recent one that chen han wei played... forgot which show/role already... Yep, he did. In the 2009 one. Got into top 10 ahead the likes of Shaun Chen and Pierre Png. Sometimes you have to give it to him. He can't act at all but he just got this funny face which aunties like and so still can get rather ok roles. Chong Qing top 10 this yr not surprising given auntie lucy's popularity...he is everywhere on tv for the last one yr..So your assignments probably all quite recent ones given that elvin is not in the showbiz for very long.. The CHW one which you referring to is Wu Fu Dao right? Sometimes I feel they shld just chuck the artists into very different roles which they have never act before and it may deliver surprise results...For example, Rui En have all this while been cast into the typical "ice queen" very got character type of roles..then during this cny's serial Guo Hao Nian, she was cast into this very down to earth and happy go lucky kind of gullible girl in the show..it is something which she never acted before..I thought she did tremendously well..a big refreshing change from her usual roles.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Yep, he did. In the 2009 one. Got into top 10 ahead the likes of Shaun Chen and Pierre Png. Sometimes you have to give it to him. He can't act at all but he just got this funny face which aunties like and so still can get rather ok roles. Chong Qing top 10 this yr not surprising given auntie lucy's popularity...he is everywhere on tv for the last one yr..So your assignments probably all quite recent ones given that elvin is not in the showbiz for very long.. The CHW one which you referring to is Wu Fu Dao right? Sometimes I feel they shld just chuck the artists into very different roles which they have never act before and it may deliver surprise results...For example, Rui En have all this while been cast into the typical "ice queen" very got character type of roles..then during this cny's serial Guo Hao Nian, she was cast into this very down to earth and happy go lucky kind of gullible girl in the show..it is something which she never acted before..I thought she did tremendously well..a big refreshing change from her usual roles.. hmmm... didn't watch last year's star awards... huh? he got ahead of shaun chen etc?? wow.. he's good at garnering popularity! haha.. hmm.. i was rather surprised la.. thought the younger ones would stand a better chance.. actually it was quite a while ago.. last assignment was 2008, i think... oh ya! it's the Wu Fu Dao one... think i also saw the Guo Hao Nian, or rather.. snatches of it la. Rui En didn't do too badly. I felt Jeanette Aw did pretty well for Xiao Niang Re. Something that's not really her usual acting roles/style also. But despite all these once-in-a-while new character types, i feel MC is running out of good story lines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 (edited) hmmm... didn't watch last year's star awards... huh? he got ahead of shaun chen etc?? wow.. he's good at garnering popularity! haha.. hmm.. i was rather surprised la.. thought the younger ones would stand a better chance.. actually it was quite a while ago.. last assignment was 2008, i think... oh ya! it's the Wu Fu Dao one... think i also saw the Guo Hao Nian, or rather.. snatches of it la. Rui En didn't do too badly. I felt Jeanette Aw did pretty well for Xiao Niang Re. Something that's not really her usual acting roles/style also. But despite all these once-in-a-while new character types, i feel MC is running out of good story lines. Yeah, they aren't able to come up with good story lines these days...like the current new show...about babies again?? oh my god..this is like the 3rd time they doing this kind of show in the short space of only 2 yrs.. Edited June 9, 2010 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Yeah, they aren't able to come up with good story lines these days...like the current new show...about babies again?? oh my god..this is like the 3rd time they doing this kind of show in the short space of only 2 yrs.. what show is that? haha.. a bit long never watch tv le.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 (edited) what show is that? haha.. a bit long never watch tv le.. its about the lives of 3 women and a baby...first time it was adrian pang as nanny for a baby..2nd time it was felicia/tph with a baby and now is ann kok/cynthia koh/evelyn kok with a baby...they have been showing the trailers...getting stale liao with similar storylines..don't think I'm going to catch it..anyway I'll be busy with the world cup for the next one month..hehe.. Edited June 9, 2010 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 its about the lives of 3 women and a baby...first time it was adrian pang as nanny for a baby..2nd time it was felicia/tph with a baby and now is ann kok/cynthia koh/evelyn kok with a baby...they have been showing the trailers...getting stale liao with similar storylines..don't think I'm going to catch it..anyway I'll be busy with the world cup for the next one month..hehe.. oh.. haha.. that sounds vaguely familiar.. think i prob saw the trailer some where... oh ya.. world cup coming.. so no time to watch anything right now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 That's true...only a handful...the more popular "B' grade ones who are close to "A" grade but not "A" grade yet would probably make about 100-200k, but also not many...so I guess about 60% of their artistes would make less than 100k a yr... wah you really know the market. your numbers are accurate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 hehe.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 true... in asia, acting doesn't earn much. open legs and acting orgasm can earn much more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged June 9, 2010 Author Share June 9, 2010 I think it probably reflects our small country, but more importantly where we place our emphasis. Other countries celebrties earn big bucks for literally doing nothing. Over here acting is just 'entertainment'. Like sports and singing and what not. For fun only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 I think it probably reflects our small country, but more importantly where we place our emphasis. Other countries celebrties earn big bucks for literally doing nothing. Over here acting is just 'entertainment'. Like sports and singing and what not. For fun only. Hollywood actors are the highest paid, not only because USA is a big country with big population, but also because they export and market their movies all over the world, even to those non-English speaking countries like Japan and China where they have huge fan base. On a smaller scale, those HK actors also quite highly paid. HK is small country also, some more only speak Cantonese, but their huge overseas Chinese fan base is spread all over in Southeast Asia as well as Chinese resident communities in USA, UK and Australia. It is not about how small our pond is, but how far-reaching our appeal and influence. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...