Starian Clutched February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 L plate got people cut ,P plate people also will cut one la. even u drop the yellow and orange underwear liao also people will cut. i just dont know why singaporeans v arrogant when driving. can let people 'win' once. in aust, if they see u signal half car length infront of them, they will slow down or even brake for u to filter. sorry for ranting. met a few anal driver this morning. become there are some who give way and the car who signal suddenly hazard light and stop there. you like it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xzaviour Clutched February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 i seriously doubt that an experience driver will be able to help a fresh P plate driver..... the moment they obtain they license (generally but not all...) they regard them self as seasoned driver liao..... every REAL seasoned driver know that most technique taught by those instructor would not be applicable in real life driving, yet fresh P plate driver will always argued that the common way is wrong whereby the instructor is ABSOLUTELY RIGHT. take for example when u are reaching a junction in 5th gear, downshift 1 gear by 1 gear till neutral before standstill, they moment the vehicle stop, engaged gear 1 and clutch in all the way till green light shown.... this is absolutely nonsense to me...... I am referring to the examples that TS has wrote, in terms of filtering lanes or waiting for traffic to clear before making a turn. Sometimes, its a confidence issue, sometimes its not, so a person with reasonable driving experience might be able to give his views on it. Lastly, some drivers just have no patience when on the road, nothing much we can do about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 Because, the school teaches students to drive slow. You need to remember, in everyday driving, being slow doesn't mean being safe. Secondly, the school never teach students how to control a vehicle at higher speed. So to me, I dont think that school ever really taught driving to anyone. Third, its your teacher good enough? How can one teacher be good teacher if that they follow the book? Just like in the corporate world, no matter how many "As" you got in your exams, if that you cannot adapt, you will have no place in the corporate jungle. Fourth, they only mention big vehicles need bigger radius however as this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 Because, the school teaches students to drive slow. You need to remember, in everyday driving, being slow doesn't mean being safe. Secondly, the school never teach students how to control a vehicle at higher speed. So to me, I dont think that school ever really taught driving to anyone. Third, its your teacher good enough? How can one teacher be good teacher if that they follow the book? Just like in the corporate world, no matter how many "As" you got in your exams, if that you cannot adapt, you will have no place in the corporate jungle. Fourth, they only mention big vehicles need bigger radius however as this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antony Neutral Newbie February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 (edited) i was once told by the my driving school teacher better to stay clear of L plate cars.. coz u will never know what stunt will come out and these impatient and so called experienced driver are worse still rushing the learner driver, be prepared once the learner driver choot stunt like roll back or jam break and theyll know what leaner driver are capable of doing. last time while during my lesson i once got horned 3 times in once by an idiot driver while letting people cross the road on the designated zebra crossing... speechless.. Edited February 25, 2011 by Antony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 Please don't feel so bad, those drivers treat OPC car owners the same. They will tailgate, immediately switch to the next lane the moment you tab your brake ( which is not bad because you won't have to worry they will rear end you ), high beam, horn, cut in front without signal, etc; I am a learner driver and i have noticed that when learning to drive on public roads, those experienced drivers are quite impatient with us. For example, when slowing down to enter filter lanes, those drivers start to cut in front of us and tailgating us and some even honk at us when we are waiting for the traffic to clear to make a turn. I hope that those experienced drivers can understand that we are inexperienced and needs more time to react and please be more patient with us and please do not tailgate us, especially when stopping on slopes as our car may start to roll backwards when moving off. BTW, you were once a learner driver too, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Justincjt Neutral Newbie February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 haha showing some grace goes a long way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dojon 1st Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 Sorry but to say I learn that time didn't go as slow as what I have been seeing on the roads nowadays... Especially at Ubi, the U-turn at Carmart there, Wah... they can take the whole green arrow to make 1 bloody U-turn... I mean yes... you should turn slowly but also when you are too slow you are obstructing the traffic and hence got points when test also ma... learn to drive normally and not too cautiously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Youth92 2nd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 I am currently in the same situation as TS, learner driver. Of course there are bound to be many impatient licensed drivers out there, but I feel it's rather how they react to us that makes them a nice person or not. Clever ones will not stay too close behind me when stopping on a slope. Clever ones will straight away filter to another lane to overtake me. But, they might be clever but not necessarily nice. Nice ones are those who will not look back at me. Not nice ones are the ones who will show me the Fcuked up face after over-taking me. Honestly, I think some L plate drivers are driving tad too slow. Even I over-take them when it's clear. But also not exceeding the speed limit of 50-55 km/h of course. And about what TS said at the junction, it's not about why we are too slow to go, it's a matter of confidence. Like 1 of the bros said out there. As long as our lane is clear, we can go out. But 1 annoying part is at pedestrian crossing. We are TOLD to stop and wait for the pedestrian to cross eventhough the pedestrian is like the other side of the road! Brothers out there please understand that whatever we do, we are tryna practice for our Test. That's all. My instructor is understanding though. He said I can dump some of the things thought after I passed my license. Lol. Lastly, my instructor told me this "You're an L plate right. L means Late what. Lambat. So only dumb ones follow" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 I am a learner driver and i have noticed that when learning to drive on public roads, those experienced drivers are quite impatient with us. For example, when slowing down to enter filter lanes, those drivers start to cut in front of us and tailgating us and some even honk at us when we are waiting for the traffic to clear to make a turn. I hope that those experienced drivers can understand that we are inexperienced and needs more time to react and please be more patient with us and please do not tailgate us, especially when stopping on slopes as our car may start to roll backwards when moving off. BTW, you were once a learner driver too, right? I am afraid to tell you that i'm such a driver.. While i understand that L plate must keep strictly to the speed limit(which is mostly 40/50kmh and 70kmh), i can't stand those who drive at 20-30kmh at those kinda road. Especially if you're trying to filter into right lane and still keep to that kinda speed. One more thing, understand that the purpose of on the road driving is to gain experience, so what you see is what you get once you pass your driving test. Not to be harsh of you, but all these are just a 'friendly' welcome to the road.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fresh Clutched February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 to learner drivers, is it more difficult to drive recently? guys, do you find our traffic getting worse and worse? for some strange f. reason, can't imagine why expressways have such heavy traffic from 7am on weekdays?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 perhaps the driving centres need to restrict driving routes and including those private driving schools. you know, our road are limited and i got to admit that when turning, the learner's car will take donkey years to turn.. =P for those experience drivers, do change your route if you want to avoid them. i am one of those who see one infront of me, i will change my route immediately. though longer distance but will reach my destination earlier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Youth92 2nd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 to learner drivers, is it more difficult to drive recently? guys, do you find our traffic getting worse and worse? for some strange f. reason, can't imagine why expressways have such heavy traffic from 7am on weekdays?! More difficult to drive recently? This is my first time driving. Haha. But i asked my instructor, who has been in his job for 40 years. He said situations are the same. If you are good, means you are good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 i can only say, get the experience asap. the faster u gain it, the better for you. cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antony Neutral Newbie February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 haha L for Lambat, last time i always got reminded by the instructors abt the speed limit and told dont drive so fast when uve passed tp... fast tak boleh... slow got complaints, but for learners driver being too slow oso nt good ya know coz there're points given for insufficinet acceleration and during TP best is not to road hog coz u'll never know what the tester is gonna give u when he sees that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 haha L for Lambat, last time i always got reminded by the instructors abt the speed limit and told dont drive so fast when uve passed tp... fast tak boleh... slow got complaints, but for learners driver being too slow oso nt good ya know coz there're points given for insufficinet acceleration and during TP best is not to road hog coz u'll never know what the tester is gonna give u when he sees that my aunty used to say, L for Lembu... :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 I am a learner driver and i have noticed that when learning to drive on public roads, those experienced drivers are quite impatient with us. For example, when slowing down to enter filter lanes, those drivers start to cut in front of us and tailgating us and some even honk at us when we are waiting for the traffic to clear to make a turn. I hope that those experienced drivers can understand that we are inexperienced and needs more time to react and please be more patient with us and please do not tailgate us, especially when stopping on slopes as our car may start to roll backwards when moving off. BTW, you were once a learner driver too, right? tis is part of ur learning and u shld overcome watever fear u have... i used to be learner too which i agree but i dun complain on anyting tat happened on the road... imo, if u cant even overcome such tings on the road dan personally i tink u might be a road hazard nx time even if u gotten ur license... dun spam me, i am only speaking the truth and pls pls overcome anyting u had in mind instead of coming here to plead us to be patient... fyi, i not only once a learner b4 cos i got a few licenses which i come stage by stage... my suggestion, dun be afraid of the road no matter wat drivers u meet and u will be really fine now and in the future.. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thugstercena Clutched February 25, 2011 Share February 25, 2011 become there are some who give way and the car who signal suddenly hazard light and stop there. you like it? i mean no need purposely give way la. sometimes signal liao people also purposely speed up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...