IS ALFA 159 IS THE SEXIEST CAR??

Panda

Bro what colour is ur 159? loves the red and the black,but if not look after well,colour of the car will look dull,than somemore i damn lazy 1 [sweatdrop] might go for the titanium grey with red interior,easier to take care [laugh][laugh]

Warranty will void if change the exhaust?? wah then no pt to change it..but now the engine sound of 159 no longer sounds as solid as it used to be is it(compared to 156)?

If they reduce OMV but nvr reduce price nt very good le..how to boost sales if this is the case?? [:/]

sports mode ok lah,just that the car feels more urgent only,won't be uncomfortable lah [;)] low gear jerky than dun floor the car loh,or else( 1 )lighten your right leg,( 2 ) slightly release the accelerator when gear change. Electric seats r seats that is adjust to ur liking through switches found at the side of the seat instead of u adjusting it manually. Like what i said earlier on, reducing omv is possible by not reducing selling price,thus it will increase the profit margin of the AD.Eg a car that cost $100,000 with an OMV of $30,000 will have $10,000 profit, a similar car ( same brand ,same car )that cost the same,but with omv of $ 20,000 will have $ 20,000 profit

they only void the exhaust warranty lah,so still ok [laugh] 156 sounds [thumbsup][thumbsup] 159 sounds subtle...Like wat i said earlier on, they might reduced the omv ( heard from SE ) not confirm yet,cause the 08 model have not arrive our shore..only times will tell [:/]

oh, only exhaust warranty? phew...I thot whole car warranty gone.. [laugh]

ai yea, 159 sounds subtle only? the engine sound is one of the famous appeals of alfa cars...why did they make the engine sound more subtle this time?

I think the SE could be hinting that the price might go down (but can't say for sure in front of a customer as he is not supposed to reveal company secrets) by telling you OMV could be reduced..otherwise, it doesn't make sense to tell you this if the price won't be reduced..if no intention to reduce price but want to increase profits, isn't it silly for them to alarm buyers unnecessarily by indirectly telling them they aiming to increase profits?? customers won't like to hear they buying a car at same price but lower resale value eventually..

only time will tell [laugh][laugh] anyway sidetrack abit,test drove ford forcus ST today, [thumbsup][thumbsup] until now still can't forget the experience with the ST( it is really a 'driver' car as well )

So the brudder here also experienced the jerkiness at low gears. Basically there are 2 modes, city and Sports.

What i can summarize from the SE is that for City, the onboard computer will try to go as low rev at each gear as possible to enhance fuel economy, whereas at sports mode, it tries to go as high rev as possible at each gear to enhance pick up and power..

The more i read, the more im disappointed.. both with how they are gg to reduce the weight and also the OMV issue. Reducing weight by wheels is pretty lame i must say.. and for OMV, to see a 159 without electric seats and leather seats.. manhood shortened by 50% leh.. how to jio girls then.. haha.

But if say OMV reduced to say 30k, then price of car now reduced to just over 100k, then i wont mind getting it still.

Warranty will void if change the exhaust?? wah then no pt to change it..but now the engine sound of 159 no longer sounds as solid as it used to be is it(compared to 156)?

If they reduce OMV but nvr reduce price nt very good le..how to boost sales if this is the case?? [:/]

Torquelover changed his exh to novitec.. one morning saw his car reversing... nice sound.. So.. i think if the fixer did a good job.. can change lah since it is only the exh warranty. Im sure sportstivo will have some warranty too rite?

Oh, MIGHTYME, what is the price now for 159?

Edited by Chrispie

I think the jerkiness at low gear is not a problem..just have to learn to get used to letting go the accelerator a bit when you sense that the car is moving to the next gear..

Bro, its not possible for car with orginal OMV of 37K to reduce to 30K...if they did it, I believe the quality of the car is not there anymore..that means they must have done something quite drastic to it..I think the OMV is at best reduced by annother 2K at most..tat translates to abt 4-4.5K reduction in cost for them to bring it in..either they pass this savings to us by reducing the car price by the same and hope to boost sales volume in the end or they might reduce it by 2K but increase their profit by 2K at same time...worse scenario is they do not pass on the savings at all to us and increase their margin level by 4K and maintain same selling price..

Bro, even if OMV is 30K, price also not quite possible to be just over 100k..just look at the prices over various cars in current mkt with tat kind of OMV...majority of them are selling over 115k at that OMV level..as I mentioned before, I feel their selling price is alr quite reasonable (I know but just can't resist hoping they would reduce more and make it easier for my pockets, haha)with tat level of OMV..it is only possible for us to be getting a car with such OMV at below 130K becos of the lack of badge prestige and the stigma of it being a problematic car..otherwise its definitely going to cost over 130k.. [:)]

Very good reply. I think you have hit multiple nails on the heads. True, at the end of the day, if wanna get Alfa, dont even think so much. Just get it and think later.

Always a love hate relationship yeh.. like they say, owning an alfa is like keeping a mistress. Haha... wife.. prob altis.. haha. [lipsrsealed]

Alfa like a mistress? Exactly.

She's passionate, excites you and enjoys a wild hard ride, but if you don't give her good maintenance she'll dump you. [sweatdrop]

Do you notice there is quite a lot of Alfa admirers when it comes to its looks but when it comes to actually buying it, lots of pple shun it?? I see countless of pple praising the Alfa after such a long time in this forum but sales figure is far from it..when it comes to owning it, pple have 2nd thoughts becos they think:

it is a very unrealiable make

massive depreciation

expensive parts/maintenance

not considered as prestigious make in Singapore

Only those who wants it very much out of passion and driving experience will throw the abv out of their minds.

[;)]

Im 90% confirm of getting the 159. Now is just timing.. and planning my funds. [nod]

btw... i feel like gg down for a test drive again.. how many times have you guys test drove b4 getting a car huh.. can test like 4 -5 times boh.. but paiseh leh..

Edited by Chrispie

I think the jerkiness at low gear is not a problem..just have to learn to get used to letting go the accelerator a bit when you sense that the car is moving to the next gear..

Bro, its not possible for car with orginal OMV of 37K to reduce to 30K...if they did it, I believe the quality of the car is not there anymore..that means they must have done something quite drastic to it..I think the OMV is at best reduced by annother 2K at most..tat translates to abt 4-4.5K reduction in cost for them to bring it in..either they pass this savings to us by reducing the car price by the same and hope to boost sales volume in the end or they might reduce it by 2K but increase their profit by 2K at same time...worse scenario is they do not pass on the savings at all to us and increase their margin level by 4K and maintain same selling price..

Bro, even if OMV is 30K, price also not quite possible to be just over 100k..just look at the prices over various cars in current mkt with tat kind of OMV...majority of them are selling over 115k at that OMV level..as I mentioned before, I feel their selling price is alr quite reasonable (I know but just can't resist hoping they would reduce more and make it easier for my pockets, haha)with tat level of OMV..it is only possible for us to be getting a car with such OMV at below 130K becos of the lack of badge prestige and the stigma of it being a problematic car..otherwise its definitely going to cost over 130k.. [:)]

Just saw this:

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...Cost_Update.pdf

With the basic cost of 2.2JTS Selespeed at 106k, i think the car can never be sold below 115k. Our govt is really good... here charge there charge...

Edited by Chrispie

So far, the most I ever tested is twice.

First time very satisfied but want to wait for betta timing and 2nd time test is like mai tu liao! No car I ever tested more than once except my current ride..

Sekali you go to the showroom and they say 'You again!!'.. [laugh][laugh]