Remixes Clutched March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 PAY AND PAY..................................VOTE FOR ME AND U PAY EVEN MORE LOL ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 (edited) but in the first place, do we have a luxury of choices to pick from? the opposition always seem to be just those few. Anyway, even if vote all opposition, power would still be in ruling party's hands. But at least, there are more voices to represent the people's interest. Agreed! For the long term good of Singapore, we need to nurture more credible opposition members in the parliment in each GE starting with the one this year and the next, and next.... so that the oppositions can grow and mature. The oppositions may start with providing check and balance and question the miw thoroughly in parliment on policies which are not 100% good for the masses. We dont want to see miw introduce and bulldoze through parliment those policies which only benefit selected groups of Singaporeans (eg elites) or FT/FW.... Over time, the oppositions will become more experienced and one of these days they can even be good enough to replace miw provided they are really for the people and masses. Vote wisely for the future of democracy and fairness in Singapore... our children, and ourselves, deserve this Edited March 16, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 (edited) From me for another thread & still relevant to your post: Let us just say there is really a freak result few GEs down the road (by then some of us already meet the maker liao), and the ruling party lose all the SMCs & 2 GRCs (say 2 nos. 4 seaters) to the opposition parties & independents, For argument sake, let us just stick to the 87 nos. (12 SMCs & 15 GRCs) of seats we are going to have soon for the next parliament. So 12+8=20 nos. of oppo or independent folks versus 67 ruling party MPs in the most extreme case when voting bills. With such a unthinkable freak result, the ruling party still enjoy a majority in numbers so passing of bills will seem to be not a big problem at all. Granted that the parliament will no longer a serene place but full of forceful but healthy arguments between the 2 or more camps, the absolute passing of bills will no longer be a done deal. The above is just a pure imaginary scenario but the point I am trying to make is that it is always good to hear some alternative views, nevermind how absurd or silly it seem at that moment. At least we can hear the POVs from all parties before it is passed into law (because in this scenario the ruling party still have the absolute numbers). Just my 2 cts... Well said! Edited March 16, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 In anyway, the ruling party will still bein power....even all SMC are won by opposition..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 In anyway, the ruling party will still bein power....even all SMC are won by opposition..... Exactly but do you think the ruling party will ever allow that? Ever full of doomsday theories: our woman becoming maids, reserves run dry, etc but effective to spook the general population into voting for them. What if a few generations down the road the ruling party becomes rogue & morphed into the very same six-headed monster that the present ruling party always portray that a opposition party which seizes power will become? They claim if ever the ruling party becomes like that, we can easily vote them out then. But seriously will it be that easy to do so then? By then the rot would have set in & will be like the type of "democracies" that the frustrated Tunisians Egyptians, Libyans & some others had overthrown or presently trying to. That is the situation, though not grim yet, is facing all of us voters now before casting the precious piece of paper during the big day. Think about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 Actually hor....all of us KPKB here....when we go to the voting station....do we really cross the box to justify that? ..............or just TCSS here only? Please give me a chance!!!... PLLSS!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 Actually hor....all of us KPKB here....when we go to the voting station....do we really cross the box to justify that? ..............or just TCSS here only? You are saying no only crossed the right box, must also praise lightening party? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 Please give me a chance!!!... PLLSS!!! Not only you but I guess many others wish to also to have the chance to finally cast their vote this coming GE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 wanna compare ah?...ok Does Singppore leaders admit their mistakes and take responsibilities like the Japaness do?...<honest mistake, let's move on> I think not Does Singapore leaders cherish and preserve our heritage? <open door policy to every Ganesan, Roberto and Kim Fook, celebrating Sonkran in Singapore...> I think not Does Singapore leaders love their people like the Japanese government? <Jobs for FTs, NS for citizens .... > I think not Wanna compare somemore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged March 16, 2011 Share March 16, 2011 get over it manz. Opfors will make a tiny dent this time rd in maybe d SMCs, thats all. PAPayas will still remain in major control. B!tching here isnt gona change a damn thing coz there simply arent enough credible opposition who have expericen in GRCs to make a strong impact. The next few elections will see stronger opfors as they gain experience via running SMCs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 Maybe what SM is trying to say, is that, if he is in charge of managing the crisis in Japan now, he is capable of doing a much better job, just that Singapore being blessed, will never have a chance of seeing him handle a crisis of such proportions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 (edited) In anyway, the ruling party will still bein power....even all SMC are won by opposition..... Exactly.... but this is also the 'Beauty' of the situation: let the miw continue to run the country as they are more or less quite capable in many areas.... but the additional opp MPs in parliment can serve the masses by questioning the miw all the impeefect bills / policies, keep an watchful eyes on miw who try to collect fat pays but do mediocre work, and really ask miw tough questions no pap MP dares to ask.... this way, we have the best of both world: have miw do the work, and if the slip, let the opposition question them leftright¢re... making sure miw do not slack, or do not give half-baked solutions to problesm, or take the masses for granted.... Edited March 17, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 when u vote them out. they forget who pays them.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 Exactly but do you think the ruling party will ever allow that? Ever full of doomsday theories: our woman becoming maids, reserves run dry, etc but effective to spook the general population into voting for them. What if a few generations down the road the ruling party becomes rogue & morphed into the very same six-headed monster that the present ruling party always portray that a opposition party which seizes power will become? They claim if ever the ruling party becomes like that, we can easily vote them out then. But seriously will it be that easy to do so then? By then the rot would have set in & will be like the type of "democracies" that the frustrated Tunisians Egyptians, Libyans & some others had overthrown or presently trying to. That is the situation, though not grim yet, is facing all of us voters now before casting the precious piece of paper during the big day. Think about it. A healthy democratic country should have at least a two-party system, or multe-party system to put the ruling party on their toes and do their work for the people properly and fairly. Singapore needs such a system in the long run no matter how much miw tries to scare us with their 'doomsday scenario' scare-tactics and tries to tell us one-party system is the best for spore (ie miw should always be put in power and no major opposition parties)............... it will be foolish to believe miw's claim that they will never be corrupted, or slipshot, or always be serving the people.... total rubbish.... a two-party system with check & balanace can ensure the ruling party be accountable and, for example, can't raise ministers' pay as they please................ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 wanna compare ah?...ok Does Singppore leaders admit their mistakes and take responsibilities like the Japaness do?...<honest mistake, let's move on> I think not Does Singapore leaders cherish and preserve our heritage? <open door policy to every Ganesan, Roberto and Kim Fook, celebrating Sonkran in Singapore...> I think not Does Singapore leaders love their people like the Japanese government? <Jobs for FTs, NS for citizens .... > I think not Wanna compare somemore? They have one strong love: their million-dollar salaries................. highest in the world and they do love us........................ for paying them such obsecenly high salaries every month.............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 Maybe what SM is trying to say, is that, if he is in charge of managing the crisis in Japan now, he is capable of doing a much better job, just that Singapore being blessed, will never have a chance of seeing him handle a crisis of such proportions. ah goh cant even manage his own wife's mouth (the infamous "peanut" mouth)............. chey.... ... now ah goh goes around shaking hands, wearing the silly grins, with his silver hair and 'try-to-look-young' clothes................ i nearly choke myself laughing when i see his pics... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 To be frank, someone up there already mention before, if there is a freak election result, army will come in to gain control, hence no matter who u vote, u also lppl! Gd luck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koko 4th Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 To be frank, someone up there already mention before, if there is a freak election result, army will come in to gain control, hence no matter who u vote, u also lppl! Gd luck... Don try to scared the voter.... i was told that during the day of election... it is the day that so call no garment day.... that why you see only the judge, president and army stand in and declared... the police belong to garment.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...