'S

Latka

I don't know how it works but I do know that political competition is not about being fair, one make use of whatever leverage one has.

I took similar view like you, if a slipper man came into my wards with no idea of his own, cannot articulate his ideal and just bashing for the sake of bashing, I know what my decision will be.

I don't know how it works but I do know that political competition is not about being fair, one make use of whatever leverage one has.

I took similar view like you, if a slipper man came into my wards with no idea of his own, cannot articulate his ideal and just bashing for the sake of bashing, I know what my decision will be.

sad to say.. many opposition candidates aint as polished as PAP's.

YOu wanna be a politician but cannot speak well? guess this person better not disgrace himself. Lina chiam fared badly in the last debate... the worst was at the part she lost her thoughts when Melissa Hyak asked her a question. She like machiam stoned...

my brother and I cringed at that sight.. and my brother commented that she was probably thinking : oh darn.. did i switch off the gas before i left the house.....

still hv to be objective lah.. but if the opp is of some ok calibre, i dun mind giving him a chance to prove himself. OF course, he wont be a SAF General or MAS head.. but as long as his credentials are ok and he is the thinking sort, he will have my vote. I never felt the presence of my MP anyway. Only see his big poster at the corner of the junctions saying 'Gong Xi Fa Cai'.

Ref Lina, my thought exactly. It was painful to watch. Here is my observation, how many thread/posts has been leveled at her negatively since? What if it was PAP candidate? TPL perhaps? What would be the comment we would be reading. Fair?

In any case I think it is an interesting contest this time, people who are online probably feel some major change is coming just by the sheer amount of negativity one read from online sources, the real result is one that will be announce after vote counting, I am looking forward to the day.

Ref Lina, my thought exactly. It was painful to watch. Here is my observation, how many thread/posts has been leveled at her negatively since? What if it was PAP candidate? TPL perhaps? What would be the comment we would be reading. Fair?

In any case I think it is an interesting contest this time, people who are online probably feel some major change is coming just by the sheer amount of negativity one read from online sources, the real result is one that will be announce after vote counting, I am looking forward to the day.

i think it had been discussed to great extent. Those supporters will keep quiet. The Anti pap will make lotsa noise. So at the end of the day, we can never be sure. I can only hope a few genuinely good opp candidates will be voted in. But NOT as NMP or NCMP.

If TPL can be in the parliament, why not those opp candidates that are EASILY as good or better? Unless even the LEAST qualified PAP candidate is some ex CEO of some MNC, then they can say Opp cant field any proper candidate better than theirs.

the reason is because people know that TPL will get into parliament by hanging to the coat tails of heavyweight ministers vis a vis the GRC team while Lina Chiam has to go through the proper fight on her own accord if she wants to get into parliament

furtheremore, TPL will go in and likely be rubber stamper to pap policy while lina chiam won't have any real executive power (as opposition MP) that will affect the daily lives of singaporeans. even if lina chiam cannot speak, she cannot hurt the livelihood of singaporeans.

Edited by Acemundo

the serial numbers on the votes is the key issue.

Can you imagine i have friends in the civil service, feel that their career will be compromised if they voted against PAP? And some fear taht if they vote against PAP, they will not be allocated flats when they wanna apply for one?

How sad?

Yah Sad.. I was a civil servant when I voted for the Opposition during the last election 2006.

When I asked my collegues then..all say "siao ar.. must vote PAP la..if not sure tio mark tio codemn one.." [nosebleed]

This time round, I fear for Lina who is going to taken over from CST, looking at her performance and speech on TV, at that moment, just have to look away to "avoid" that duration of her speech. Hope her track record serving beside CST in PP TC is a better performance and able to be fairly judge by the residents in PP. [cool]

Yah Sad.. I was a civil servant when I voted for the Opposition during the last election 2006.

When I asked my collegues then..all say "siao ar.. must vote PAP la..if not sure tio mark tio codemn one.." [nosebleed]

you proved yourself to be smarter than them.

Is tat the reason y u became a 'was'??

It was entirely my own decision. I applied for early release. [:)]

and no I was not forced into that decision :D

Is tat the reason y u became a 'was'??

i became a was? u referring to bah ?

Edited by Acemundo

i dont believe singaporean decide the political system... i do not wan to see 'taiwan to be' parliament...

i believe in getting local talent.. groom them and work for the interest of Singapore... Policy cannot be decided by commoners like us... We do not 'see' the whole picture... and of course i do not agree to many policies which our government had implement or speaks

ex: our dear PM had answered regards to the upgrading plan on Hougang... He shot his foot by giving such answer...

we need someone better than him and more transparent in the whole system

Edited by Itsec

the serial numbers on the votes is the key issue.

Can you imagine i have friends in the civil service, feel that their career will be compromised if they voted against PAP? And some fear taht if they vote against PAP, they will not be allocated flats when they wanna apply for one?

How sad?

Actually I feel that they purposely put the serial number there... it is to create the fear in the human mind, anyway many sillyporeans are kiasi...

it is sad to say that this fear factor still persist... like some of my friends who work in garment sector, navy, police and even teachers.... sad sad sad... actually i feel sad for them... they complain, wanted to change... but did not dare to vote wisely... due to fear...

As for me, I have voted "wisely" twice till now. I don believe in monopolizing in the paliment....

What to scare... so what if they really find you voting other parties? Can they use this to sue you? Can they really control your promotion? Can they really don let your children go to school? can they don let you buy house? can they make you don win 4D/toto?

If some people really afraid of the above, it just mean their thought is very very swallow...

In actual fact... voting is a secret and suppose to be democratic... Voting isn't a card for the papaya to threaten you...

I do believe if you are a capable & upright person, fear will not exist....

Please do not vote for the sake of voting and follow the motion... we are now living in 21 century, don be a frog in the well... still have a mindset of staying in the 60s or 70s...

Actually I feel that they purposely put the serial number there... it is to create the fear in the human mind, anyway many sillyporeans are kiasi...

it is sad to say that this fear factor still persist... like some of my friends who work in garment sector, navy, police and even teachers.... sad sad sad... actually i feel sad for them... they complain, wanted to change... but did not dare to vote wisely... due to fear...

As for me, I have voted "wisely" twice till now. I don believe in monopolizing in the paliment....

What to scare... so what if they really find you voting other parties? Can they use this to sue you? Can they really control your promotion? Can they really don let your children go to school? can they don let you buy house? can they make you don win 4D/toto?

If some people really afraid of the above, it just mean their thought is very very swallow...

In actual fact... voting is a secret and suppose to be democratic... Voting isn't a card for the papaya to threaten you...

Please do not vote for the sake of voting and follow the motion... we are now living in 21 century, don be a frog in the well... still have a mindset of staying in the 60s or 70s...

CORRECT [thumbsup]

Unless absolutely necessary, (eg, investigate fraud etc), they won't be so free to look up on which individual voted them. Or even zoom down to a particular group of people like the civil servants. All these are just them playing mind tricks. Besides, to go reopen and recount the votes, they need all political parties to be present too.

i dont believe singaporean decide the political system... i do not wan to see 'taiwan to be' parliament...

i believe in getting local talent.. groom them and work for the interest of Singapore... Policy cannot be decided by commoners like us... We do not 'see' the whole picture... and of course i do not agree to many policies which our government had implement or speaks

i am a commoner. due to my stupidity, i cannot see the whole picture why the pay has to be so ridiculously high. i am not a talent. and my greatest regrets is not that i cant bring my parent to the universal studio. it is not a miss singapore girl competition. i cant see the whole picture when someone sit in there making decision for my place have to keep thinking about bringing families, relatives for leisure. i can see the picture that when the gal get in and if her parents are healthy, her regret will soon be ceased as she can then bring her parents go universal studio everyday for the rest of her term in.

dude....this is their rice bowl... better to be safe than sorry... like me...void it... [laugh] continue to stay neutral....

they are so many GLCs and gov agencies... Our gov had created jobs thru these companies..... imagine we had only MNCs that creates job in our country...

almost all sectors will be replaced with FTs lor... :angry:

CORRECT [thumbsup]

Unless absolutely necessary, (eg, investigate fraud etc), they won't be so free to look up on which individual voted them. Or even zoom down to a particular group of people like the civil servants. All these are just them playing mind tricks. Besides, to go reopen and recount the votes, they need all political parties to be present too.

Exactly. There are hundreds of thousands of voters. If there were to zero in to each and every one that voted in the opposite direction, it will take them ages.

Vote wisely.