Krado Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 haf u ever reported any of such cars to the authorities? Report for f**k? Got cash reward? Free COE? Free $500 Cash Card? Waiver for all traffic offenses for the next 1 year? Free car? No? Then report for f**k? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Kind of think of it... What u really mean by illegal modified car? They are many Authorized Legal aftermarket parts in the market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Report for f**k? Got cash reward? Free COE? Free $500 Cash Card? Waiver for all traffic offenses for the next 1 year? Free car? No? Then report for f**k? wah.. bro long time no hear from you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 wah.. bro long time no hear from you. Being "busy" lar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Kind of think of it... What u really mean by illegal modified car? They are many Authorized Legal aftermarket parts in the market. Then a call up by LTA should pose no problem to these people. Just drive down. They inspect, u lim kopi, 15-20 mins later collect vehicle, drive off. Nothing to it. I think some people in this thread are getting the wrong concept. It's not about reporting illegally modified vehicles. It's about reporting inconsiderate owners of illegally modified vehicles who use their modifications to 'guai lan' and piss people off. Eg. Blow exhaust middle of the night. Jio racing on the highway becoz they installed a new exhaust pipe. Sidetrack: Today see a 1000bhp(1 sticker +50bhp) wrx 'jip' a lancer followed by advante....my gawd....thinking to myself, if he so tiong, pls go and jip a lambo or modded gtr...road bully Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Being "busy" lar. i see.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 (edited) I have been following this thread for abit and I am wondering how would you even know by peeking into his engine that he has illegal mods? since illegal mods would be INSIDE the engine, etc a stroker kit, a turbo kit, even having a bigger turbo isnt illegal. So in all seriousness dude, if all you see is a shiny pipe that goes to the engine ..... I just wanna say that having a custom air intake isnt illegal. Nor is having a neat engine bay illegal, I have known some folks that actually pay to have all the wirings rerouted neatly. The only thing that I can think of that you might have spotted and could be illegal is the header. But usually folks that does change it, also wrap it up. I am really interested to find out what you could have "peeked" that made you think its illegal? some LED bulbs perhaps? hehe When someone mods his header, its a little bit louder than usual. And if someone removed the cats, its smells just a bit more than usual. And when you hear a BOV sound, he might have a little supercharger in there. Again illegal modders may not be dangerous drivers ....... its just that their vehicle is not street legal according to the LTA. Edited September 1, 2010 by Red_bean_bun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 According to TS post on page 2, the reason for reporting is: 1) "saw this youngster always drive very guai lan" 2) "and disregard other road users. drives fast inside service road. very dangerous." That's dangerous. Then the thread starter needs to amend the thread to Reporting Dangerous Drivers to reduce confusion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Kind of think of it... What u really mean by illegal modified car? They are many Authorized Legal aftermarket parts in the market. Think clearly ...... Just because there are robbers who use knives - doesn't mean the government should ban the selling of knives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 some people just cant stand modded cars even if they're harmless. loll Let's be specific - It's illegally modded cars. Technically that's different from a legally modded car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 If the public want to make a report about certain incidence that might cause public safety the following may be helpful. 1) If dangerous driving report to TP. Email: [email protected] 2) If you suspect illegal modification report to LTA. Email: [email protected] If any serious accident happen because no action was taken on the above incidence when the report was made, the officer-in-charge of either TP or LTA may be held responsible for not taking action. But that's just my deduction. Normally you have to support your report with photographic proof before the Authorities will take action. Personally, if that person is causing a lot of inconvenience and nuisance to the public, the Authorities will take action. Again, you have to provide evidence first before the Authorities will take any action. I belief in Karma and prefer to let it take its course and don't get into fights or arguments because honestly, it's none of our business. That's showing the public spirit - "It's none of or business." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 i think you have a serious brain problem. YOU are the one who has the big ego problem with the modded car owner. so why dont YOU confront the car owner? of course i understand that you are dickless (and balless) which is why you have no GUTS to confront him. which is also why you chose to wear a skirt and run to LTA/TP. please tell me if the above statements are not true LOLLL. dont pretend and give so many excuses. One honk and a middle finger is all it takes to get the car owner's attention. and from there, you can show him how much you hate his car bla bla bla. The thread is about reporting illegal modders - Its not about picking on them for a fight. I think you need help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trebuchet Neutral Newbie September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Modders are not always the lowest profile people in the world, obviously. And just as obvious, it only takes one bad apple to spoil the market for the rest of the low-profile modders who want to fly under the LTA's radar. I'm sure other modders hate it when that happens. In that case why aren't certain forumers policing those bad apples rather than putting the heat on the ordinary folks who are pissed off by their crappy attitudes? Judging from the tone of this discussion, if modders should be allowed to do whatever they want with their cars, then so should people who aren't exactly happy with their f-off attitudes. All's fair then, looks fine to me, no discussion really warranted. You modders have to play by the rules of this particular market, what's wrong with that? It's fair, you smoke them on the road, they smoke you by the book. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 singaporeans as a whole has perfected the art of running to the authorities to take care of their problems. e.g.: car got illegal mod....LTA, pls take action! car exhaust so noisy at night.....police/LTA/pontianak/MP, pls catch! your kid got As because of tuition......MOE, pls ban tuition! that china/india man/woman/kid very rude.....MOM, give them training, gahmen, pls don't give PR! You have to respect the government for creating avenues for the people raise their grieviences. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 long time ago in primary sch , some loser kid would always be jealous of his classmate's tamiya cars , cos he dont have one. and would run & tell the teacher to confiscate the classmates' toy cars for bringing to school. now grow up already still the same pattern... Shame on the parent who allowed the Tamiya car to be brought to school if it is not allowed. Deserved to get it confiscated after being reported. That being said if the school allows student to bring Tamiya cars to school then there's no reason why it would get conficated even after being reported. Its about the legality and not the mod per se. Don't mix it up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trebuchet Neutral Newbie September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Be the parent who doesn't mind if the Tamiya car gets confiscated. Want to mod, don't scared to be caught. Not scared to be caught = don't scared to be complaint against, also lah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Red_bean_bun Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 "Just because a person mods his car it doesn't make him an unsafe driver" Agree with this statement. However, statistics have shown that most fatal accidents derive from highly modded cars. I'm not talking about tinting the front windows or adding a Italia Bodykit. I'm talking about the modders who go for an engine swap, add a loud ass exhaust( i suppose the louder the sound, the bigger the balls or some correlation i'm not aware of), do an engine rebuild or add a turbo, etc... Statistics have shown that these modders who go the extreme ILLEGAL way to modify their vehicles have a tendency to be more reckless, resulting in more FATAL accidents in Singapore. (I don't care if you have a 850bhp evo in MY which u use to track). These accidents and claims result in increased motor insurance for the rest of us and that's affecting other drivers. However, I do concede that not all modders are unsafe drivers. In fact, many modders who have a tracking car and know how to control it are actually very good drivers(abeit the lack of signal and other minor issues) because these trackers know how to practise DEFENSIVE DRIVING even in high speeds. Modding your car is none of my concern...but..... If you decide to run 180 and crash on the KJE, that affects everyone's insurance premium, that's my concern. If you decide to blow your illegal loud ass exhaust around the neighbourhood carpark a couple of rounds at 2am, that's my concern. If you're some wannabe racer who flashes his illegal HID in my eyes, that's my concern. If you're an inconsiderate prick without a catalyst and leave your engine on while I'm eating, that's my concern. And I WILL report your ass. "You can mod anything you want. Just don't irritate the hell out of your neighbours. Otherwise one fine day you will find that your friendly neighbours decided to add some extra artwork. - Sensei Ronin" +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 I hope ppl understands that " People who have tatoos are not considered Ah beng" In this logic, i hope this apply to the car as well... Agree. Cowboys tattooed the cattles to make them more easily identified when stolen. People tattooed themselves to demonstrate lack of self-confidence? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...