Do you accept his apologies?

Windwaver

For ease of this discussion, if we can (idealistically) divide the population into quintiles:

1st Quintile: Upper Class (household income >>$450K p.a.)

2nd Quintile: Upper-Middle Class (>$200K and <450K p.a.)

3rd Quintile: Middle Class / the 'sandwiched' class (>100K and <200K)

4th Quintile: Lower-Middle Class (>$30K and <$100K)

5th Quintile: Low Income / marginalized (<$30K)

Wah liddat most of us end up as middle class and some in lower-middle class. Is that good or bad ha?

Actually how many Singaporeans have combined family income of >$200K? That's something like $15K/mth on a 13-month basis.

Come to think of it, maybe lah ... times have changed and salaries & wages have increased over the last 10 years, with better jobs I suppose.

But a more voiciferous group are the sandwiched class - the 3rd and 4th Quintile groups. They could make or break the desired results of the 2011GE, regardless of from whose point of view. Most of the people falling into this category are educated - at least O/A levels, if not poly and university degrees. They would form the majority of the HDB heartlanders, with decent jobs as professionals, middle management in manufacturing, construction, technicians, sales, finance, commerce, teachers, administrative, designers, store managers, service industry, all new university/poly graduates with <10years experience (be they engineers, accountants, architects, media professionals etc.), or their own small businesses. If they are lucky enough, they may already be living in mass-market / suburb condominiums, or in tiny shoe-box (<1,200 sqft) units in the prime district. Their jobs are decent-paying, but they want more. They eye a share of the ministers' salaries, and are asking them to be cut. They want foreign talent to be reduced, as they are facing stiff competition from them in the professions and/or trades and businesses they are in. They want cheaper houses, larger 5-room HDB flats in good locations, on higher floors with a good view. Given the opportunity, they would want to own condominium units or even landed property. So they want the government to give them that opportunity, by reducing the cost of housing drastically. Most in this group would also probably own a car, but they want more than just an A-to-B car. They would want their family to be seen in a Merc, BMW, or Audi and they want the government to increase quotas and to lower COE premiums drastically - with scant consideration of the increasing car population, huge jams and ever-increasing ERP charges. Even in the car-owning sectors, they blame the foreigners of increasing the demand for cars. They want higher salary increases and quick promotions in their jobs, to support their wants. And as far as pro-creation is concerned, they again blame the foreginers and the government of making their lives so stressful and thus are unable to make more babies. But then, if they can be contented with what they already have, instead of chasing the Singaporean dream of the 5Cs, for a bigger house in a better location, a more prestigious car, higher pay, higher job status, then the babies will just come naturally.

Hmmm... but aren't we human to envy and want more?

But agree with you that this is the most sensitive group of people ... that is, most of us here.

I think ah, if the WP were to offer every first 10 in each polling station that votes for them to a guaranteed Mercedes S350 prize, a queue will be formed starting tonight (May 5)! :D

Or if NSP offers a 10% rebate on your next house purchase downpayment. People will fight to cut queue at the polling stations! [laugh]

The Singapore that our forefathers have built is our crown jewel, envied by many nations.

Why finish a race in first position and then after crossing the finish line, pour mud all over our bodies? That would be the most foolish thing to do.

We should not lose all that we have achieved.

Look at the countries immediately around us. That's is the norm, in terms of quality of life and standard of living.

We have made Singapore to be very special indeed.

The feeling each time I land at Changi Airport, after an overseas business trip.

Singapore is all we've got. I call it home and so do we.

And your point is?

To vote wisely, so as to ensure that we don't lose it forever?

Actually hor, that same sentimental feeling of serendipity (on who we are and what we stand for and have achieved, on this tiny-nothing of an island hits me mushy sometimes too, whenever I return home from overseas.

[News] Vivian's regret over comment on needy

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan yesterday expressed regret over a comment he made in Parliament which he described as 'one statement which will haunt me for my entire political life'.

The comment was made in 2007, when the Minister for Community Development and Sports had an exchange with fellow MP Dr Lily Neo, on whether the government could give more money to the poor so that they could afford three meals a day.

He had said: 'How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?'

Last night at a rally in Clementi, Dr Balakrishan said that the statement he made 'was wrong'.

He urged Singaporeans to read the entire parliamentary exchange, in which he had gone on to point out that a targeted approach to help needy families who needed additional help was better as the needs of individual families were different.

Yesterday, he said that he made the remark because 'unfortunately for me, I'm one of those ministers who likes to speak without notes and sometimes I make mistakes'.

Full story in ST

I wonder we all should be expecting Mr. Wong to apologize next for Mas Selamat?

And for Mr. Ibrahim for the Orchard Road floods?

Whose the next in line?

Actually i heard rumors he was pretty unhappy since the Casino incident :ph34r:

heard apart from the recent retired, he was another person not happy about it.

other kopi tiam rumors is Casino had split the party.

And should anyone be apologizing for the IRs?

Do we need an apology here at all, when its raking in high income and have created jobs?

Boss say sorry, then all the ka kia also come out say sorry... Hoping to get some more votes!!

Me and a co-worker went for the lunch rally today. There was this part where "Zero Error" was mentioned. It means in some professions, there is no room for error and saying 'sorry' is not an option. The crowd roared when it was mentioned in today's lunch rally, pretty happening I must say. I even saw some foreigners nodding their heads [laugh]

No way even if he knee down infront of the public.. DOn't forget.. he only mentioned IF... in his message.

IF....... That's not even a proper apology.

Apologies not accepted. We can forgive but cannot 4get. Will still vote opposition to keep MIW on their toes

Me and a co-worker went for the lunch rally today. There was this part where "Zero Error" was mentioned. It means in some professions, there is no room for error and saying 'sorry' is not an option. The crowd roared when it was mentioned in today's lunch rally, pretty happening I must say. I even saw some foreigners nodding their heads [laugh]

Bump for discussion

Clutched

GE2011 is the 16th parliamentary general election for Singapore.

I have given some thought over the apology act by LHL (since it is still campaigning or cooling off time, there is no government at the moment).

There are two level of reactions to his apology:

1) We need to applaud this action. I accept his apology.

Human errs, and hate will only breeds hate.

We need to understand he had gone a different way from previous PAP style and admitted shortcomings.

2) However, we should not judge his intention/motive in this election.

We should only verify his promise of listening better in the 17th GE.

Mathematically, when LHL did the apology act, he had admitted for the past five years 2006 - 2011, his team's performance is "-1".

Voters do not have to be guilt ridden and return his apology act a favour.

By apologising, giving him and his party a benefit of doubt, PAP is now reset to "0".

As such, PAP is starting at the same line as other parties now.

Voters can decide on May 7th whether they prefer more upgrades, weather stormy clouds, or transparency, accountability, who has more heart, more capable (insert voters' own priorities......)

However, in the 17th GE, if PAP did not change as LHL promised, LHL is proven to be insincere, or unable to keep up to his promise. They will start from "-2". Another apology will only make it "-1".

This is because, 过而不改 是谓过矣

i.e. 犯了过错而不加以改正,这才是真正有过错

In the private sector, if you're in a ZERO ERROR profession, other than getting fired for a mistake, one must also apologize. It's 2 parts -_-

apologise = get votes...then forget about it..wait till election again then repeat again..it's "L" kingdom , they do the talking..and pull our nose and walk..u bark..they sue u..

Before his apology I still trusted the gahmen but now I feels that the garmen had cheated me all these years.

They only apologise when confronted by the opposition during election.

What if there is no election?

Continue cheating us without saying a word?