Roller Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 (edited) Hello! Just some doubts that you guys can help: When you start your car EVERYTIME, is it better to switch off aircon and radio first? Or just aircon enough? Or it is perfectly alright just leave them on when switiching off and starting up your car? Read somewhere that it affects the car battery or alternator or something like that.. Cheers Edited June 30, 2010 by Roller ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xfyin Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 think swith off the aircon is better for battery life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roller Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Author Share June 30, 2010 so radio leave on ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Best way is to switch OFF all electrical stuff. Reason is simple. When the car is cranking to start up, the current draw and load on the battery is the highest, ie, voltage will dip like crazy. If you have all the electrical stuff ON, they will fight for the current as well. This puts additional high load on the battery, making it die faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Just to add. Some cars like my current Passat, it's ok to leave the electrical stuff on because the ECU is "smart" enough to cut the current to all electrical stuff during cranking and switch them on only 2 or 3 secs after the engine has started up. But then, I still switch everything off due to habit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Just to add. Some cars like my current Passat, it's ok to leave the electrical stuff on because the ECU is "smart" enough to cut the current to all electrical stuff during cranking and switch them on only 2 or 3 secs after the engine has started up. But then, I still switch everything off due to habit. Never pass up an opponunity to self promote your car huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Therese Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 so radio leave on ok? basically, i off my radio, aircon and auto head lights mode too before I turned off my engine..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Never pass up an opponunity to self promote your car huh? Hehe...it applies to all VW cars as well if I'm not wrong. I only noticed it when I forgot to off everything one day. Then after I start engine, few seconds later then the air con and head unit turn on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 basically, i off my radio, aircon and auto head lights mode too before I turned off my engine..... I don't off auto headlights for a good reason....my wife may forget to on it when she drives the car...too used to auto headlights already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Just to add. Some cars like my current Passat, it's ok to leave the electrical stuff on because the ECU is "smart" enough to cut the current to all electrical stuff during cranking and switch them on only 2 or 3 secs after the engine has started up. But then, I still switch everything off due to habit. big deal, KIA also got this feature. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
York Clutched June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 (edited) most lately conti....car or van have this feature liao... the whole electrical circuit is control by the mainboard or can call it the motherboard Edited June 30, 2010 by York Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 big deal, KIA also got this feature. Small deal only. Kia is big deal I know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Hello! Just some doubts that you guys can help: When you start your car EVERYTIME, is it better to switch off aircon and radio first? Or just aircon enough? Or it is perfectly alright just leave them on when switiching off and starting up your car? Read somewhere that it affects the car battery or alternator or something like that.. Cheers This is my switch off habit: 1) off lights 2) off aircon (fan still on) 3) off head unit 4) fold mirror 5) fan off 6) engine off Starting up is in reverse order. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 for my case, i just drive lah. off this, on that.. seemed like ready to take off my plane. Haaaaaa~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 for my case, i just drive lah. off this, on that.. seemed like ready to take off my plane. Haaaaaa~ then some cars got gauge....machiam jet fighter lah..with the meters Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 The newer cars are pretty smart, and will not load the battery. Notice the compressor kicks in only after the engine started and after a 1-2s.... old habits die hard though...but since the new technology is there for you to drive and park stress-free, why not utilise it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 I start my car by... 1. open door 2. sit down, chuck stuff in back seat, put key in 3. damn, is that a parking summon or a stupid flyer? 4. get out of car to remove the trash on windscreen 5. beo beo tyres a bit to check whether those ginnas around the place got play punk at night or not 6. realize i need get kopi for my morning drive 7. take out key and cross the road to buy kopi 8. come back, open door, put key in 9. get out to chase away the cat that's still sleeping on my boot 10. get back in and crank 11. crank again because the car's lazier than me and still hasn't woken up 12. put on seat belt, turn on headlights, turn on radio, turn on aircon 13. drive straight into the jam in my carpark that's just formed because of the school next door 14. turn on handphone and go rant about peak hour jams in some forum car battery and alternator? wear and tear items lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear June 30, 2010 Share June 30, 2010 Hello! Just some doubts that you guys can help: When you start your car EVERYTIME, is it better to switch off aircon and radio first? Or just aircon enough? Or it is perfectly alright just leave them on when switiching off and starting up your car? Read somewhere that it affects the car battery or alternator or something like that.. Cheers When you start the engine( cold engine as in a few hours never start one)......Don't on the A/C.....Radio is ok.... But not the A/C....Its because the engine is still cold...And the engine oil have not "went up".... One easy way is to see, is to check if there's is a blue colour light on the speedometer there.......... If you start the cold engine, there will be blue colour light to show it... After running it like a few mins... It will went away....Thats when usually i start to turn the A/C on....But of cos....Not full-blast..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...