How's life working in offshore bank?

Versatile

i dont mean to scare you but

1. as a IT nobody, you will be the first to be outsourced when sh1t hits the fan.

2. when the system crash and vendors starts finger pointing to asset owner, you will be the first to kena. this will be especially true if you are the odd one out amongst the foreign trash.

3. its a nice place to work if you can suckup and curry favor anyone including the EVP secretary home notebook that requires your assistance.

4. forget about bonus, its given the bonus is usually higher than regular IT sweatshop in SGP.

5. for those offshore data centre, they are not in town area, usually in changi and serangoon north or other ulu place. you drive? if yes, you high up enough to get free season parking?

6. like what forumer said, if you are in for adventure and you are single, go for it. else stay clear, its not THE job that matters, it is the other jobs that makes you passive income that matters.

if you can tell everyone how much they are willing to pay you, then maybe can tell if it is worth it.

Banking environment is generally quite tough but once you are in it, it's easy to move around within the industry across different banks.

When crisis came like the last one in 2008, those pple who are in non key positions or bad relations with their bosses are potential targets to be let go.

Internally for most banks, the IT dept will charge the business users on the services provided to them, so actually it is a P&L centre.

But i think the working hours and the responsibility is much more higher. Cannot imagine myself working in wee hours. However, don't you ageed with me that most IS/IT department are cost centre to them? If encounter any financial crisis or turnmoil, IT/IS staffs will be the one to be ask to go?

KNN, TS, you want your cake and eat it? haha

cannot lah.

people double your bonus, of course you have to work harder and longer hours under more stress.

abo then?

Ask Ted who is in the banking industry, KNS 8 mths bonus is just an regular good year.

4mths is total disaster.

As per the subject, anyone working in offshore bank? How is it compare local banks? How about working hrs?

I'm talking about IS related job. Got a call yesterday from head hunter that they are offering me twice the bonus my current company is offering if i successfully selected by them.

im still in office at this hour, what do you think?

its credit suisse.

How come you know? I suspect is CS too as i have 1 apps team member got head hunted by them. And the reason he left is because they pay him higher!

And yes, he's a FT.

Edited by Versatile

KNN, TS, you want your cake and eat it? haha

cannot lah.

people double your bonus, of course you have to work harder and longer hours under more stress.

abo then?

Ask Ted who is in the banking industry, KNS 8 mths bonus is just an regular good year.

4mths is total disaster.

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Sorry lah, i not senior management. A 4 month is good enough for a exec role like me. I once had 6 months for good year as just a IS staff.

:wub:

But i think the working hours and the responsibility is much more higher. Cannot imagine myself working in wee hours. However, don't you ageed with me that most IS/IT department are cost centre to them? If encounter any financial crisis or turnmoil, IT/IS staffs will be the one to be ask to go?

Working in wee hrs same as if u r working shift work lor. If u can work shift work, shld not be a problem working in wee hrs. [rolleyes]

Edited by 13177

There this mysterious building, address at 1 Serangoon North Avenue 6, that do not have any signs that indicate the name of the company. The gate is highly secure, seems like for car to enter, neet to by pass a few layer of security. The wall also machiam like a mini version of changi prison. So far the very few employess that enter and exit are FT.. Suspect this building to be a one of those off shore bank..

Don't think I like this type of working environment, too controlled..

Wht is the reason behind for high security? [:/]

I did a search.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_banks...#Offshore_banks

Only some i heard before like China Construction, Credit Sussie, CIMB and misc.

If the banks here don't own a full banking license, then they can be termed as offshore banks...they offer only limited financial services, mainly for corporate or HNWIs...

I used to work in at one - pay is good but security is not - they can easily decide to close shop and head elsewhere in search of greener pastures...

Working in wee hrs same as if u r working shift work lor. If u can work shift work, shld not be a problem working in wee hrs. [rolleyes]

For the last 5 years, i will never consider any shift work. So i don't think i will be able to adapt to it.. [wave]

I can understand if don't want shift work.

But CS want to headhunt you, you don't want to go cos scared to work harder and later?

My view is the same as throttle's.

Well, guess LHL was right about the changing attitudes of our workers, less hungry.

Actually, that is my concern. I can't stand working with FTs. My current workplace don't even have a single FT. Well, at least for my department..

You have to open your "eyesight".

There is a global search for talent.

Compete on the global scene, you get paid global pay.

In order to do that you must be able to work with people from all nationalities, you can have your prejudices, but you must be open to working with them.

If you can't, then you be swimming in the local pond, not in the regional sea or global ocean.

I can understand if don't want shift work.

But CS want to headhunt you, you don't want to go cos scared to work harder and later?

My view is the same as throttle's.

Well, guess LHL was right about the changing attitudes of our workers, less hungry.

I'm not scared of work harder and later lah. It's about shift work that i don't think i can adapt. I'm on 24/7 now but i hardly got call up anyway.

I need my lifeeeeeeeeee.

Have U gone for the selection / interview? If U have the time, why not spare the time and go for the 1st interview to "feel" first and then decide?

ya man, this is just another recruitment agency posing as headhunter to upsell to candidates on filling up positions that have been emptied likely due to better job prospect for the bugger who left. you are likely to go in and clean up the mess and pickup sh1t from the four corners of the room.

TS, i say stay put in your current job lah. then get other sidelines to increase your wealth instead of relying on a income job to sustain living left alone talking about upping the networth.