Different between your time and your Dad's time.

Jamstart

my nephew do. you want to trade card huh?? -_-

my time is Magic: the gathering Ice Age

Sama sama.

Though got revised and beta.

Nowadays got 20000 different editions...

Ai !!!

U & Mr. Oil duno which one better.

Come to Rome, just do what the romans do rah.

Why u say ppl

stupid

Edited by Moonstar

Ai !!!

Since both of you share so little common views with fellow MCFers, why still stick around. [shakehead]

Worst still....doing "pot calling the kettle black" all over the place. [hur]

Really thick skin and beh piaz say to the max!!! [thumbsdown]

no, no, no.... you can't say that [shakehead]

we allow different voices and views, if all the like minded gather together, there won't be any improvement or progress in the car (& tkss) community [scholar]

Ai !!!

Since both of you share so little common views with fellow MCFers, why still stick around. [shakehead]

Worst still....doing "pot calling the kettle black" all over the place. [hur]

Really thick skin and beh piaz say to the max!!! [thumbsdown]

Disagree.

Although my views differ from gearoil and odc, I will however, defend their right to their views.

If everyone has the same views and thoughts, this would be a very boring world and forum...

Sheep....

"I want to suggest to you that citizens of free societies, democracies, do not preserve their freedom by pussyfooting around their fellow-citizen's opinions, even their most cherished beliefs. In free societies, you must have the free play of ideas. There must be argument, and it must be impassioned and untrammeled. A free society is not calm and eventless place - that is the kind of static, dead society dictators try to create. Free societies are dynamic, noisy, turbulent, and full of radical disagreements. Skepticism and freedom are indissolubly linked; and it is the skepticism of journalists, their show-me, prove-it unwillingness to be impressed, that is perhaps their most important contribution to the freedom of the free world. It is the disrespect of journalists-for power, for orthodoxies, for party lines, for ideologies, for vanity, for arrogance, for folly, for pretension, for corruption, for stupidity, maybe even for editors-that I would like to celebrate...and that I urge you all, in freedom's name, to preserve."

i think my parents bought their 3rm for 8k only [rolleyes]

Depending on area mah, near central ones are more expensive. Corner ones got better price too.

my dad bought his new 3 rm flat for 13k. Then upgraded to a 5 rm a few years later at 80k. He was making about 4k then. That was mid 80's.

nOW, a guy around my dad's age then also make about 4k..... but the same 5rm is now 550k. (at least at my area).

my dad was able to pay off the loan for the 5rm in 5 yrs (abit siong lah) and then free up funds for a car. Not possible in Singapore today.

Edited by Chrispie

But But But.......many of thier kind have cum and gone.

Thier turn will cum very soon.

Disagree.

Although my views differ from gearoil and odc, I will however, defend their right to their views.

If everyone has the same views and thoughts, this would be a very boring world and forum...

Sheep....

"I want to suggest to you that citizens of free societies, democracies, do not preserve their freedom by pussyfooting around their fellow-citizen's opinions, even their most cherished beliefs. In free societies, you must have the free play of ideas. There must be argument, and it must be impassioned and untrammeled. A free society is not calm and eventless place - that is the kind of static, dead society dictators try to create. Free societies are dynamic, noisy, turbulent, and full of radical disagreements. Skepticism and freedom are indissolubly linked; and it is the skepticism of journalists, their show-me, prove-it unwillingness to be impressed, that is perhaps their most important contribution to the freedom of the free world. It is the disrespect of journalists-for power, for orthodoxies, for party lines, for ideologies, for vanity, for arrogance, for folly, for pretension, for corruption, for stupidity, maybe even for editors-that I would like to celebrate...and that I urge you all, in freedom's name, to preserve."

Lets see who gets KO first. Oil or ODC. [laugh]

no, no, no.... you can't say that [shakehead]

we allow different voices and views, if all the like minded gather together, there won't be any improvement or progress in the car (& tkss) community [scholar]

Let's compare a typical engineer's job in those days vs. today [laugh]

In those days, any technical problem for engineering to solve, is written on memo to the relevant engineering dept's head. Memo is hard copy and delivered to his inbox (physical one!). Inbox of busy people piled high with papers and files. But no one expects instant reply, as delivering the memo itself may take 1 day even within the company.

The problem is carefully examined, discussed, proposals are made, usually over several meetings with minutes recorded. Finally, the accepted technical solution is documented in a memo in response to the initial enquiry. Queries and replies are all documented in hard copy and faithfully archived, and for years later available for reference (all these memos had official reference numbers, which are issued by the dept head's secretary).

Overall, the process can take couple of days (and that's fast!) to weeks. And yet, this was tolerable because the whole world functioned at this pace. People had a 9-to-5 routine because nobody expects instant answers and solutions.

Engineers invented PC. PC killed Engineers + All clerical personals.

Anything that is routine or knowledge based work, Engineers will crack their head to automate it. You will find such things less often in Accountancy or law as they are less technology savvy. No doubt you can hire some consultant to automate but they dun understand things inside out. Thats why Engineers invented PC, PC killed Engineers.

Cost of living definately higher than what our pay can match up.

But.......

Out current generation want this want that. Want cars, want live in cbd, central area. Wan 4 room flat min. Or condo or best landed..

Want enjoy life. wan2 go clubbing once a week. Nice restaurant every week. Watch movies once a week. Of coz money no enough. Wan2 buy house cheap and sell expensive. It's always me me me. Not much self sacrifc

Cost of living definately higher than what our pay can match up.

But.......

Out current generation want this want that. Want cars, want live in cbd, central area. Wan 4 room flat min. Or condo or best landed..

Want enjoy life. wan2 go clubbing once a week. Nice restaurant every week. Watch movies once a week. Of coz money no enough. Wan2 buy house cheap and sell expensive. It's always me me me. Not much self sacrifc

Sacrifice for what?

Sacrifice so that FT can enjoy life??

Ok You sacrifice first. [laugh]

want if we can go back to 20ct or 50ct meepok how nice... 5k-10k HDB also not bad.....

at the same time the rate for SGD : RMB will be 5 : 1 and not the current 1 : 5....

how nice... then the nearest holiday a commoner like me can go malaysia.. thailand too expensive..... then i no need always bring wifey go overseas.... lol

and china guys will be coming to our ktvs to bonk our sg ladies instead of us going china to bonk their ladies....

what a nice world......... :ph34r:

Edited by Galantspeedz

want if we can go back to 20ct or 50ct meepok how nice... 5k-10k HDB also not bad.....

at the same time the rate for SGD : RMB will be 5 : 1 and not the current 1 : 5....

how nice... then the nearest holiday a commoner like me can go malaysia.. thailand too expensive..... then i no need always bring wifey go overseas.... lol

Like tat no ps3 no mcf liao

all jio 1 day b4 play gorli next day n put per ki also like tat lol

I always hear and read that standard of living cost now is higher and can't afford to have kids blah blah blah.

Well, if you were to look at it, our salary now is defintely much higher than last time.

If last time parents or even grandparents can afford to have 3 to 12 kids, why are we complaining even we have only one?

What is your take?

This is an opened discussion, all ideas and comments are welcome. [rolleyes]

Let me share my 2 cents and lets take the best decade for many (probably 80-90).

Then, a manager would be drawing no less than 4-5 K besides the perks (such as company's car etc) due to them.

General staff could easily earn between 750 - 1.8k. I think median salary then was 1k to 1.5k. If I remember correctly, the cabinet ministers were earning no more than 15k per month except probably for the PM in the 70s-early 80s.

HDB cost in early 80 for 4 room about 42 - 60k and 5 room about 70-80K. CPF contribution during these period between 40%-50% (50/50 employer / employee). Hence, one's CPF monthly contribution of $2k was no big deal.

Many could pay off mortgage immediately upon getting a 4 room flat (waiting time then was approx. 4 years if not more) or no more than 20 years and 5 year settlement was fairly common.

Cost of food, transportation, education etc.. were well within the means of many average Singaporeans.

Based on today's cost of living (standard of living (controversial) is not that much different if not for the internet era) the same manager today should be earning no less than 4 times the 4-5K i.e. between 16K to 20K while the general staff should be earning approx. 3-4k. However, this is not happening although, HDB flats had increased by as much as 4 times (if not more) what it used to be. Food, transportation, education costs has inflated accordingly but wages / remuneration has not gone in proportion with the living costs for many Singaporeans except for the gahment - especially MPs and ministers as well as some professionals and some in business.

Therefore, while it may be true that today's wages for some may have been higher than their previous counterparts in terms of $$ value, many are not actually enjoying such privilege. Matter of fact, some are getting much less than what their counterparts used to earn. For e.g., it is fairly common to know a supervisor or manager earning no more than 3-4K today and this is grossly underpaid if you were to take today's cost of living into account.

Hence, many older Singaporeans who are in retirement or may be going into retirement may have to consider easing off the burden of their younger ones by not expecting them to contribute to their parents as they may have done.

The world has changed. So too has the mindset of the gahment and many employers. Many are too obsessed with surplus and profits at the expense of the ordinary man.

Hence, one has to learn to accept the changes and do their best to remain resilient and be as independent as possible if one doesn't wish to be left behind in the ever changing world.

Good luck to all and MERRY CHRISTMAS!! [wave]

Like tat no ps3 no mcf liao

all jio 1 day b4 play gorli next day n put per ki also like tat lol

wrong.... you must go be xiao di.. or go pull bullock cart as a living... your wife have to stay at home and sew clothes or work as maid... [laugh]