ARchery Advice

Chrispie

Hi guys..

im thinkg of taking up archery.. but before i do that, would like to know the typical investment for the equipments, the range fees etc..

can anyone share their experience with me?

Equipment varies from the basic bow to teh advance pro bows.

Basic bows will set you back $150-900 bucks per bow set,(Basic compound bow, carbon bows and bighorn cost more, not to mention

if you just finished watching Rambo, that bow is going to set you back even further!) you can chose to purchase direct from the

archery club or via "outside" vendors, who sell for lower price, or go the way of buying used bows

first, then move up from there. Shooting range fees, for non-members is $80 x 1.5hrsx 4 times for the basic course.

I don't know now, it's been a while and I've already. Members only then can book range and pay member's rates.

given up the sport, due to my time. The OLD town YMCA use to conduct classes, you might want to check with them

on this, it's normally on a Friday evenings.

I was doing archery for a few years before I went on to do Japanese archery. A different bow and shooting style totally.

Hi guys..

im thinkg of taking up archery.. but before i do that, would like to know the typical investment for the equipments, the range fees etc..

can anyone share their experience with me?

thanks for the reply dude...

just wanna find out first before i plunge... i know the way i spend when i take up any new activity is just... haiz.. my granny always say in teochew 'buck jiu pai'. (eye spoilt).

first was golf...

then kite.. from a 4.90 kite to 4 stunt kites that cost over 500 each...

so if its archery now.. another lobang..

Interesting.... hehe.... Same here... Always get the best, even when I am a noob. Then 3 mths later, dump it coz I dun like. sigh!

Anyway, where is this archery thing? sounds fun! [:p]

Interesting.... hehe.... Same here... Always get the best, even when I am a noob. Then 3 mths later, dump it coz I dun like. sigh!

Anyway, where is this archery thing? sounds fun! [:p]

they hold it at punggol area.. just google archery singapore and you will be directed to the archery association site..

will prob take up lessons first to see if i like it... hmm.. and if i do.. .jialut liao.

I took up because I was into weapons, and I'm still into weapons training.

Dowan say what else, wait you say I hai si lu. kekekek...

You try the basic course, no need say one, sure jump inside the river to swim liow.

You will kana most probably some blue black on your left elbow, if first time shooter,

so must always remember to "Lock" your elbows in, if not the bow string will hit the side of your elbow.

Archery wise, I still shoot, when I go back to Japan, 3 days will go for training alone.

It'll be my 20th year doing archery now. It's a very good way to achieve a state of zen.

BTW, as I said, go get second hand equipment first, don't EVER jump head in.

The instructors have a way of making you BUY. [laugh] [laugh]

thanks for the reply dude...

just wanna find out first before i plunge... i know the way i spend when i take up any new activity is just... haiz.. my granny always say in teochew 'buck jiu pai'. (eye spoilt).

first was golf...

then kite.. from a 4.90 kite to 4 stunt kites that cost over 500 each...

so if its archery now.. another lobang..

If you paid a lot for the compressor and airbrush, I hate to say this, compressor with single tank and water filter

only cost and yes can get for only less then $200, silent also, airbrush, no need buy branded, $40-50 bucks, will do the job just fine.

If not the Tamiya SprayWorks will do wonders as well as last a very long time. Liek all airbrush, so long as you don't screw up

the needle tip, all's well. If using Tamiya paints, please take a look at Gunza. FAR MORE better quality.

Yeah,I used to do airbrushing as a hobby before.

You guys spend money like nobody's business.

*Hides the rollerblades and air compressor/airbrush set for modelling*

Oi, start, "My Archery Forum" [laugh] [laugh]

they hold it at punggol area.. just google archery singapore and you will be directed to the archery association site..

will prob take up lessons first to see if i like it... hmm.. and if i do.. .jialut liao.

If you paid a lot for the compressor and airbrush, I hate to say this, compressor with single tank and water filter

only cost and yes can get for only less then $200, silent also, airbrush, no need buy branded, $40-50 bucks, will do the job just fine.

If not the Tamiya SprayWorks will do wonders as well as last a very long time. Liek all airbrush, so long as you don't screw up

the needle tip, all's well. If using Tamiya paints, please take a look at Gunza. FAR MORE better quality.

Yeah,I used to do airbrushing as a hobby before.

It was a simple one....no diaphragm, no water trap. The air brush better, because the feel lot better. Won't feel pain on my fingers if I use too long.

I intend to restart modelling again.....some day.

So far, only have 1 M10 Wolverine and half a T34 to show.....

if you just finished watching Rambo, that bow is going to set you back even further!)

mai sian, rambo DIY his bow from cane and stick from the woods [:p]

If air tank got release valve below, just open up for water to come out can liow, so won't rust.

My first brush was the Taimiya sprayworks, damn old, recently 3 moths ago, up lorry, the gearing broke

inside, one connecting to the motor and the piston pump. So LL. cannot buy parts also, so old already, 20yrs

even used by my eldest son. So good airbrush, can last a lifetime more or less lah, Just remember to clean out your airbrush's O ring

when done and do a flush back, thinner in the paint pot, put one finger on the nozzle, cover over, and press trigger, release after a while and repeat,

will force the thinner in to clean the chamber.

It was a simple one....no diaphragm, no water trap. The air brush better, because the feel lot better. Won't feel pain on my fingers if I use too long.

I intend to restart modelling again.....some day.

So far, only have 1 M10 Wolverine and half a T34 to show.....

Check out Pasir Ris CC. I think there is a archery group practising there weekly. Went for one of their intro sessions in a Pasir Ris field. Quite interesting. Forced me to shoot with my right hand even though I am left master hand. No blue black like what MO said though my wife and 2 other friends got their whole arm blue black. Touch it also they pain.