Xtraz 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Share November 23, 2010 HI Reading thru forum topic- abt aircon any comment abt TOMIKA workshop ? my car aircon blowing hot air . summore hot weather in s'pore need this problem solved ASAP. Didn't the post above yours caution about Tomika? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joemit7850 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 Hi Plim72, can let us know the shop u went to? Looks like we hv another good alternative for air con issue other than those recommended. I also encountered problem with my air con(not cold) few mths ago in begining Aug. Went to T.....A, as recommended. Cut short story, was told compressor spoilt. Replaced >$500 after negotiation, few days later not cold again. Went back there n spent more than 1/2 day there, check everything still couldn't find out the problem. Boss fr the other outlet happened to be there also dun know wat happened. I think in the end, they top up gas again n become cold again. Boss told me if still hv prob, can go to the other outlet to find him. Then in begining Sept, suddenly air con not cold again. Called up same outlet which i went to (younger bro in charge there). Ask me to go back there to check but I was working, wanted to go on Sat. He advised me to come on weekday coz not so crowded but then I need to take leave. Before I could go there, the air con suddenly become cold again 3 days later. I told him still can go down check but he said if air-con cold n working fine, very diificult to check. So until today, the air con still working fine but everyday pray hard tat it'll not breakdown. The compressor guarantee 3mths n I very scared tat the problem will come after warranty over. Might need to spend $$$ again look like your case are very similar as mine.. for me already top up gas many time, change oem cooling coil, change compressor but still cannot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joemit7850 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 Sounds like a lousy ws only good at sucking yr $. I think e sooner u stop using them, e happier u wil b. I can safely recomend markcool as ive been using them n i find them very good n reasonable charges. Just look fr Ah Huat e foreman. yup..seem like markcool are well recommended by forum guess i will visit them soon , the weather in singapore is too hot to drive without any aircon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joemit7850 1st Gear November 23, 2010 Author Share November 23, 2010 Didn't the post above yours caution about Tomika? ohh.. miss that post Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joemit7850 1st Gear December 12, 2010 Author Share December 12, 2010 learn a good lesson, a normal mechanical man might know his work in the engine or technical field but we cannot expect them to know everything expecially the air-con department. therefore, look for those auto aircon company if u face any issue with aircon' I spend almost 1k to solve a problem which might able to solve it with only $65. the workshop ask me to change cooling coil, problem still surface and then ask me to change the compressor , the problem still surface and ask me to change back to a original swift cooling coil luckily i din cos solve it in markcool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 12, 2010 Share December 12, 2010 Si meh? My original decibel (db) stock tyres lasted me till 120k. After that I drove till 130k and fishtail twice(one resulting in an expensive accident) before I change to feds. dB u drove until 130K... that one i think already overdue liao.. me last time ..60K already consider very very good liao... ur 130K must be botak botak liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslieteo Neutral Newbie June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 Yes, when it comes to car repairs (or any repairs for that matter) there will be happy and disgruntled customers. We do our due diligence to look up info for the best repair man and that's the most we can do. This forum is a useful platform to share info and this is my small contribution after my recent aircon repair 3 days ago...... Over the last few weeks, my aircon had been giving intermittent problems. It was very cold when it was moving and when it came to a stop at traffic lights, sometimes (not always though) the aircon would lose its coldness. When the car started to move again, the coldness would come back. After getting info from this website, I contacted Markcool (which received good feedback) at Woodlands. I asked for Ah Huat (as recommended by members here) and this guy whom I spoke with said that he was Ah Huat (the only Ah Huat there). After describing my aircon problem to him, he was very confident that it was the compressor's problem. According to him, it could not be repaired and the cost of changing a new one was $700. By the way, I am driving a Toyota Wish. Then I remember there was another recommended shop called Tomika at Ubi Road 1. I called and described the problem to a Mr Lee. Then I was told that it would most likely be the lacking of oil in the compressor or the compressor's valve which could be faulty. I was asked to bring the car to him. After examining the car, he confirmed that it was the compressor's oil. He confidently told me that the problem should be resolved after adding oil in the compressor. He said he had done many cars facing the same problems. He also mentioned that in his many years of dealing with aircon he had seldom changed compressor for the customers. When compressors give problem it is usually the valve's problem and he has a repair kit for that. Out of curiosity I asked him for the cost of changing a new compressor if needed and he told me it would cost $550 (as compared to $700!!!!!!). It was three days ago that I topped up my compressor's oil and the aircon's problem was indeed gone. So before you decide to change your compressor, check if there are other alternatives. This is my small contribution to this forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 bottom line.....whats the costs of repair with the kit+ labour ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 Yes, when it comes to car repairs (or any repairs for that matter) there will be happy and disgruntled customers. We do our due diligence to look up info for the best repair man and that's the most we can do. This forum is a useful platform to share info and this is my small contribution after my recent aircon repair 3 days ago...... Over the last few weeks, my aircon had been giving intermittent problems. It was very cold when it was moving and when it came to a stop at traffic lights, sometimes (not always though) the aircon would lose its coldness. When the car started to move again, the coldness would come back. After getting info from this website, I contacted Markcool (which received good feedback) at Woodlands. I asked for Ah Huat (as recommended by members here) and this guy whom I spoke with said that he was Ah Huat (the only Ah Huat there). After describing my aircon problem to him, he was very confident that it was the compressor's problem. According to him, it could not be repaired and the cost of changing a new one was $700. By the way, I am driving a Toyota Wish. Then I remember there was another recommended shop called Tomika at Ubi Road 1. I called and described the problem to a Mr Lee. Then I was told that it would most likely be the lacking of oil in the compressor or the compressor's valve which could be faulty. I was asked to bring the car to him. After examining the car, he confirmed that it was the compressor's oil. He confidently told me that the problem should be resolved after adding oil in the compressor. He said he had done many cars facing the same problems. He also mentioned that in his many years of dealing with aircon he had seldom changed compressor for the customers. When compressors give problem it is usually the valve's problem and he has a repair kit for that. Out of curiosity I asked him for the cost of changing a new compressor if needed and he told me it would cost $550 (as compared to $700!!!!!!). It was three days ago that I topped up my compressor's oil and the aircon's problem was indeed gone. So before you decide to change your compressor, check if there are other alternatives. This is my small contribution to this forum. Thanks for yr input but I not sure who u spoke to though. I hv been using Markcool for abt 15 years without any problems associated with many of those dishonest n incompentent AC shops. I only deal with Ah Huat at Markcool n hv never been let down by him yet. I wil still use them till something happens to change my mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslieteo Neutral Newbie June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 Tks for the enquiry. I do not know the exact charge for the valve + labor. It is best you deal directly with Mr Lee. He can be contacted at 67468128 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 Many AC wksp tend to change compressor. Even for things like magnetic clutch or pulley bearing. If you are driving WISH, and faced with broken compressor, you can get it for most probably much cheaper in JB. Maybe it may be RM700, for rand new DENSO or SANDEN compressors made in Malaysia. So your AC cold at higher RPM, and not cold during low RPM. It may be insufficient refrigerant. He will have to break AC line to top up compressor oil, and refill fresh refrigerant. Anyway, it is hard to find honest mechanic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 go to tomika...its a good workshop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 4, 2011 Share June 4, 2011 Yes, when it comes to car repairs (or any repairs for that matter) there will be happy and disgruntled customers. We do our due diligence to look up info for the best repair man and that's the most we can do. This forum is a useful platform to share info and this is my small contribution after my recent aircon repair 3 days ago...... Over the last few weeks, my aircon had been giving intermittent problems. It was very cold when it was moving and when it came to a stop at traffic lights, sometimes (not always though) the aircon would lose its coldness. When the car started to move again, the coldness would come back. After getting info from this website, I contacted Markcool (which received good feedback) at Woodlands. I asked for Ah Huat (as recommended by members here) and this guy whom I spoke with said that he was Ah Huat (the only Ah Huat there). After describing my aircon problem to him, he was very confident that it was the compressor's problem. According to him, it could not be repaired and the cost of changing a new one was $700. By the way, I am driving a Toyota Wish. Then I remember there was another recommended shop called Tomika at Ubi Road 1. I called and described the problem to a Mr Lee. Then I was told that it would most likely be the lacking of oil in the compressor or the compressor's valve which could be faulty. I was asked to bring the car to him. After examining the car, he confirmed that it was the compressor's oil. He confidently told me that the problem should be resolved after adding oil in the compressor. He said he had done many cars facing the same problems. He also mentioned that in his many years of dealing with aircon he had seldom changed compressor for the customers. When compressors give problem it is usually the valve's problem and he has a repair kit for that. Out of curiosity I asked him for the cost of changing a new compressor if needed and he told me it would cost $550 (as compared to $700!!!!!!). It was three days ago that I topped up my compressor's oil and the aircon's problem was indeed gone. So before you decide to change your compressor, check if there are other alternatives. This is my small contribution to this forum. You have to be very careful about topping up with the oil. There is always the stipulated amount to be put inside the aircon compressor. Only the mechanic or workshop who specializes in aircon will know. Based on personal experience with an AD, too much oil will damage your compressor and you have to replace the whole compressor with a new one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger21 Clutched June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 I have the same issue as U, aircon not cold at idling but cold again when moving or reving engine. Called Tomika, suspect could be compressor clutch needed to do something (can't recall). Called Mark Cool (Not Ah Huat), say most likely compressor and have to be replaced. They have reconditioned compressors at around $200+. Both need to take a look to determine the fault. So I went to Mark-Cool, but they say my radiator fan not working during idle so need to replace ($260) the motor. Also, my gas is low (100+ only) so also not cold (top up gas $25). Funny thing is I remembered checking the fan previously (3 days ago) it was working at idling speed, but when he claimed not working, he refused to show me in w/s. He say he knocked it and its working now of cause??!!??!! Anyway, just changed the Fan motor and top up gas. Was told to monitor and if not cold again would be somewhere is a small gas leak. So my fingers crossed. :) Yes, when it comes to car repairs (or any repairs for that matter) there will be happy and disgruntled customers. We do our due diligence to look up info for the best repair man and that's the most we can do. This forum is a useful platform to share info and this is my small contribution after my recent aircon repair 3 days ago...... Over the last few weeks, my aircon had been giving intermittent problems. It was very cold when it was moving and when it came to a stop at traffic lights, sometimes (not always though) the aircon would lose its coldness. When the car started to move again, the coldness would come back. After getting info from this website, I contacted Markcool (which received good feedback) at Woodlands. I asked for Ah Huat (as recommended by members here) and this guy whom I spoke with said that he was Ah Huat (the only Ah Huat there). After describing my aircon problem to him, he was very confident that it was the compressor's problem. According to him, it could not be repaired and the cost of changing a new one was $700. By the way, I am driving a Toyota Wish. Then I remember there was another recommended shop called Tomika at Ubi Road 1. I called and described the problem to a Mr Lee. Then I was told that it would most likely be the lacking of oil in the compressor or the compressor's valve which could be faulty. I was asked to bring the car to him. After examining the car, he confirmed that it was the compressor's oil. He confidently told me that the problem should be resolved after adding oil in the compressor. He said he had done many cars facing the same problems. He also mentioned that in his many years of dealing with aircon he had seldom changed compressor for the customers. When compressors give problem it is usually the valve's problem and he has a repair kit for that. Out of curiosity I asked him for the cost of changing a new compressor if needed and he told me it would cost $550 (as compared to $700!!!!!!). It was three days ago that I topped up my compressor's oil and the aircon's problem was indeed gone. So before you decide to change your compressor, check if there are other alternatives. This is my small contribution to this forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Aircon is closed circuit system, there is no way the compressor oil can evaporate or gone missing. I have trouble trying to understand need to top up compressor oil unless there is a leak in the pipe/joint. I got a brand new compressor after deliberately forced in compressor oil and refrigerant into Compressor. I could hear a popped sound, liken safety valve opened. Luckily under warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remixes Clutched June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 sorry i m noob in this... so a/c compressor oil can be flush out before filling with new one? also the a/c gas can be flush then top up? can we set the thermoset not to kick the compressor so often...cos i find it irritating keep kicking very often when idling. Any aircon gurus care to share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 (edited) sorry i m noob in this... so a/c compressor oil can be flush out before filling with new one? NO,a/c oil runs in the system together with freon gas. also the a/c gas can be flush then top up? have to extract out the freon gas, then fill in with new compressor oil together with freon gas can we set the thermoset not to kick the compressor so often...cos i find it irritating keep kicking very often when idling.No, its pre set in the system. Set it at 18 deg or 28 deg, compressor cut in and out the same number of times, the reason why you are getting warmer air is because the cold air is mixed with the warmer air from the radiator Edited June 7, 2011 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear June 20, 2011 Share June 20, 2011 Just want to share my experience I encountered recently. My 6 year Aveo A/C wasn't blowing cold, only cool. Went to my usual car mech. Boss diagnosed A/C compressor as old, wear and tear. Compressor oil was still clean so no need for change. So changed it to new compressor. Gas also topped up. Drove home, A/C was cold. Couple of days later, A/C wasn't blowing cold. Shopping centre A/C even better. Went back to car mech. They checked gas pressure, released and re-topped up gas. A/C blowing cold. I then observed that when car was driving < 50km/h, A/C blew cold. There was also a hissing sound coming from front passenger footwell area. At > 50km/h, hissing sound disappear and A/C wasn't even cool at all. Even at max coldness and highest fan speed, still felt uncomfortable in cabin. Only when the car was idle, the hissing sound was very audible and A/C went back to cold. Reported this to my mech and their suspicion is that the A/C system was mixing the hot air with the A/C and suggested that I do some kind of bypass to totally block off the hot water. (Aveo models has no thermostat; has a heater function) I didn't feel comfortable with the idea so I decided to try Markcool, as suggested by some of the brudders here in MCF. Mr "Ah Huat", a mustachioed man, greeted me. After listening to my explanation, he explained what he would do first before proceeding. After opening bonnet, he shared that he suspected there was a leak somewhere as the cooling pipes had no condensation on it. Normally, if the A/C was working fine, I noticed condensation forming as well and I agreed with him. He opened up the refridgerant charge port (the green colored one) and attempted to check the pressure. Pressure was very low and according to him, my model is supposed to have a pressure of "650". He also showed me that the charge port area was blowing "bubbles", and that indicated the leak. He offered to change the tiny valve/pin inside, re-pump the gas to the correct pressure and monitor. Took about 15 minutes and we talked about P.Tekong and the many changes compared to the 'good old days' and once done, he showed me that the pipes are now very cold, with lots of condensation. When I had to settle the bill, (like some of the MCF brudders have mentioned), the young lady boss (I think) was less than friendly than "Ah Huat". I assumed there would be NETS but she said only cash and suggested that I take a walk to the nearby multi-storey driving centre where there is a POSB ATM. To my surprise, "Ah Huat" offered to drive me there! I politely declined but he insisted and without informing anyone or asking for permission, I hopped onto his van, dropped me at the reception while he made a huge U-turn to pick me up outside! I have never met such a wonderfully polite and nice car mechanic! Before I left, I shook and profusely thanked him and he gave me his business card. Drove home for 20 minutes, stopped the car, popped the hood to check, everything was aye-ok. My family felt the difference and I'm now a believer and supporter of Markcool. Thank you "Ah Huat"! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...