Gender Equality? *yawn*

Superyandao

The Loyal Wife

There was a man who had worked all of his life, had saved all of his money, and was a real miser when it came to his money.

Just before he died, he said to his wife, 'When I die, I want you to take

all my money and put it in the casket with me. I want to take my money to the 'after-life' with me.'

And so he got his wife to promise him with all of her heart that when he

died, she would put all of the money in the casket with him.

Well, he died . . .

He was stretched out in the casket, his wife was sitting there in black, and her friend was sitting next to her. When they finished the ceremony, just before the undertakers got ready to close the casket, the wife said, 'Wait, just a minute!'

She had a box with her, she came over with the box and put it in the casket.

Then the undertakers locked the casket down, and they rolled it away.

Her friend said, 'I know you weren't fool enough to put all that money in there in the casket with your husband.'

The loyal wife replied 'Listen, I can't go back on my word. I promised him that I was going to put that money in that casket with him.'

'You mean to tell me you put that money in the casket with him !!! ?'

'I sure did' said the wife. 'I got it all together, put it into my account

and wrote him a cheque. If he can cash it, he can spend it.'

Moral of the story: *Women are cleverer than Men*

Send this to a clever women you know, or a man with a good sense of humor.

I just did.

another old email i read through.. :D

It kept me wondering for so long. The woman charter is set up god knows which year was to protect the rights and ensure the rights of a woman against unfairness but throughout time our world undergo such drastic change and woman are beginning to take up more important roles not to mention benefits , isn't it time to have the woman charter alter ??????? I mean , woman aint as helpless and weak like in the past ????? Hmmmmm what you think guys??? :huh:

Problem is, there are still majority (I think so!) of women that need such additional protection. Especially those lower-income and lower-educated types. Or traditional, patriarchal families where the (house)wives are responsible for cooking, cleaning and child-rearing, and the men don't chip in except with paycheck.

Don't need to look back so far. Even the generation before us, e.g. your parents, or your uncles and aunts, may still follow the above family arrangements.

And even nowadays, among lower-educated people, we can find this type of family structure. Very traditional outlook.

Edited by Sosaria

i dun believe in it until the day we can all sit topless next to each other on the beach and say hi...

[:p]

No... It's only equality when we can all sit topless on a beach and men can talk to women while looking at their faces without glancing down. That's equality. Haha.

The females I know are mostly quite well educated and more than able to take care of themselves. I don't deny there may still be women in certain social stratas that still need "protection", but WC should be tweaked so that only women who meet certain criteria are eligible for it.

Another question I have is that in a truly un-sexist society, man can stay home to look after the kids while the woman go out to work. So in this scenario, does the WC provide any protection for the house-husband?

...Another question I have is that in a truly un-sexist society, man can stay home to look after the kids while the woman go out to work. So in this scenario, does the WC provide any protection for the house-husband?

Exactly, this is the problem that is faced by the more modern, "involved" fathers, who take an active part in sharing household duties. Female colleagues who take time off, urgent leave, or long unpaid leave to attend to children's matters hardly raises eyebrows.

But father who wants to take child MC (even though it's allowed these days) to look after the child at home still attracts suspicion and disbelief.

Thats why some ladies take advantage.

u know i ever gto a female colleague who is the sort whom i never know ever came close to dating or even get married.

during one of the conversation when we talk about some lady getting divorced and not asking for alimony, she remarked that lady stupid. should have ask for at least $1 so that in futre if want to ask for more alimony there is still a choice. that by not asking for alimony now, she is compromising her future rights.

now i am entirely not impressed that such a street smart way of thinking came from a lady who is not even close to having a relationship and marriage. this charter only serves to non-deserving woman more greedy.

That's why I think WC should be flushed down the WC and replaced with a "Family Charter".

IMHO, marriage is something 2 adults should enter into with open eyes. If in doubt, have a pre-nup (unfortunately this silly country don't recognize pre-nup)

The main victims of a divorce are the children. The aim of a "Family Charter" should be to ensure that neither father or mother shirk their responsibilities towards their kids. They should also do away with outdated assumptions that woman is the primary caregiver in a family so they get custody by default.

That's why I think WC should be flushed down the WC and replaced with a "Family Charter".

IMHO, marriage is something 2 adults should enter into with open eyes. If in doubt, have a pre-nup (unfortunately this silly country don't recognize pre-nup)

The main victims of a divorce are the children. The aim of a "Family Charter" should be to ensure that neither father or mother shirk their responsibilities towards their kids. They should also do away with outdated assumptions that woman is the primary caregiver in a family so they get custody by default.

agree wholeheartedly. i find the WC not keeping up with the times and prone to exploitation by woman. the ex-colleague i talk about is a stark reminder that many woman are waiting to exploit and pounce on this WC loophole. she is not even close to settling down yet have already known how to get herself a good deal in case she gets marrried and then divorced.

Women in government uniform services should also take male ippt standard if they want equality... Pui... Same pay but womens standard...

I think those of us who are married and have a wife who's a working executive/professional would realise that there really is a "pay gap" between males and females. Especially if the wife has the same level of academic qualifications as the husband, the gap is quite noticeable.

To be fair though, the problem is not too bad for women working in the private sector, especially foreign MNC or finance/banking - as gender equality is more accepted in foreign (western) countries. And private companies emphasize more on performance anyway, when it comes to deciding pay.

It irritates me that wife is being underpaid because of her gender, when she could potentially bring in more cash for the family. I don't quite care whether males do NS extra 2 years, or not, or whether women have to bear children, wear pads, wear bras, etc. - end of the day, it's all in one family. One member earning less because of gender will also affect you, like it or not. There is no "my money", "your money" (although to be fair, I know some married couples still have this mentality).

Tell ur wife to join civil service with majority male colleagues... Sure promote faster den the males n same pay... U r lucky tt ur money not ur wife money n it's a whole... Not many r so fortunate as u. Many wives earns decent or more but do not want to contribute much。

Problem is, there are still majority (I think so!) of women that need such additional protection. Especially those lower-income and lower-educated types. Or traditional, patriarchal families where the (house)wives are responsible for cooking, cleaning and child-rearing, and the men don't chip in except with paycheck.

Don't need to look back so far. Even the generation before us, e.g. your parents, or your uncles and aunts, may still follow the above family arrangements.

And even nowadays, among lower-educated people, we can find this type of family structure. Very traditional outlook.

nwadays even wife is educated, earns a good income expects the husband to pay for almost all expenses, help to look aft kids do house work where the wife doesn't knows hw to iron clothes n cooks..Dr fool... U wants equality?? Walk ard with top naked lor@yucks@

try putting pad every month for 7days ++ for 30++years.. [rifle]

I have ask 3 ladies this question before, u prefer to be a man or lady? Man need to serve NS 2.5 yrs, decades of ICT, IPPT, RT, IPT or be a lady with mthly menses and may get pregnant? All tell me they rather be a lady.... Haha

nwadays even wife is educated, earns a good income expects the husband to pay for almost all expenses, help to look aft kids do house work where the wife doesn't knows hw to iron clothes n cooks..Dr fool... U wants equality?? Walk ard with top naked lor@yucks@

Ur quotation sounds v familiar & its like referring to my life there bro.. [laugh] But lucky my wife still got auto pilot some times.. if not ah... bank super duper dry liao! [bigcry]

No... It's only equality when we can all sit topless on a beach and men can talk to women while looking at their faces without glancing down. That's equality. Haha.

no no no..... please refer to this scenario.....

this is the perfect scenario and it suits your nick perfectly

Edited by Ngck

Ur quotation sounds v familiar & its like referring to my life there bro.. [laugh] But lucky my wife still got auto pilot some times.. if not ah... bank super duper dry liao! [bigcry]

U lucky lor... My wife WWI airplane... No auto mode... Sianz...

no no no..... please refer to this scenario.....

this is the perfect scenario and it suits your nick perfectly

Thumbs up