Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 bro i remember you used to use some toyota mineral oil to flush for like 500-1k correct?... i used to find it abit err... waste but occassionally i think its a good idea.. but i'd prefer to use a fully syn (those $20+ for 5 liters type) to flush for 500km max... MMO i might try to use after my 2T finishes... still have a long way to go still go more then half a bottle and also bought a bottle of A747 to try not yet open... but i still dare not try in my EO... yap... used to be 500km+ but like what u said, felt that its wasting oil and not so environmentally friendly, so now runnning between 1 to 2K... n im also using carl u b e now cause toyota 10W30 mineral oil i use to buy is now $22/4L (last time $16 nia).... i bought 6 btl of carl u b e at 27+ at giant tampines during promo... each time use only 1/2 bottle so my stock is enough for me to flush 12 times liao... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ohlins Neutral Newbie March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 some additives recommended by mitsubishi... recommended additives Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 this has been discussed before and if you do an online cursory check, you will actually find that engine flushes are not recommended by manufacturers. in fact, they are discouraged.hence, if this is an important part of maintenance, it would have been indicated in the servicing list instead of being an optional item. the reason why certain workshops are pushing this is because engine flushes help to bring in more money for the company. Er, not me leh. Why you reply to me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 17, 2011 Share March 17, 2011 but surely not everything recommended by manufacturers is good right?... Sad to say, what car manufacturers have recommended is largely good. However, this has to be offset in consideration of the issue of cost. Apart from it, they have done a lot of R&D to ensure our street cars are road worthy for us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 17, 2011 Author Share March 17, 2011 yap... used to be 500km+ but like what u said, felt that its wasting oil and not so environmentally friendly, so now runnning between 1 to 2K... n im also using carl u b e now cause toyota 10W30 mineral oil i use to buy is now $22/4L (last time $16 nia).... i bought 6 btl of carl u b e at 27+ at giant tampines during promo... each time use only 1/2 bottle so my stock is enough for me to flush 12 times liao... wah 12times!... how many years is that sia?... now i only hv enuf oil in stock for 1more change... (x-gold) i didnt stock up alot cause i sure backside itchy wanna try this try that... didnt buy any $10.99 mobile 1 also still hv not tried the 'dettol' oil yet(quaker)... and so much hype about Amsoil... infact if i step in m-------g sure end up buying stuff i dont need at the point of time one... haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 17, 2011 Author Share March 17, 2011 Sad to say, what car manufacturers have recommended is largely good. However, this has to be offset in consideration of the issue of cost. Apart from it, they have done a lot of R&D to ensure our street cars are road worthy for us. bro why 'sad' to say? yes i most of the time believe that stock is best... but there are many instances where stock is not always best ah... tyres, suspension, oil, plugs... like example Shell EO for Kah Motors? fastflo for Tan Cheong?... probably good enough but not the best and Hondas and Nissans around the world use different EO... i guess manufactures recommends/parts will be good for the car to last longer... but then again it depends on how its driven and taken care of... end of the day i guess its really how and what a car is to us the driver... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 18, 2011 Share March 18, 2011 (edited) wah 12times!... how many years is that sia?... now i only hv enuf oil in stock for 1more change... (x-gold) i didnt stock up alot cause i sure backside itchy wanna try this try that... didnt buy any $10.99 mobile 1 also still hv not tried the 'dettol' oil yet(quaker)... and so much hype about Amsoil... infact if i step in m-------g sure end up buying stuff i dont need at the point of time one... haha... every 20k flush once... ..used up 1 bottle liao to flush my wife matrix and my vios... my wife's matrix and my dad Altis usage is quite low, on average change 2.5 times / yr only...but my vios usage is very high, change oil around 4 times a year. i think the carl u b e should be able to last for 2 to 3 yrs. to think about it, the giant M1 promo is not really such a good deal actually. each bottle is only cheaper by $3 compare to M X t r a d i n g... I bought 18 bottle and the savings is only enough to cover 3/5 tank of petrol for my vios.. wanted to try QS but with the amount of oil reserve now... my wife kill me if i add another 6 qt of oil... Edited March 18, 2011 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 18, 2011 Author Share March 18, 2011 every 20k flush once... ..used up 1 bottle liao to flush my wife matrix and my vios... my wife's matrix and my dad Altis usage is quite low, on average change 2.5 times / yr only...but my vios usage is very high, change oil around 4 times a year. i think the carl u b e should be able to last for 2 to 3 yrs. to think about it, the giant M1 promo is not really such a good deal actually. each bottle is only cheaper by $3 compare to M X t r a d i n g... I bought 18 bottle and the savings is only enough to cover 3/5 tank of petrol for my vios.. wanted to try QS but with the amount of oil reserve now... my wife kill me if i add another 6 qt of oil... haha... hv a good weekend bro... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarissa Neutral Newbie March 20, 2011 Share March 20, 2011 Be careful, you could cause damage to your engine,and about flushing your engine i only recommend it if it has low miles,if you flush a high mileage engine you could break away the same sludge that is around the valve seals,that may cause your engine to smoke,just change your oil every 3,000 or 3mos. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...