Vulcann 6th Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 Anyone remember Ah Nan singing this Hokkien BMT song? Decided to trace this song after watching the Every Singaporean Son Episode 09. Still find it very funny & like to share with you guys again: NB: Last part a bit R(A) hor... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 20, 2010 Author Share September 20, 2010 A 1995 interview by Jack N*o & Mark L** of Ah Nan in Hokkien: Last part quite touching... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Wah. Retro seh. LOL. I still remember last time got the cassette, then listen to all the Jack Neo Hokkien army song on Walkman. (Shows you how long ago. Cassette and walkman sia. LOL!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 i listened to this song (1)before i enlist (2)during the time i serve (3)after i ORD basically it accompany me thru my NS days... there are things that you will only learn in NS.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 i listened to this song (1)before i enlist (2)during the time i serve (3)after i ORD basically it accompany me thru my NS days... there are things that you will only learn in NS.. We (me included) were being label as Hokkien peng. During the last second ICT, me and few buddies (since active days) were attached to another reservist unit cause of our earlier deferment. To our horror we were attached to a very young unit, don't remember the unit code, only their second ICT. We were like wtf. Old men how to cheong sua, cheong hai with those 20 plus year old kids! The best part were they really dislike stay out for the night while me and buddies no matter what the hours would still make our way home. Even move out next morning 5am we still rather drive home. Another contrasting scenerio, they all read "BT, ST" during ICT. I remembered me and buddies were the only group reading Sing Ming and Wang Bao. hahahahaha bro like me would know how to appreciate the gossiping, headline story of these chinese paper during field training. hahaha Yep ended up we were label as hokkien uncle peng by them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 We (me included) were being label as Hokkien peng. During the last second ICT, me and few buddies (since active days) were attached to another reservist unit cause of our earlier deferment. To our horror we were attached to a very young unit, don't remember the unit code, only their second ICT. We were like wtf. Old men how to cheong sua, cheong hai with those 20 plus year old kids! The best part were they really dislike stay out for the night while me and buddies no matter what the hours would still make our way home. Even move out next morning 5am we still rather drive home. Another contrasting scenerio, they all read "BT, ST" during ICT. I remembered me and buddies were the only group reading Sing Ming and Wang Bao. hahahahaha bro like me would know how to appreciate the gossiping, headline story of these chinese paper during field training. hahaha Yep ended up we were label as hokkien uncle peng by them. not chap-sa-gi or chor-tai-di ah?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 Wah. Retro seh. LOL. I still remember last time got the cassette, then listen to all the Jack Neo Hokkien army song on Walkman. (Shows you how long ago. Cassette and walkman sia. LOL!) Ya lo, listen to all those songs again really nostalgic hor? Gosh, it was sooooooo long that I took the ferry away from ITD in Tekong for the last time and had never looked back since... Maybe will go back there finally when my 3-year Power Ranger-crazy son enlists in the future Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Ya lo, listen to all those songs again really nostalgic hor? Gosh, it was sooooooo long that I took the ferry away from ITD in Tekong for the last time and had never looked back since... Maybe will go back there finally when my 3-year Power Ranger-crazy son enlists in the future Somehow feel sad when I listened to the song...how time files and I'm now already over the hill . The song is simple and probably no longer sang by the modern soldiers ( who don't even know Hokkien). Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 i listened to this song (1)before i enlist (2)during the time i serve (3)after i ORD basically it accompany me thru my NS days... there are things that you will only learn in NS.. Totally with you on the last part. Things we learnt that cannot be spoken here even complying strictly with COC 7 as now got family liao... And of course things we WISH we had never learn like @#$% words though some bros will strongly disagree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Totally with you on the last part. Things we learnt that cannot be spoken here even complying strictly with COC 7 as now got family liao... And of course things we WISH we had never learn like @#$% words though some bros will strongly disagree as much as how the scholars and generals want to disagree.. @#$% words are parts and parcel of armed forces everywhere.. there is simply no other method which is as effective.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 We (me included) were being label as Hokkien peng. During the last second ICT, me and few buddies (since active days) were attached to another reservist unit cause of our earlier deferment. To our horror we were attached to a very young unit, don't remember the unit code, only their second ICT. We were like wtf. Old men how to cheong sua, cheong hai with those 20 plus year old kids! The best part were they really dislike stay out for the night while me and buddies no matter what the hours would still make our way home. Even move out next morning 5am we still rather drive home. Another contrasting scenerio, they all read "BT, ST" during ICT. I remembered me and buddies were the only group reading Sing Ming and Wang Bao. hahahahaha bro like me would know how to appreciate the gossiping, headline story of these chinese paper during field training. hahaha Yep ended up we were label as hokkien uncle peng by them. Which was why many bros no matter what also die die don't wana defer ICT as chances of being posted to a different unit rather high...Worst if is a mono intake unit with a gung ho CO wanting to get the ultimate price-best NSman unit When I was relating my BMT experience in the late 80s to my younger ICT mates, they were eyes big big and exclaiming typical "wow-like-that-will-not-get-charge-meh" type of response. Really felt old leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 as much as how the scholars and generals want to disagree.. @#$% words are parts and parcel of armed forces everywhere.. there is simply no other method which is as effective.. Which is why very weird when I watch the BMT series shown in YouT*be. All the instructors, from OC to SC, all seem so approachable and issue instructions so politely. Only the IFC & Defence parts showed a little bit of discipline/punishment. Maybe we are really OLD liao...Nowadays all very proper & @#$% words banned? Any young bros still serving can verify? I remembered hearing the first swear word when I was on the tonner away from Crawford CC after all the niceties during enlistment day... That nice & friendly CPL directing & guiding us at the CC suddenly transformed into *sigh* in the tonner... That was the begining of my stint in green.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 Somehow feel sad when I listened to the song...how time files and I'm now already over the hill . The song is simple and probably no longer sang by the modern soldiers ( who don't even know Hokkien). Regards, Not so much sadness but more of like well-it-is-a-good-experience-but-never-again type of feeling lo... No idea what song they sing nowadays but the ESS series did show them singing some familiar songs though seemed "sterilised without any dirt" liao, if you catch my drift Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Which is why very weird when I watch the BMT series shown in YouT*be. All the instructors, from OC to SC, all seem so approachable and issue instructions so politely. Only the IFC & Defence parts showed a little bit of discipline/punishment. Maybe we are really OLD liao...Nowadays all very proper & @#$% words banned? Any young bros still serving can verify? I remembered hearing the first swear word when I was on the tonner away from Crawford CC after all the niceties during enlistment day... That nice & friendly CPL directing & guiding us at the CC suddenly transformed into *sigh* in the tonner... That was the begining of my stint in green.... Still have lah. Just that for YouTube must act nice nice for outsider to see mah. I'm sure when cameras off the swear words will come out again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 Still have lah. Just that for YouTube must act nice nice for outsider to see mah. I'm sure when cameras off the swear words will come out again. Haha same thing I told my CO beside me watching one of the ESS episodes the other night when she said wow army instructors all so nice wan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Wah. Retro seh. LOL. I still remember last time got the cassette, then listen to all the Jack Neo Hokkien army song on Walkman. (Shows you how long ago. Cassette and walkman sia. LOL!) ya man... the jokes and the songs are funny... but cannot find on youtube Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged September 21, 2010 Share September 21, 2010 Which is why very weird when I watch the BMT series shown in YouT*be. All the instructors, from OC to SC, all seem so approachable and issue instructions so politely. Only the IFC & Defence parts showed a little bit of discipline/punishment. Maybe we are really OLD liao...Nowadays all very proper & @#$% words banned? Any young bros still serving can verify? I remembered hearing the first swear word when I was on the tonner away from Crawford CC after all the niceties during enlistment day... That nice & friendly CPL directing & guiding us at the CC suddenly transformed into *sigh* in the tonner... That was the begining of my stint in green.... i enlisted 4yrs ago..and i hereby confirm, YES.. from BMT to OCS/SISPEC.. !@#$% are still used macham it's free.. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear September 21, 2010 Author Share September 21, 2010 ya man... the jokes and the songs are funny... but cannot find on youtube Try Jack N*o Army Songs... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...