Latka 1st Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 If we have to cut back on a cup of coffee, then our living standard had really dropped. I am not referring to the type of "luxury" coffee sold in coffee bean or starbucks. I've seen the cleaning auntie in my office pouring only half a packet of 3-in-1 milo when she goes for her morning break. Ask her why and she said milo is getting too expensive and by drinking half a packet in the morning, she can save the other half for her afternoon break. Even an old aunitie had to resort to cutting down her expenses this way. Milo supplied by yr company or bring her own one? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 This is sad but you know what is sader? The fact that this aunty is exactly the type who will continue to vote for the incumbent cos she was brought up to think that if the PAP does not form the govt , she won't even have milo to drink! Her grand children will become maids in China etc etc ............ Yup, last time audience majority boh tak chek one. Tio pian. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 By Elena Torrijos | SingaporeScene Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 My intention was it is good to know what price other country paying. But then hor, some wise guy might come and say the price Indonesian are paying. Then I have to ask them what is their average wage, relative to what they are paying. Maybe I should not put it in first place... anyw london food is not tat exp...i settled few meals with less than GBP3. act even in manchester. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 Milo supplied by yr company or bring her own one? Of course bring her own one. If it's company supplied, no one would be saving on the quantity. My company only supply cheap hot coffee from the vending machine at 30 cents per paper cup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 This is sad but you know what is sader? The fact that this aunty is exactly the type who will continue to vote for the incumbent cos she was brought up to think that if the PAP does not form the govt , she won't even have milo to drink! Her grand children will become maids in China etc etc ............ I can't be sure who she'll vote, but at times I'll just buy her a large pack so that she can have a proper drink. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 This is sad but you know what is sader? The fact that this aunty is exactly the type who will continue to vote for the incumbent cos she was brought up to think that if the PAP does not form the govt , she won't even have milo to drink! Her grand children will become maids in China etc etc ............ So u think by voting in the opposition, the aunty's lot would have changed for the better? Sad to point out that nothing much would have changed unless she win lottery or toto. But she will vote for pap as the older generation has gone through the tumultous 60s and know the importance of having good and strong government. Pap has a solid track record, tried and tested, however you dont like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinablue Clutched April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 since they are paid out of this world salary, the blame on them is fully justifiable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 Chicken rice is not really plain rice, as normally cooked in chicken stock? Used to be 50cts per plate? If it is in 1 of those newly renovated multi-million dollars coffeeshop, then could be higher as rental will be much higher. Not to brush this issue, London that I just returned from charges 1 pound for a plate of plain rice. One bird of roasted duck cost 17pounds takeaway, 20 pounds dine-in. comparin spore with london??.... lets compare salaries of ministers in both countries Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 If we have to cut back on a cup of coffee, then our living standard had really dropped. I am not referring to the type of "luxury" coffee sold in coffee bean or starbucks. I've seen the cleaning auntie in my office pouring only half a packet of 3-in-1 milo when she goes for her morning break. Ask her why and she said milo is getting too expensive and by drinking half a packet in the morning, she can save the other half for her afternoon break. Even an old aunitie had to resort to cutting down her expenses this way. then you go and buy with 7% GST lah. This will not be included in the rationing of Basic needs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 anyw london food is not tat exp...i settled few meals with less than GBP3. act even in manchester. Sandwiches and sandwiches? Quite huge selection in big convenience stores and beside subway stations. Food like rice dishes and noodles are comparatively ex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 (edited) Essential coffee and chicken...no matter how much they increase price....consumers lan lan pay to eat. heartland coffee shops rentals are high, so the food sellers have to increase prices to make a living (also cant rule out some will profiteer along the way). Why rentals are high? partly because miw allow heartland rentals to follow market forces. cant the miw take care of heartlanders customers by putting a cap on the rentals? they have the choice to let rentals follow market forces or do as suggested......... the latter choice benefits heartlanders, the former benefits the BIG LANDLORD, aka HDB, not the massses.................. at the expense of the masses.... VOTE WISELY!!! Edited April 6, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 wats the point in your bringing london prices in? we need to know he went to london Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 it is essential in 21st century, you want to go back time when you only get to eat chicken on chinese new year! the so-call poor can have LCD TV and people who claim low income received assistant from CDAC get to go on holiday..... as u and i know, they are not necessary happy people especially if they keep chasing material stuff.......... surf MCF cheap and good... and laugh at some posts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 this show how far we had improve. in S.Korea, they dont get to eat meat so often. doctors say eat less bak.... good for our health..... so being semi-vegeterian not necessary a bad thing...... serious, not joking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 So u think by voting in the opposition, the aunty's lot would have changed for the better? Sad to point out that nothing much would have changed unless she win lottery or toto. But she will vote for pap as the older generation has gone through the tumultous 60s and know the importance of having good and strong government. Pap has a solid track record, tried and tested, however you dont like. Yes. I think so. Many think so too. We will see shortly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 doctors say eat less bak.... good for our health..... so being semi-vegeterian not necessary a bad thing...... serious, not joking of couse. today news say fasting also good for health Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 6, 2011 Share April 6, 2011 of couse. today news say fasting also good for health Also got TV in Taiwan says drink urine is good for health!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...