Ahtong 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 I used to like prowling because you have company and time flies faster. Later I discovered that sentry is nice if you want to contemplate. You also won't work up a sweat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 I used to like prowling because you have company and time flies faster. Later I discovered that sentry is nice if you want to contemplate. You also won't work up a sweat SD can....... Just sit there and write the Station Diary and lsiten to teklephone . Come rain or shine, inside office...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Nowadays, handfones are equipped with radio. Do sentry can turn ON the loud speaker function and listen. (nt too loud of coz) The quiet moments give u the opportunity to think and ponder issues which is lurking in your mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Never did sentry/prowler before.. I've only ever done guard 2IC and that's the best job ever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Author Share December 22, 2010 The only bad thing about sentry is when the guard com's head has disappeared below the window and you wonder what's that rustling behind you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 The only bad thing about sentry is when the guard com's head has disappeared below the window and you wonder what's that rustling behind you. i dun sleep when I am on Guard com duty. Just walk around, check on the prowlers. Or drink coffee with BOS, DO... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Those deployed for Sentry before is it common to sleep while on duty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 You get to sleep when its not your shift, that's the common practice at my camp previously.... got bunk and beds even, shiok. But we usually have maccas party, so everyone awake, talking c--k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 i dun sleep when I am on Guard com duty. Just walk around, check on the prowlers. Or drink coffee with BOS, DO... I used to sleep in bunk all day when doing Guard com.....and ask the guards look for me if anything urgent. Well...got once I got heavy knocks on my bunk door....its was the DO...who is also the RSM.... Guess what he wants........ "I got a chicken..come lets go to the mess and have a feast!" Hehe...by the way I ORD with hair fringe touch chin and cover my ears....smoking and drink kaki with RSM and CO then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Those deployed for Sentry before is it common to sleep while on duty I did fell asleep while doing sentry duty standing, especially when it is the second round. Guard comm also slept. Only jolt up when body slanted one side and hit the wall of the sentry hut. Another camp mate better, fell asleep while doing sentry, DO stood in front of him and suffed a lighted cigarette into his mouth and he was puffing away in sleeping mode. And need not to say more, next thing was Turn out and Turn out for the rest of the night. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 my duty only night time. from 530pm to next morning 7am or something like that. Then the RPs will take over. I hate the guard mounting parade which the 2I/C needs to go to. very stress. in the middle of parade square during flag lowering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 my duty only night time. from 530pm to next morning 7am or something like that. Then the RPs will take over. I hate the guard mounting parade which the 2I/C needs to go to. very stress. in the middle of parade square during flag lowering. Hehe...I kena 7 extras for things NOT MY FAULT AT ALL in the 3 months counting down to ORD. So my RSM also know I damn sians doing guard com and he just closed one eye on me. But operational wise....my team is outstanding.....and we go for real ops... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 i dun sleep when I am on Guard com duty. Just walk around, check on the prowlers. Or drink coffee with BOS, DO... hmmmm................. carrying favour hor .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 hmmmm................. carrying favour hor .... keep your friends close, keep your enemies closer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 sentry 1 hr is ok but 2 hrs will be very boring. normally i try to do 1 hr sentry and switch prowling with the other guy when they do 2nd round. sentry is best for daytime cos u wont sweat as much but then u need to check cars and opening of gates. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Not sure how it is today, but waaaaaaaaay back in my BMT days, I thought I was lucky to get sentry instead of prowler at Nee Soon Camp.... except when it is past midnight, gate is locked and everybody is out of sight, including the guard com... that's when it gets terrifying, because I keep hearing rustling noises everywhere and because of the sleepiness, keep imagining seeing things around me... fortunately it was BEFORE the whole possession/exorcism s--t, but that's another story... And way back when my unit first moved to Lim Chu Kang, prowler duty used to be one round only, which is very comfy and can chill out at the vending machine for 30 mins minimum... then it became 2 rounds and wah lao, the prowlers practically have to run to complete on time... days were the those... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 i dun sleep when I am on Guard com duty. Just walk around, check on the prowlers. Or drink coffee with BOS, DO... Why drink coffee? Should drink milk with them, make them sleepy mah . . . wah rao eehhh. I used to take cover when prowling but once did sentry and conked out due to illness . . . was rushed to Safti medical centre and sleep there overnight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 I used to sleep in bunk all day when doing Guard com.....and ask the guards look for me if anything urgent. Well...got once I got heavy knocks on my bunk door....its was the DO...who is also the RSM.... Guess what he wants........ "I got a chicken..come lets go to the mess and have a feast!" Hehe...by the way I ORD with hair fringe touch chin and cover my ears....smoking and drink kaki with RSM and CO then. you trying to tell us you no discipline or you very gam with the power that matter? lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...