Cdior 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Dangerous lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 [quot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patience Clutched March 8, 2011 Author Share March 8, 2011 what rims shatter?? Want rims that can tahan debris shock would be heavy.. Dun think any lighweight quality rims can take it.. Usually its those cheapo heavy rims that r not on low profile tyres that survive rocks or potholes when going across them at high speed. Maybe u try going across a pothole at a speed of 80km/hr then u will know what i mean.. when i went over the rock at 100....i tot my wheel and suspension gone case le. anyway....the thought of changing all 4 rims suck....cuz the shop i bought the rim dun sell single pieces de. n the rim isnt those mass mkt type where they bring in alot to keep stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear March 9, 2011 Share March 9, 2011 rim qualities is just like CAR BMW, VOLVO? against Japs , CHina car? Superior quality does not run away from demaged if accident (impact). Better quality can minimised the demaged or lower the risk of further danger. Lower quailty is exactly the other way round. you can pay a $2000/pc for a Superb quality rim still can warp if you hit a pot hole or hard impact, does it meant the expensive rim are same as cheapo rim? Quality brand paid for quality not just LOOK they conducted R & D (test and test and test) making sure it acheived at least the industrial standard ( or higher) R & D contribute a major cost to a Finished product. So you decide what you want. To repair or not to repair a warp rim is subjective. BEST is NO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jfamily Neutral Newbie April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 I hit this fist sized rock and i think my rim is warped. When i travel above 100, there will b a vibration in the car. Anyone knows it it can b fixed? Cuz i like the design of my rim which cant be found at most places. Bro, u can try this WS to repair the rim: Sin Min Hin, Blk 1 Kallang Avenue Industrial Centre, #01-168 Singapore 339406 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 I hit this fist sized rock and i think my rim is warped. When i travel above 100, there will b a vibration in the car. Anyone knows it it can b fixed? Cuz i like the design of my rim which cant be found at most places. I believe it depends on how much you value your life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tommisan 4th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 Warp rims cannot be repaired. The material has failed, it has deformed beyond its ultimate strength. No repair can be done, unless you remelt the material, recast or reforge it again. Replace the rims, don't risk it. If the rims collapsed while in motion, you will have everything to lose and nothing to gain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 Bro, u can try this WS to repair the rim: Sin Min Hin, Blk 1 Kallang Avenue Industrial Centre, #01-168 Singapore 339406 Sorry to bring up an old post but just to give my frank opinion about Sin Min Hin. I was asked to try Sin Min Hin by Rainbowbiatch as their company do not repair warped rims. One of my rim was warped and as this rim is no longer in production, i decided to send it in to Sin Min Hin. They quoted me S$60 and the downtime was 1 day. Their workmanship is good and i also find their price to be quite reasonable. So, to brothers out they who wish to repair their expensive or special rims, do try them out. Not advertising for them, just a satisfied customer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howeytan20 Neutral Newbie July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 Bro, dun save on rims,tyres, brakes. Safety first. Get yrself a new set of rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 If the rim is bend don't try to do repair locally I doubt the repairers here understand alloy rim metal characteristics. All of the local repairers I beleive will do cold pressing and follow by sanding, polishing & paint praying. Without proper metal de-stressing after cold pressing, the rim is weak and will failure anytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howeytan20 Neutral Newbie July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 If the rim is bend don't try to do repair locally I doubt the repairers here understand alloy rim metal characteristics. All of the local repairers I beleive will do cold pressing and follow by sanding, polishing & paint praying. Without proper metal de-stressing after cold pressing, the rim is weak and will failure anytime. Bro, I fully agree with u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 If the rim is bend don't try to do repair locally I doubt the repairers here understand alloy rim metal characteristics. All of the local repairers I beleive will do cold pressing and follow by sanding, polishing & paint praying. Without proper metal de-stressing after cold pressing, the rim is weak and will failure anytime. Hi Bro, Thanks for your advise, really appreciate it. Only 1 of my rims are warped, furthermore they are forged rims. I cannot find a replacement for that 1 rim, that's why i sent for Sin Min Hin for repair. Anyhow, i will monitor the situation and will replace it soon after i find another set i like Once again, thanks for your advise Bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 Put this cripple rim at the rear if yr ride is a front drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fu11thr0tt1e Turbocharged July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 Sorry to bring up an old post but just to give my frank opinion about Sin Min Hin. I was asked to try Sin Min Hin by Rainbowbiatch as their company do not repair warped rims. One of my rim was warped and as this rim is no longer in production, i decided to send it in to Sin Min Hin. They quoted me S$60 and the downtime was 1 day. Their workmanship is good and i also find their price to be quite reasonable. So, to brothers out they who wish to repair their expensive or special rims, do try them out. Not advertising for them, just a satisfied customer Bro mind sharing addr and contact no of Sin Min Hin? tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 Bro mind sharing addr and contact no of Sin Min Hin? tks Hi Bro, just sent u a pm.... Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 I did that for about 3 months until I found a replacement rim from a car that is going to the scrap yard . No hard driving during those 3 months and didn't feel any apparent wobble during high speed driving or cornering. Put this cripple rim at the rear if yr ride is a front drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fu11thr0tt1e Turbocharged July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 Hi Bro, just sent u a pm.... Cheers! Got it! tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear July 10, 2011 Share July 10, 2011 Can we believe none of us think our lives so cheap as to use warped rim(s) after repair? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...