RogueGTR Neutral Newbie May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Actually am not 'rich' but just passable & happen to own a C63 does it mean that i am 'how lian'? No of cos not, just that it's one personal dream to own nice cars & mind u, am not born with silver spoon. Can I afford the running cost? yes but is it worthwhile? Nope! why? Road tax is $7.4 k yearly! Insurance 50% NCD +5% also cost $4k! Damn it's super expensive & flushing good money down the drain. Wait, there's super unleaded petrol bill of 4km per 1 liter. Tires are approx $600 a piece & the pair in the rears run out at approx 7k mileage (rear wheel drive with lots of torque) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Why is your insurance so expensive? I have 30% and mine costs about 3.5k. Your C63's arch rival I thought insurance should be just about the same level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogueGTR Neutral Newbie May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 Why is your insurance so expensive? I have 30% and mine costs about 3.5k. Your C63's arch rival I thought insurance should be just about the same level. assumed it's M3? Arch Rival or RS4? Simple explaination fm brokers- all Insurance Company scared of the C63 cos capacity just as large as the Rolls in a tiny body. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 We are talking about affordability. If u can afford a M3 for such case, u should be able to afford the insurance and road tax. U not willing to give government does not mean u cannot afford. Right? Still you can afford!! Mtl go buy one. it is an issue of buay bei loh not buay bei kee for puffer and certain folks in this forum it's ok to buay eh kee but buay bei loh the worst is buay bei kee yet buay eh loh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 30, 2011 Share May 30, 2011 (edited) I think.. normally a person would spend <30% of their income on cars. you mean downpayment <30% of income or car price <30% big difference wor...... if car price<30% of annual income, it's minority of car owners, not normally as you suggested Edited May 30, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 31, 2011 Share May 31, 2011 assumed it's M3? Arch Rival or RS4? Simple explaination fm brokers- all Insurance Company scared of the C63 cos capacity just as large as the Rolls in a tiny body. RS4 is crap lah... It can't even beat the E46 M3 CSL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogueGTR Neutral Newbie June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 RS4 is crap lah... It can't even beat the E46 M3 CSL Actually I beg to differ, used to own a E46M3, only 1 in SEA that was running on full GruppeM Kelvar ram air intakes/ GruppeM mapped SMG shift & Engine DME, GruppeM touring Titanium Exhaust, PSS9/ AC front & Rear strut tower brace/ CSL front & rear Anti- roll bars & CSL rims- it's ok ok for drifting to show off, however if roads are less than perfect with awkward off camber corner which u need to make some last min 'unplanned' emergency adjustment- likelihood to be permanent feature to the greenery is damn high. As for outright grunt, it is also severely lacking for it has very lousy torque & u have to constantly rev the living daylights out of the poor car. For city driving, it's damn jerky, neck snapping till it just wanna make u go crazy. If this is your ideal testorone trip then am sure it's right up your alley Then again am lacking in skills am sure u can drive & handle the car much Better - cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 No lah my quote is from online reference especially M5board. They did extensive testing between RS4 and CSL and the CSL consistently beat the RS4 in handling. Acceleration wise agree that its not a match. I'm not a good driver lah. Just a normal point to point guy with occasional high speed runs in Msia. Titanium exhaust really matches the M3 (E46 and current gen). I personally like the rasp and titanium really brings it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trebuchet Neutral Newbie June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 Normally I just read the forum but after reading this thread. I decide to sign up. My 1st posting! I agree with Gay says. Both GAY and you show that if you have money, you'd just lose it after not more than 10 years. No wonder the chinese say riches don't last 3 generations. Not a single generation in your case if you spend in this way. Even if I could afford to buy such a car, I would also think 3 times about maintenance, wear and tear and consumption figures. And then I would have to balance it against the utility of buying such a car -- ie. how lian and bashability. And when that comes into play, there's so many other cars you would consider. It's a different tier of car but pretty much similar when it comes to the number of costs vs. benefits. Note I said number of. I guess my definition of "afford to buy" is different than yours. Earn a lot of money means easy to earn ah? And that will always have that kind of income? Fools and their moneys... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wuluilang Neutral Newbie June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Trebuchet, what you say no wrong also. Honestly, it really depends on how much you earn on whether is the car purchase and maintenance is within reach. There are people that i know are paying to their end for a toyota car. reason being of their income is to a certain reach (limited). Below is just an example hor... 1) friend A earns $8k per mth to afford a m3. Still ok with it. 2) friend B earns $16k per mth to afford a m3. still has spare cash for next generation (?) For those who dream to afford one OR have to own a vehicle due to some circumstances (face sake, because of work) will be friend A. For those who dream to afford one OR have to own a vehicle (face sake, because of work) & also provide some cash for the next generation will be friend B. Question is which friend you belong to. There is no right or wrong. I believe we all know that. But ultimately its up to individual on their own purchase. We can't really give judgment by whatever purchase they have done. For me is friend B. haha... Cheers man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wuluilang Neutral Newbie June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 Oh... 1 more thing to take note. Buying such "exotic" cars, most important is can tahan the depreciation not the entire car price. Owners can drive for a year and sell which they may lose about $50k per year for depreciation. So its not that bad that take away 3 generation money. If by saying that, i duno what to say liao... haha.. Cheerio.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 (edited) Trebuchet, what you say no wrong also. Honestly, it really depends on how much you earn on whether is the car purchase and maintenance is within reach. There are people that i know are paying to their end for a toyota car. reason being of their income is to a certain reach (limited). Below is just an example hor... 1) friend A earns $8k per mth to afford a m3. Still ok with it. 2) friend B earns $16k per mth to afford a m3. still has spare cash for next generation (?) For those who dream to afford one OR have to own a vehicle due to some circumstances (face sake, because of work) will be friend A. For those who dream to afford one OR have to own a vehicle (face sake, because of work) & also provide some cash for the next generation will be friend B. Question is which friend you belong to. There is no right or wrong. I believe we all know that. But ultimately its up to individual on their own purchase. We can't really give judgment by whatever purchase they have done. For me is friend B. haha... Cheers man... $16k is man in the street..... buy M3 ? can lah but that's extravagant spending in my opinion. Unless he is already 55 , with a pot of cash lying somewhere and still passive income $16k, more possible. but for a young man in early thirties earning just $16k per month to splash out on a $300k car is really squandering. better to get cheaper car and save / invest first. plus if got family must plan well. must be more sensible guess thats why everyone knows a bankrupt friend Edited June 5, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wuluilang Neutral Newbie June 5, 2011 Share June 5, 2011 (edited) Not wrong by saying that. Its really to each on his own. For a $16k per mth, if he has a good savings which i believe most likely to be able to buy a $300k car. For him to drive a period, not that its not possible. But after that he may drive a normal conti car. As a man (?), been there done that. I don't see why not people are going in that direction. Really. Perhaps its only 1 year of ownership. Take a look at the link. Quite a number are 1-2 yrs old. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing...=M3&MAK=BMW Have to think that though a car cost $300k+ but that doesn't mean the person has to fork out the whole amount in order to own the car. Most important is the person is able to stomach the depreciation. Yes, in china, it has to be cash to buy car. Loan only for some situation. Can't really recall the requirements are. So by saying that, if a young lad (who earns about $8k per mth) who has a savings of $50k (less than a yr income) in the piggybank. He can afford a m3 (maybe with 10yrs loan. haha...) without much worries, at least during his ownership. Of coz after the ownership, its back to square one with his mthly pay of $8k with probably 0 in the piggybank. But it will oni takes him a year to earn back where he started out. At least for me, i think its better to lose $50k on car rather than losing it on stocks / gambling table and probaly 25 times going to Grand lido. Seems like owning a m3 is quite easy ya... haha... Edited June 5, 2011 by Wuluilang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 Not wrong by saying that. Its really to each on his own. For a $16k per mth, if he has a good savings which i believe most likely to be able to buy a $300k car. For him to drive a period, not that its not possible. But after that he may drive a normal conti car. As a man (?), been there done that. I don't see why not people are going in that direction. Really. Perhaps its only 1 year of ownership. Take a look at the link. Quite a number are 1-2 yrs old. http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing...=M3&MAK=BMW Have to think that though a car cost $300k+ but that doesn't mean the person has to fork out the whole amount in order to own the car. Most important is the person is able to stomach the depreciation. Yes, in china, it has to be cash to buy car. Loan only for some situation. Can't really recall the requirements are. So by saying that, if a young lad (who earns about $8k per mth) who has a savings of $50k (less than a yr income) in the piggybank. He can afford a m3 (maybe with 10yrs loan. haha...) without much worries, at least during his ownership. Of coz after the ownership, its back to square one with his mthly pay of $8k with probably 0 in the piggybank. But it will oni takes him a year to earn back where he started out. At least for me, i think its better to lose $50k on car rather than losing it on stocks / gambling table and probaly 25 times going to Grand lido. Seems like owning a m3 is quite easy ya... haha... yah, can buy. yah can "afford".... these are the guys who live life "on margin" loh Base on the "trading on margin" technique, everyone here can also "own" millions of dollars forward. Does that make everyone here a bona fide millionaire? Dont cheat oneself. Be more down to earth, lah. Not buying M3 doesnt mean have to gamble away or go to Lido. It may mean having more money for investments or for a rainy day, or for your family to enjoy a holiday, or having less weight on your shoulders in tough economic times...etc.etc.. To me, I prefer being able to have the car and all of the above. And I'm not saying that I'm right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wuluilang Neutral Newbie June 6, 2011 Share June 6, 2011 (edited) haha.. guess u r a family man. For a family man, its very logical to think in such a way. I do think the same as you. :) But still i will buy a nice car. :) Yap, and its otw. yum yum. Cheers mate.. Edited June 6, 2011 by Wuluilang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 7, 2011 Share June 7, 2011 haha.. guess u r a family man. For a family man, its very logical to think in such a way. I do think the same as you. :) But still i will buy a nice car. :) Yap, and its otw. yum yum. Cheers mate.. so your SUV when choot chia? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wuluilang Neutral Newbie June 11, 2011 Share June 11, 2011 what makes u say its a suv? nnb.. do i know u? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic June 11, 2011 Share June 11, 2011 Trebuchet, what you say no wrong also. Honestly, it really depends on how much you earn on whether is the car purchase and maintenance is within reach. There are people that i know are paying to their end for a toyota car. reason being of their income is to a certain reach (limited). Below is just an example hor... 1) friend A earns $8k per mth to afford a m3. Still ok with it. 2) friend B earns $16k per mth to afford a m3. still has spare cash for next generation (?) For those who dream to afford one OR have to own a vehicle due to some circumstances (face sake, because of work) will be friend A. For those who dream to afford one OR have to own a vehicle (face sake, because of work) & also provide some cash for the next generation will be friend B. Question is which friend you belong to. There is no right or wrong. I believe we all know that. But ultimately its up to individual on their own purchase. We can't really give judgment by whatever purchase they have done. For me is friend B. haha... Cheers man... I belong friend c, earn 16k a month and get a M6 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...