The Whiskey Thread

Parkingidiot

What's your favourite Whiskey brand(s)?  

103 members have voted

1. 1. Favorite Whiskey(s) (includes single malts, bourbon, blended, etc)

• Glenfiddich
    • Macallan
    • Glenlivet
    • Highland Park
    • Ballantines
    • Cutty Sark
    • Johnnie Walker
    • Chivas
    • Jim Beam
    • Gentleman Jack
    • Jack Daniels
    • Others
  2. 2. Other Drinks (everything else)

• Beer
    • Tequila
    • Rum
    • Vodka
    • Red Wine
    • White Wine
    • Champagne
    • Cocktails
    • Soft Drinks
    • Water
    • Others

A new bottle of 12 year Glenffidich single malt ... 40-50 bucks

A bit of cheddar cheese ... 3-4 bucks

Watching a marathon session of Jason Bourne Trilogy ... free

Going to sleep with a nice warm feeling at 4am at the beginning of a long weekend... Priceless

G'nite, folks!

Folks

Was at paragon on sat afternoon

Spotted a liquer store w a boy size poster of the glenfidich

Place is at basement1 of paragon near guardian pharmacy

Retailing at$120 for the 12 yr old and $180 for the 15 yr old

Folks

wow.... duty paid prices are soooo expensive!!! Alamak... lucky for duty free, otherwise cannot enjoy whisky!

I've an old rare (can't remember the name at the moment) that comes in a wooden box with a cert number and an invitation card to visit the distillery. Bought it some 15 years ago and I'll drink it when I retire. :D Just hope the distillery is still there when I eventually get round to drinking it.

BTW, one of the best I've tasted is a Special Blend by Chivas. The bottle is shaped like Hershey's teardrop and is black in colour. I've looked around airports and shops but never seen before. Guess all I can have is the empty bottle for remembrance. [:/] If anyone is hording some and would like to let go, please let me know.

Do any of you guys keep unopened whiskey bottles for the sake of collecting /memorablia, etc... eg, some people collect coke bottles?

I have a few of these. The oldest one is a bottle of whiskey given by a friend during my wedding. That bottle had been in his family for >20yrs. I had not opened it yet - so it's still Mint in Sealed Bottle (MISB). So it's nearly 40years old now. I can't remember the brand. I'll take a pic tonight and share here for you guys to salivate over.

I know once it's uncasked and bottle, this no longer improves the flavour or mellows it, but it's kind of cool to have a MISB whisky thats nearly half a century old, waiting for that one special occasion to be opened.

Edited by Dwoon

Nbzzzz just when it was out of mind... this thread got to resurface again...... getting thirsty.... [laugh]

hmmm between the brand I more familiar... Jack Daniel, Jim Bean and Chivas... looks like JD more popular..... hmmmm other than DFS, where can get at a "reasonable" price?? [inlove]

Edited by Nlatio

I wonder will the alcohol content diminish if the unopened bottle is kept for years?

Also, will the whisky go bad (maybe not bad... but taste different than it was originally intended)

wow.... duty paid prices are soooo expensive!!! Alamak... lucky for duty free, otherwise cannot enjoy whisky!

they're not cheap, but i wouldn't say it's expensive. In most developed countries, distilled liquors are taxed, the difference is only high tax or low tax, that's why duty-free shops exist mah lol

it's not expensive because i find that alcoholic drinks seem to be the only thing that has resisted inflation in SG. When i first started drinking hardcore, around 15 years ago, booze has been roughly the same price ever since. In fact, for wines, they seem to get cheaper n cheaper lol. Now u tell me, how many things still cost the same as 15 years ago?

Folks

i think that shop is called bacchus.. look for don. he will be able to intro you some good stuff but pls dun be deceived by the messy outlook of the shop (which looks like whoesale price).. their price abit steep ah..

enjoy.. [:)]

you got me interested now.. can you take a picture of the bottle and show us here?

as for your question, whisky will not lose its alcohol content if kept in a cool place (out of sun and heat). i never heard of whisky going bad cos i never allow it to happen. [laugh][laugh]

imo, the best way to keep a whisky it is to drink it. keep it inside your memory.. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

there is also this liquor wholesaler - they have their office/warehouse along dunearn road - in one of the old landed property converted to business.

I happened to go there once to collect a credit card point redemption for a couple of wine bottles - and saw this great booze joint! Can't remember the name now.

ANyway - they put me on their mailing list - and every now and then, they send me these cool liquour collectibles as samples/gifts.

there is also this liquor wholesaler - they have their office/warehouse along dunearn road - in one of the old landed property converted to business.

I happened to go there once to collect a credit card point redemption for a couple of wine bottles - and saw this great booze joint! Can't remember the name now.

ANyway - they put me on their mailing list - and every now and then, they send me these cool liquour collectibles as samples/gifts.

Yeah, been there before to collect some wine or other when I was still in the trade. Think it was Hock Tong Bee right? Now they changed their name to Cornerstone already.

These are mainly wine suppliers. For whisky specialists, try La Maison du Whisky, or The Whisky Store. These guys know their whisky and don't muck around with inferior stuff. But their stuff is mostly above $100...

See their websites damn thirsty man! [mad]

Edited by Hermitage

if you want to buy jim beam, you can go to laurels or chuan hoe.. i remember the price is about $35? cheaper than cold storage.

kum sia bro.... S$35 sound reasonable.... [:p]

Yeah, been there before to collect some wine or other when I was still in the trade. Think it was Hock Tong Bee right? Now they changed their name to Cornerstone already.

These are mainly wine suppliers. For whisky specialists, try La Maison du Whisky, or The Whisky Store. These guys know their whisky and don't muck around with inferior stuff. But their stuff is mostly above $100...

See their websites damn thirsty man! [mad]

kns.... above S$100.... no budget.... [rolleyes][laugh]

i think that shop is called bacchus.. look for don. he will be able to intro you some good stuff but pls dun be deceived by the messy outlook of the shop (which looks like whoesale price).. their price abit steep ah..

enjoy.. [:)]

thanks bro !!

I wonder will the alcohol content diminish if the unopened bottle is kept for years?

Also, will the whisky go bad (maybe not bad... but taste different than it was originally intended)

If the cork doesn't go bad then no evaporation. So you must tilt the bottle to lie on it's side once every 6 months or so, so the cork is moist. If too dry hosay Liao, you also start losing angels share!

do give ardbeg a try :)

i like its heavy woody taste. [thumbsup]

for whiskey, i feel that the best age is 15 or more, the 12s just doesnt do it for me anymore.