Picanto 3rd Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 if you need to ask what car to buy without any in mind, then you are not buying a car. we get all sorts of people here.........who knows if TS can even afford a car in the first place ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Scirocco cannot compare to Mini Cooper lah. Scirocco is sports coupe, while Mini is more of a city runabout hatchback. For that kind of budget, nimble, fast, safe, hmm... - Audi A3 Sportback 1.8T - BMW 118i 5dr - Ford Focus ST - Kia Forte Koup (maybe outside shot, maybe not) - Mazda RX-8 or MX-5 (a bit different maybe) - Mini Cooper S (as mentioned) - Renault Clio F1 Team R27 - Renault Megane F1 Team R26 - Subaru Impreza WRX - Suzuki Swift Sport - VW Scirocco 1.4 Out of that list I would pick: 1) Ford Focus ST 2) Renault Megane F1 Team R26 3) Suzuki Swift Sport Personal opinion lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 (edited) I think the Scirocco 1.4 is what you are looking for. Within your budget and fast. Not too big too. Edited June 30, 2010 by Sg2303 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutsack Clutched June 30, 2010 Author Share June 30, 2010 All right. thanks to all. looks like we didn't leave any car out. thanks. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zaska 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Apart from VW GTi/Roc, how about 1- Alfa MiTo 2- Fiat Bravo 3- Ford RS or ST 4- Volvo C30 2.0 or T5(used) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Looks like everyone is going for the Golf / Scirocco. That's what we're eyeing too. I personally prefer the GTI but my wife prefers the Scirocco. But the GTI comes with a hefty price tag. Any idea how much the euro civic type r costs? Does Kah motors bring it in? Bro, it really depends on whether your wifey enjoys driving a Manual or Auto ride. If she belongs to the former, FN2R (which is the Euro type R ) is fun and responsive ride. I wouldn't say its power is extremely impressive but definitely comparable to a stock GTI and surpass most of the cars you see on the roads. Of course whether you embark on to the darkside of mods thereafter is your choice... Of all the mods i've did, a brake kit upgrade is definitely recommended, the stock brakes is really mediocre (and dangerous if she loves to speed....). Its K20Z4 is tremendously addictive... It just begs you to whack her harder and harder... (sounds wrong I know.. haha...) Insurance wise, another bro did comment that it is higher than the GTI... I think you should put that aside because with $130K, a mere variance in insurance should never be your worry. Sadly, KM has stopped bringing in FN2Rs since Jan this year... (which is not a bad thing cuz it means that the car becomes rare and controlled in numbers ~ women enjoys such exclusivity instead of having sickening carbon copies everywhere). You may consider a 2nd hand one..... Lack of a better word to term it, I seem very positively biased towards FN2R, I won't deny that cuz I love my car... And to your predicament, GTI was the other finalist before I decided to go for FN2R... So I understand your situation... completely. It all depends on the driver... the car he/she chooses will suit their criterions where outsiders like us can never fathom. Hope my feedback helps. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Try the Alfa Mito; you will have spare change from the $130k some more. VWs and Minis on the other hand, seem to be a boring choice for girls. As many girls choose them for their pretty face/cute looks rather than their sporting credentials, your wife (despite her motoring interest) will not stand out from this crowd. Once again, depending on how you guys see it, it can be a good or bad thing. If you want to stand out a tad bit more, Mito is the way to go. Alfa badge has a lot more wow factor because societal perceptions. Fun-wise, nothing beats shifting gears yourself for motoring enjoyment when we speak of cars at this price level. Personally though, if I had to choose a ride for my gf now, I would pick a manual Evo as it is somewhat of an unorthodox choice for a girl and I find a girl in a Beng car strangely attractive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Get Lancer Ex Ralliart la got 240Bhp Powerful and gud.Fully Air bag curtain airbag also got and very stable i currently driving 1 very stable the Spring Gud or u can go for Second hand Evo X. Subaru Car powerful but not stable. Ralliart is about 130k there. Evo X 100k and below for second hand. Dont go for Honda la, got problem in their wheel bearings Erm Maybe u can go for second hand 350Z Roadster Eh? I thought you drive an Evo X? Suddenly become Lancer EX Ralliart? http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry3217159 my Nissan 370z Roadster got scratch. My toyota celica got scratch my mitsubishi EVO X got scratch. Yours? Haha. I laff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie July 1, 2010 Share July 1, 2010 Hi guys. Am looking to buy a second car mainly for my wife. Budget: no more than 130k New/used: We're open to buying new or used car. My wife's driving habits: - She's a very good driver - Driving needs: for work, play, seldom drive up north but good if option is avail - She loves speed and power - Doesn't like big bulky cars cause "they don't feel nimble", she says - Safety is important too - Not a gas guzzler, but she understands her love for speed means it won't be the most economical car too Suggestions? Mini Cooper S Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 Get Lancer Ex Ralliart la got 240Bhp Powerful and gud.Fully Air bag curtain airbag also got and very stable i currently driving 1 very stable the Spring Gud or u can go for Second hand Evo X. Subaru Car powerful but not stable. Ralliart is about 130k there. Evo X 100k and below for second hand. Dont go for Honda la, got problem in their wheel bearings Erm Maybe u can go for second hand 350Z Roadster subaru car powerful but not stable? how did u know? u owned one, or u hearsay one? say this kind of thing not afraid subaru drivers hunt u down and tear ur backside har? something tells me u know nothing about cars judging from this sentence of urs: '...and very stable i currently driving 1 very stable the Spring Gud...' Spring Gud? how Gud? kup corner wun buang? ohh... buang oso no worries coz u oso said: '...Fully Air bag curtain airbag also got...' and then Honda got their wheel bearing problems and that, u know too. waa... u seemed well informed lei... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 Eh? I thought you drive an Evo X? Suddenly become Lancer EX Ralliart? http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry3217159 Yours? Haha. I laff. Mr Krado, why do u hv to make ppl pai seh? ..... hee hee hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 Mr Krado, why do u hv to make ppl pai seh? ..... hee hee hee Ah, hahaha. I wasn't paying attention. Heh. I DRIVE A VEYRON. I KEEP A ZONDA IN MY GARAGE. AS MY BACKUP CAR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 Eh? I thought you drive an Evo X? Suddenly become Lancer EX Ralliart? http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry3217159 Yours? Haha. I laff. yesterday heavy rain, the evo badge dropped off, revealing the Lancer EX Ralliart below it another round of heavy rain, the EX Ralliart will drop off, left with Lancer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 Ah, hahaha. I wasn't paying attention. Heh. I DRIVE A VEYRON. I KEEP A ZONDA IN MY GARAGE. AS MY BACKUP CAR. I USED TO HAVE A FERRARI ENZO until I scrapped it recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xdeatel Neutral Newbie July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 (edited) If you're looking for 1st hand car: Golf GTI Ford Focus RS Civic Type-R Civic Euro Type-R Rx8 If you're looking for 2nd hand car: Volvo S40 T5 Fairlady 350Z Fairlady 370Z Evo X Edited July 2, 2010 by Xdeatel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Japan96 Clutched July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 Civic Type R is out of the Productuion line le No MORE~~~ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...