Car Bumpy at around 160-170KM/H

Mini-itx

How fast were you going, and what was the speed limit for that bend?

The faster we go, the less margin of error/safety we leave ourselves for unpredictable things like oil or mud, or obstacles on the road. The car might feel fantastically planted in your intended path of travel, but if you suddenly give it a different steering input (eg. to avoid something), the tires might run out of traction to comply with your wishes. Or simply, you're going too fast when the tires break traction that there isn't enough time for them to regain traction before you kiss the wall/barriers.

Same for 170kph-boy, are you able to execute a sudden lane change if some car ahead pulled out in front of you, without losing control, perhaps flipping the car?

I was prob going a bit too fast but i take that corner often without any problems. I think if there was no rain earlier n road was not so slippery, nothing wud hv hapened but ten again, these things how to know until we hit e slippery part. Most of e times i slid out was cos of unforseen things like slippery road.

A lot of times, it is due to poor tyre choice. I had drove thru puddle of water on my front right tyre @ 110km/h with confident. That's why i swear by Michelin Sports Tyre. Tyre noise is secondary. What is important to me is wet traction.

Yes i agree michelin make very good tires. I did consider pp2 but got e adrive cos its also a very good grip tire though a little noisy n was abt $50 cheaper ea.

My next set cud likely b pp2.

My fren just got MXV8 in jb fr abt rm250 ea. Thats a very good price. Im going to check e place out n if e tires r e good stuff, likely i get from there.

Toking abt that, this morning i skidded at bke/sle slip-road n tore up my bumper n right headlight with minor damage to both front fenders n bonnet.. [bigcry]

Section of road was very slippery cos earlier rain washed lots of mud on e road which caused e skid.

Lucky no vehicles came up behind to crash into me. My car turned 180 degrees n was facing on-coming traffic. Tmw must go ws to see hw to settle. [dizzy]

OMG dude!! :ph34r: Lucky you're alright, that's the most important thing.

That road can be quite treacherous, was behind an EG once when he spun (very suddenly like you described) hit the left guard rail, bounced off, slammed into the right one and came to standstill in the middle of the road!

After witnessing that incident first hand, I dare not go fast there anymore. May be a little "hum chi" I admit, but better to be safe than sorry. Afterall, no prizes for the fastest car mah...

Stay safe and hope the damage (to your wallet) isn't too bad. Parts no problem to find?

That road can be quite treacherous, was behind an EG once when he spun (very suddenly like you described) hit the left guard rail, bounced off, slammed into the right one and came to standstill in the middle of the road!

After witnessing that incident first hand, I dare not go fast there anymore. May be a little "hum chi" I admit, but better to be safe than sorry. Afterall, no prizes for the fastest car mah...

Stay safe and hope the damage (to your wallet) isn't too bad. Parts no problem to find?

From what I have read, FF cars are more prone to snap oversteer than 4WD and RWD. FF cars will appear to understeer while conering. As you push harder and harder, it suddenly snaps into oversteer w/o any warning. I don't know how much true there is but snaping out of control is definitely something you want to avoid.

Should not be in S'pore bah? Our roads got so bumpy one meh?

I think TS drove at that speed in M'sia. [sweatdrop]

SG roads are alot more bumpy than you think..... Its just that most car have rather soft suspension, thus bumps can't be felt. Remember how F1 drivers critise the track for being very bumpy? Yes, when you have hard suspension and you go at high speed, you will realise that SG roads are in fact quite bumpy, esp old expressways like PIE, AYE etc....

For me, I am more lucky because my car will tell me its losing grip. IT will slip around but it doesn't snap out suddenly, thus this gives me more time to counter steer and adjust.

I attribute this to the tyres rather than the car... my feel is that Goodyears, while having good grip, is not as progressive as brands like Bridgestones...

Actually my tires[yoko a,drive r1] r pretty decent n wil give me enough warning when im losing traction.

Thats why i was caught off-guard as i lost traction in an instant. E rear swung out n e front had no traction at all. All 4 wheels broke traction together.

Thats why i know it was e road which was very slippery n worse is i cud not regain traction as that section was all slippery.

E more i think about it, it seems like there was likely some oil on e road n was made worse by e water from e earlier small drizzle.

Driven optra sedan (pre fl) plenty of time before. heavy chassis and surefooted when cornering. don't think this car's suspension setup (stock setting) is the sort that will suddenly go haywire and cause sudden spinouts. I suspect got oil spill or sludge on that section.

Ya ths. Im fine. Never even break a sweat but my car front damaged.

I suddenly felt e car lose traction n tried to correct by counter steering hard left but back stayed out to e left. I had no grip on both front wheels. Fethered throttle to try to get some grip cos i was getting closer to right guardrail but just cud not get any traction at all. Finally my front right contacted e right guardrail n slid along. Rail took out my front bumper, right then left headlights n radiator grill.

Ended up doing a 180 degree turn n was facing on-coming traffic when i came to a standstill.

All wil b changed new now. My left n right front fenders n bonnet got pushed back a little so ty wil b knocked back n painted. Lucky no internal damage except e front member above radiator got pushed back a little so ty need to pull it out a bit.

Now no car till sat. Sigh. Depending on kindness of others to ferry me around. Hahaha but also take BMW.

Good part is wil get 2 new headlights as e old ones e plastic lenses already starting to get cloudy.

Ive taken that bend hundreds of times n damm shiok to play. Only lost a bit of control once b4 but managed to correct e slide without incident.

Lucky my ins is comprehensive so claim full ins. Ws help cover my full excess so now i only lose my 30% NCD. Dare not think what my premium wil b next renewal [knife] . i got abt 1/2 year to think how im going to solve that problem.

From what I have read, FF cars are more prone to snap oversteer than 4WD and RWD. FF cars will appear to understeer while conering. As you push harder and harder, it suddenly snaps into oversteer w/o any warning. I don't know how much true there is but snaping out of control is definitely something you want to avoid.

Usually fwd will understeer as long as there is good traction but if e road is slippery n yr rear wheels lose traction, then e rear wil slide out.

Maybe if i had a very good traction control system, i might hv been able to save it that day, but hard to say cos e road was slippery like it was covered in ice?

I attribute this to the tyres rather than the car... my feel is that Goodyears, while having good grip, is not as progressive as brands like Bridgestones...

Different models of tires behave differently. Not so much e brand/make of tire.

Some drivers prefer super grip all e way till suddenly breaking lose. Less experienced drivers do better with tires that give lots of warning b4 actually losing grip.

Driven optra sedan (pre fl) plenty of time before. heavy chassis and surefooted when cornering. don't think this car's suspension setup (stock setting) is the sort that will suddenly go haywire and cause sudden spinouts. I suspect got oil spill or sludge on that section.

There was definately something on e road to make it super slippery that day. Ive taken that corner fast, many times b4 without any problem.

Ya tks. I am safe n sound but sadly i cudnt save my car.

Im glad i was not in that taxi though. I might hv had a heart attack.

My ex-colleague (a driver0) and his sisters in the rear seat not aware that it took place

Ya im fine. Thanks.

Those yoko tires r good. E grip is better than even my xm1 b4 but prob was a combination of slippery road, shocks worn n alignment slightly out.

I was supposed to get new shocks n alignment done this week. I think if it was done i wud not hv skid so bad or at least i wud hv been able to regain control b4 crashing.

Anyway im getting e ws doing my repairs now to change my shocks n ty wil do e computerised 4 wheel alignment after that.

An ex-colleague enquired about car servcing only after he rear-ended another on a raining morning (he thought his brother's new car needs no servicing at all for a few years)

Different models of tires behave differently. Not so much e brand/make of tire.

Some drivers prefer super grip all e way till suddenly breaking lose. Less experienced drivers do better with tires that give lots of warning b4 actually losing grip.

I believe thats not very impressive/interesting experience to have

Ya ths. Im fine. Never even break a sweat but my car front damaged.

I suddenly felt e car lose traction n tried to correct by counter steering hard left but back stayed out to e left. I had no grip on both front wheels. Fethered throttle to try to get some grip cos i was getting closer to right guardrail but just cud not get any traction at all. Finally my front right contacted e right guardrail n slid along. Rail took out my front bumper, right then left headlights n radiator grill.

Ended up doing a 180 degree turn n was facing on-coming traffic when i came to a standstill.

All wil b changed new now. My left n right front fenders n bonnet got pushed back a little so ty wil b knocked back n painted. Lucky no internal damage except e front member above radiator got pushed back a little so ty need to pull it out a bit.

Now no car till sat. Sigh. Depending on kindness of others to ferry me around. Hahaha but also take BMW.

Good part is wil get 2 new headlights as e old ones e plastic lenses already starting to get cloudy.

Ive taken that bend hundreds of times n damm shiok to play. Only lost a bit of control once b4 but managed to correct e slide without incident.

Lucky my ins is comprehensive so claim full ins. Ws help cover my full excess so now i only lose my 30% NCD. Dare not think what my premium wil b next renewal [knife] . i got abt 1/2 year to think how im going to solve that problem.

Phew! Aiyah, for you money no issue lah. Sounds like a real scary experience, no traction, no control [sweatdrop] Something similiar happened to me once as well, this was at the slip road from SLE into Woodlands Ave 12, you know the long downhill streach followed by a pretty tight left?

At the bottom of that downhill part the road somehow always wet just before the corner, entered too fast, hit the wet patch, rear skidded out, I overcompensated, car snapped back violently, hit the curb & railing & somehow came to a stop on the extreme right lane of Ave 12 [grin]

Usually fwd will understeer as long as there is good traction but if e road is slippery n yr rear wheels lose traction, then e rear wil slide out.

Maybe if i had a very good traction control system, i might hv been able to save it that day, but hard to say cos e road was slippery like it was covered in ice?

OIC.

I agree. With traction control, you might not have lose control

An ex-colleague enquired about car servcing only after he rear-ended another on a raining morning (he thought his brother's new car needs no servicing at all for a few years)

Maybe he tot he drive a BATA car.

Buy And Throw Away.