Quirky 3rd Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Was driving around 50km/h on the CTE slip road to AMK Ave 1 around 7.40pm. My driver side wheel went over this big rock (Size of 3 fists). Couldn't avoid in time. The car went over quite loudly and with moderate force. Saw from the left side mirror - the rock exiting from the left side of the car. The tyres and rims look ok. Any advice on what else to check for? Thanks! Saw a Wish parked at the chevron markings with hazard lights on. Wonder if it kenna the rock? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrkiasume Neutral Newbie April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Was driving around 50km/h on the CTE slip road to AMK Ave 1 around 7.40pm. My driver side wheel went over this big rock (Size of 3 fists). Couldn't avoid in time. The car went over quite loudly and with moderate force. Saw from the left side mirror - the rock exiting from the left side of the car. The tyres and rims look ok. Any advice on what else to check for? Thanks! Saw a Wish parked at the chevron markings with hazard lights on. Wonder if it kenna the rock? wa jialat. happened to my car before at tampines. i got a straight flat. errm. maybe you free can go check wheel alignment? from what i know. 1 knock like that. alignment can go off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruykava Neutral Newbie April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 wa jialat. happened to my car before at tampines. i got a straight flat. errm. maybe you free can go check wheel alignment? from what i know. 1 knock like that. alignment can go off. definitely check the alignment. it is almost certain to be off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Was driving around 50km/h on the CTE slip road to AMK Ave 1 around 7.40pm. My driver side wheel went over this big rock (Size of 3 fists). Couldn't avoid in time. The car went over quite loudly and with moderate force. Saw from the left side mirror - the rock exiting from the left side of the car. The tyres and rims look ok. Any advice on what else to check for? Thanks! Saw a Wish parked at the chevron markings with hazard lights on. Wonder if it kenna the rock? You are one freaking lucky fella!! I went over a big rock too at depot couple of weeks ago and it blew up two of my tyres.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Alignment confirm out... Go for $40-$60 alignment to save your tires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear April 12, 2011 Author Share April 12, 2011 (edited) Thanks for all the advice. Read through the forum - Recommendation seems to be either Kian Teong (Sin Ming Autocare) or Kenny Wheel (AMK Autopoint). Does anyone know how long the wheel alignment will take? And whether they can check the undercarriage at the same time? Edited April 12, 2011 by Quirky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dadiao 1st Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Well ... imho, can check for any leaks, and any lower carriage physical damage ... if nothing, shall be okay, not to worry too much. Cars are normally tough enough to withstand uneven terrains to certain extents, in stock conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 I suggest the rim be checked for cracks, warps, etc...and the tyres for damages internally. Alignment may be needed in some cases. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear April 12, 2011 Author Share April 12, 2011 Yup. Did a visual check. Didn't see any crack or warping. But unable to see the undercarriage... :( Wonder which lorry so inconsiderate never secure the cargo probably. Imagine if the rock lands on the bonnet or windscreen of another car!! I suggest the rim be checked for cracks, warps, etc...and the tyres for damages internally. Alignment may be needed in some cases. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Visual check cannot tell if the rim is warped. May need to put in on the balancing machine to check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooosh 1st Gear April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Yup. Did a visual check. Didn't see any crack or warping. But unable to see the undercarriage... :( Wonder which lorry so inconsiderate never secure the cargo probably. Imagine if the rock lands on the bonnet or windscreen of another car!! warp cant see.....normally if the wheel wobble very badly on a balancing machine then have to change rims already..... The wheel is warped if travelling and the steering wheel vibrate..... Suggest you go tyre shop check.....safety first.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kish1313 Neutral Newbie April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 singapore roads nwadays very jialat... re surfacing all very bad... up and down bumpy.... alot potholes also nowadays... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flykite Clutched April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Wonder which lorry so inconsiderate never secure the cargo probably. Imagine if the rock lands on the bonnet or windscreen of another car!! i kena before, it sucks. REALLY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear April 12, 2011 Author Share April 12, 2011 I can imagine how u feel. A driver really has his own set of headaches as compared to those taking public transport. Did you manage to get the driver to stop? I will think he won't know his cargo tried to escape! i kena before, it sucks. REALLY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 (edited) Just park your car over cement surface and observe if any unexpected liquid (not the usual aircon condensation!) leaking out from under. Then can also do normal driving over the usual speed range and see if there's any change to the feel, or added vibration. Visual check the tires, see if there's any damage. Cars are very tough lah... no need to worry much about these things. It's just that singapore roads are very smooth and pothole-free, so most drivers become somewhat 'hyper-sensitive' and imagine all sorts of damage to their cars. It's just a piece of transportation, that's all, and will accumulate its share of dings, dents, scrapes, etc. but will still keep doing its job moving you from A to B. Edited April 12, 2011 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear April 12, 2011 Author Share April 12, 2011 (edited) Is the vibration constant? I drove for another 15 minutes after the encounter. There was no vibration at the wheel. A lot of worries though. I wound down the window to try to listen for any hissing from the tyres. There was none, or my ears couldn't pick anything up. warp cant see.....normally if the wheel wobble very badly on a balancing machine then have to change rims already..... The wheel is warped if travelling and the steering wheel vibrate..... Suggest you go tyre shop check.....safety first.. Edited April 12, 2011 by Quirky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flykite Clutched April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 the rock was probably as big or bigger than the one you went over... count yourself lucky you went over the rock and not the rock over you! when it hit, i had to stop by the side to ascertain the damage, lucky it hit at passenger side, if not, i could have lost control. the glass shards were everywhere! imagine having this fist sized rock flying towards you at upwards of 70-80km/h by the time i realised i should have given chase, the 40ft trailer was gone... sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MTRAC Neutral Newbie April 12, 2011 Share April 12, 2011 Thanks for all the advice. Read through the forum - Recommendation seems to be either Kian Teong (Sin Ming Autocare) or Kenny Wheel (AMK Autopoint). Does anyone know how long the wheel alignment will take? And whether they can check the undercarriage at the same time? Normally, cross alignment can be done in under 1 hour. If workshop has a hole 'pit', they will go into the pit to do the adjustment therefore they should be able to check undercarriage as well. If not, they can jack your car up to check. Last time i hit a rock.... my camber is out by 1 degree. Some car can adjust camber and some cannot. Need major modification. If camber out will cause uneven wear. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...