Bluecar Neutral Newbie October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Just done a servicing with CL Garage @Blk 5035 Ang Mo Kio Ind. Park 2 #01-369. Let me share my lousy experience below:- Selected the Multilight OWS package which comes with Performance 3 in 1, and iridium spark plug. After the engine flush and old oil drained, when the mechanic was about to pour the new engine oil in, noticed that the bottle was already opened, sticker was very worned out, and the bottle was very dirty, my impression was the bottle was re-use and starts to wonder if the engine in it, was OWS or not... Then he told me everything was done. I asked the boss, Eric if he had added the injector cleaner and the velcosity stabliser, he said he will do it later, and I proceed to make payment. When we walked out, he told me I can drive off. I was puzzled and asked him what about the last 2 bottles? He told me already poured in, together with the engine oil. Which was b-------t as I was standing there the whole time and didn't see it! He then told me that he had pre-mixed with the engine oil to save time?!?! I asked him to show me where the bottles are and he can only show me the engine flush, he couldn't show me the other 2 bottles... I was very furious and walked away, thinking back I should have insisted on a refund on the last 2 bottles of addictives, but I guess it's too late now. Worst thing is I'm not sure what type of oil is in my engine now... Not cooking oil I hope! Felt really cheated and just wanna advice all bros to avoid this shop at all costs. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Lesson learnt, u pay peanut u get peanut service....u pay premium u get premium service.... why in the first place u never thought of going back to OEM? Just take it as a lesson learnt....this is why i never like to service outside of OEM....unless u know the shop well enough and a lot of good review from other car owners..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Lesson learnt, u pay peanut u get peanut service....u pay premium u get premium service.... why in the first place u never thought of going back to OEM? Just take it as a lesson learnt....this is why i never like to service outside of OEM....unless u know the shop well enough and a lot of good review from other car owners..... ya too many cowboy workshop around la, they dont know anything and act as if they can really do the job well. i strongly belive that u dont pay peanut for a good job. if u love your car, and want it to live longer, please go to good workshop or oem. but seriously nowadays oem also half past 6, and charge too high. pm if you are need some good ws, i have some on hand, but they charge much higher compare to others, as they are very established Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Lesson learnt, u pay peanut u get peanut service....u pay premium u get premium service.... why in the first place u never thought of going back to OEM? Just take it as a lesson learnt....this is why i never like to service outside of OEM....unless u know the shop well enough and a lot of good review from other car owners..... I disagree bro. You pay peanuts might not get peanut service(JB). You pay premium also might not get premium service(AD). I think it's all about doing your research. If you spend some time surfing MCF or your brand forums, you can find alot of information that is highly useful. Of course, everything is taken with a pinch of salt. But if a WS comes highly recommended from many independent bros, then I would say that chances are that it's a relatively good WS. On top of that, pricing wise, the labour my mech charges to do an oil and filter change is only $20. Coupled with a good EO and OEM filter, the cost is around $65-75. On top of that, you can seek advice on whatever problems you are having and get an independent opinion before venturing to a major WS. Parts wise, if you're willing to spend some time calling up various scrapyards, you can probably find a working replacement part at a cheap price. I'm talking about 70% off the original 'recon' parts that WS offers. If you have the moolah, go original from Stockist/AD and get your regular trusted mech to fix up for you. Stockist preferred. Just my personal opinion from being a greenhorn getting chopped to what I consider myself now, relatively WS savvy. I'm still willing to pay a premium to my regular WS to do parts change and stuff and I only allow 1 trusted mech from that WS to do my stuff as they have parts that might need to be used during the change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Side note: Noting that TS is a novice, I would suggest that he felt so shortchanged that he decided to post his negative review in an effort to warn MCFers to avoid this WS. On the other hand, it could also be a nearby competitor attempting to discredit the said WS. It's up to your discretion to decide which. Salt salt salt!! Most 'packages' from WS are nonsense imo anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 wah piangs.... all i can say to TS is.... bloody dumb incident sia... 1st see the bottle like that should make noise liao... and when the fcuker said poured together with the engine oil should ALSO make noise liao... wtf pay $$$ and then regret?.... well whenever i make a lousy or useless buy, i usually just blame myself.... but do note that TS is probably a novice new car owner... better luck next time bah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 well...OWS as most know is a .... very obviously the oil is probably something even more inferior than c@rlube ...good luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Well, since it already happened, no point crying over spilt milk is there? If TS is genuine, thanks for the warning dude. Better luck next time...No! Better do some research first next time, don't leave it to luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fresh Clutched October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 school fees. just like mahjong is life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 Premix with EO? Injector cleaner is supposed to pour into petrol tank! If he pour into EO, you better ask him to change oil for you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 well...OWS as most know is a .... very obviously the oil is probably something even more inferior than c@rlube ...good luck OWS......I think its the marketing that makes it famous, not the product.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear October 5, 2010 Share October 5, 2010 if you are worried, go for another EO change again. lesson learnt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Just done a servicing with CL Garage @Blk 5035 Ang Mo Kio Ind. Park 2 #01-369. Let me share my lousy experience below:- Selected the Multilight OWS package which comes with Performance 3 in 1, and iridium spark plug. After the engine flush and old oil drained, when the mechanic was about to pour the new engine oil in, noticed that the bottle was already opened, sticker was very worned out, and the bottle was very dirty, my impression was the bottle was re-use and starts to wonder if the engine in it, was OWS or not... Then he told me everything was done. I asked the boss, Eric if he had added the injector cleaner and the velcosity stabliser, he said he will do it later, and I proceed to make payment. When we walked out, he told me I can drive off. I was puzzled and asked him what about the last 2 bottles? He told me already poured in, together with the engine oil. Which was b-------t as I was standing there the whole time and didn't see it! He then told me that he had pre-mixed with the engine oil to save time?!?! I asked him to show me where the bottles are and he can only show me the engine flush, he couldn't show me the other 2 bottles... I was very furious and walked away, thinking back I should have insisted on a refund on the last 2 bottles of addictives, but I guess it's too late now. Worst thing is I'm not sure what type of oil is in my engine now... Not cooking oil I hope! Felt really cheated and just wanna advice all bros to avoid this shop at all costs. Why you do not enjoy DIY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Lesson learnt, u pay peanut u get peanut service....u pay premium u get premium service.... why in the first place u never thought of going back to OEM? Just take it as a lesson learnt....this is why i never like to service outside of OEM....unless u know the shop well enough and a lot of good review from other car owners..... Was there mention he paid with peanuts? Was there mention there was peanut in the service? I believe he is new to car servicing, so just pay happily for any servicing The charges may not be cheap, but the service is too obviously disorderly He need to learn DIY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Was there mention he paid with peanuts? Was there mention there was peanut in the service? I believe he is new to car servicing, so just pay happily for any servicing The charges may not be cheap, but the service is too obviously disorderly He need to learn DIY FYI, it's not so straight forward for DIY....yes, u can dump your engine oil from the engine but where are u going to dispose it....it's illegal if u suka suka dispose your engine oil as this will cause pollution. they usually collect it altogather and dispose the used engine oil to some recycling company or some collection where they recycle it to something else..... if u choose to do it outside of OEM, likelihood is u want cheap and good....peanut price has no definition how much he is paying but just that he wants an alternate route...too bad lor, that's all i can say....bad luck for him on going to substandard workshop.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 FYI, it's not so straight forward for DIY....yes, u can dump your engine oil from the engine but where are u going to dispose it....it's illegal if u suka suka dispose your engine oil as this will cause pollution. they usually collect it altogather and dispose the used engine oil to some recycling company or some collection where they recycle it to something else..... if u choose to do it outside of OEM, likelihood is u want cheap and good....peanut price has no definition how much he is paying but just that he wants an alternate route...too bad lor, that's all i can say....bad luck for him on going to substandard workshop.... Were they just coincidence that peanut and pollution have got 'p' as first letter, or just your assumption only? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nautilus 2nd Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 FYI, it's not so straight forward for DIY....yes, u can dump your engine oil from the engine but where are u going to dispose it....it's illegal if u suka suka dispose your engine oil as this will cause pollution. they usually collect it altogather and dispose the used engine oil to some recycling company or some collection where they recycle it to something else..... if u choose to do it outside of OEM, likelihood is u want cheap and good....peanut price has no definition how much he is paying but just that he wants an alternate route...too bad lor, that's all i can say....bad luck for him on going to substandard workshop.... Too add on, you need the proper gear like gloves and tray to prevent touching the used oil. Used oil is known to be carcinogenic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear October 7, 2010 Share October 7, 2010 Too add on, you need the proper gear like gloves and tray to prevent touching the used oil. Used oil is known to be carcinogenic. Concrete do emit a carcinogenic gas, radon. So cancer more popular among those living/working in modern concrete buildings. I belive touching used engine oil even with bare hands less harmful that this ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...