Axela72 5th Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 depends on what course ba.. I'm from poly too, and NUS gave me 1yr worth of module exemptions.. So i graduate in 3 yrs (instead of A level students, which is 4 yrs). Btw, i'm in Engineering. My gf, from SP Banking/Finance, now in SMU. SMU gave her some exemption, which shorten her course to 3.5 yrs(from 4 yrs), and she gets Double Major (Finance & Management) at the same time. In her case, she don't get upfront exemptions, but once she is admitted to SMU, she applied for exemptions based on her academic transcripts in SP. Anyway, feedback from local companies is, if all else is equal between 2 candidates, local uni(NUS, NTU, SMU) grad is still preferable to overseas grad, unless you're from top uni like Oxford, Cambridge etc, which in this case, most would rather stay overseas.. If that statement is valid, FT who does not grad from NTU, NUS etc, will have slim chance to compete with our local grad already[;)] However, how true is that? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 Background Info : Graduated from Poly Business course with 3.45 gpa I am interested in Business (Finance). But i am torn apart between two uni. (ANU and UniMelb) What i heard and my thoughts UniMelb - Great uni for business (2nd ranking uni in aust) Great life in melb ANU - ok ok for business (1st ranking uni in aust), boring life in canberra. Any advise ? THanks Bro go unimelb cannot be wrong lah....... ranking 1 or 2 not much diff as last few year always this 2. But do take note Melb U always got the biggest funding from government and currently biggest fund among all uni in AUS. Funding is important because more R&D for the uni and long-term system. anyway location is important too as you get more "life experience" and know more friends in Melbourne!!!! BTW I am a Melb U grad ha ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 If that statement is valid, FT who does not grad from NTU, NUS etc, will have slim chance to compete with our local grad already[;)] However, how true is that? FT is diff category.. What i meant is when they compare 2 locals.. Local companies still have a quota for foreigners what.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 To be honest, I am more swayed to ANU because of its high ranking But UniMelb seems equally good but just lack of ranking. but its good in business.. My heart tells me to go to UniMelb but my minds tells me to go to ANU bcos of its ranking. DAm. BTW heard of Melbourne Business School?? for post grad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 Background Info : Graduated from Poly Business course with 3.45 gpa I am interested in Business (Finance). But i am torn apart between two uni. (ANU and UniMelb) What i heard and my thoughts UniMelb - Great uni for business (2nd ranking uni in aust) Great life in melb ANU - ok ok for business (1st ranking uni in aust), boring life in canberra. Any advise ? THanks UniMelb better and u might opt for UWA, nearer to SG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xdeatel Neutral Newbie April 4, 2011 Author Share April 4, 2011 Bro go unimelb cannot be wrong lah....... ranking 1 or 2 not much diff as last few year always this 2. But do take note Melb U always got the biggest funding from government and currently biggest fund among all uni in AUS. Funding is important because more R&D for the uni and long-term system. anyway location is important too as you get more "life experience" and know more friends in Melbourne!!!! BTW I am a Melb U grad ha ha Hey! :) Yep, after tlaking to my dad, i pretty much am set for UniMelb! Thanks for the advices guys! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Randolf Clutched April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 Hi, u can consider SMU as well, i believe they have exemptions for you if you are doing related courses in poly. was from poly too, did engineering back then, and they gave me 2 exemptions, so i am thinking if you are doing related course, there shd be more exemptions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 (edited) Hi, u can consider SMU as well, i believe they have exemptions for you if you are doing related courses in poly. was from poly too, did engineering back then, and they gave me 2 exemptions, so i am thinking if you are doing related course, there shd be more exemptions. go overseas study is more than just the cert you get to learn cook, wash ur clothes, rent apartment with cool dukes and babes many late night kopi, many online gaming with ang mo or figth them as a team (online), play soccer at Optus Oval with other nationality once in a bluemoon get into fight ha ha friday night go chiong, if got car friday night go chapel st join the jam. every summer go beaches relax see topless blonde every winter go Mt Hotham snowboarding, sian drive to ballerat or bendigo just for dinner and many more........ in short can free and easy lifestyle, independent and learn ("at home depend on family, go out depend on friends" from mandarin version) as u r far away from family and home thus learn to judge character too. well what u can experience in local uni you cant experience at local poly?? but u experience more in overseas Edited April 4, 2011 by D3badge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Randolf Clutched April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 this i will have to agree haha, went for an industrial attachment in brisbane and stayed there alone for 3 mths, you will be surprised at what you can do without ur parents around you. I decided against studying overseas after considering the financial burden though. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...