BoneStock 5th Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Same here. My home had all cables concealed so we initially considered not to install the fibres because of the ugly trunking. Finally we decided to go for it and glad that we did because the trunking wasnt that ugly. We run it near the skirting....and the workers used the smaller trunking in our home. Outside of our home, they used the thicker ones. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patricklyb Clutched May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Izit free or u have to pay? Coz I thot the free installations have a limted period of time only? WHERE GOT FREE ONE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 The first cabling exercise is free(limit to a certain lenght). If you missed this round, then you have to foot the bill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patricklyb Clutched June 2, 2011 Share June 2, 2011 dunno you guys know anot only 01 opennet socket at any HDB flats. i found out as my wireless connection was dam* slow........but when you connect direct with modern the speed was veri good speedtest dls:50mbs ups 60mbs by m1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear June 2, 2011 Share June 2, 2011 I got my hdb house in 1988 and did my renovation with running of electrical & phone wires concealed inside my false ceiling. Then come Cablevision (now Starhub) and had to run an ugly trunking accross my dinning hall to hall just under the false ceiling....... So after staying for 18 years, I did a general renovation in 2007 to have all wire concealed and nicely done which I also expect to install the MIO system when Starhub lost the BPL rights to telecast. My Starhub, Singtel sockets and wiring were so well conceal behind a display cabinate so as to have a 40" flat screen TV mounted on the wall. KNN....................... now come OpenNet. Receive a letter with regards to the installing of fibre optic OpenNet cable. They are doing it for free and should we did not up the offer, the next time if we want to wire OpenNet, we have to pay $300+........ Its stated in their booklet that the fibre optic is for fast running broadband and also in future, able to watch HD & 3D TV movies. So its seem like I have to run the trunking just below the false ceiling again ........ I have the same concern too, I just get them to pull the cabling close to the main DB (very near to the main door) rather than all the way across the living room or any of the rooms. So I have the point and in future if I really need the fibre broadband, I can just place a router beside the fibre point, with power easily available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 2, 2011 Share June 2, 2011 The first cabling exercise is free(limit to a certain lenght). If you missed this round, then you have to foot the bill. Wonder it is a must to install this fibre optic OpenNet cable? If i didnt install this cable, would it affect me in future? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear June 2, 2011 Share June 2, 2011 2 yeArs Ago, open net came install at my block. i told them to roll the cable & put the box outside my home as i will be renovating my house 2 years later. now in midst of reno, contractor is gg rewire the whole place, wire trunking be hidden by false ceiling & L box. i called open net to come relocate the box behind my tv console where my starhub, etc telephone point is, skali open net say they free to come IN SEPTEMBER only.. ccb!!!! i offer pay more to come earlier also cannot.. they say fully book, sept oso dunno wen, cb feel like throwin the tb box at them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear June 2, 2011 Share June 2, 2011 if u hav existing trunking, ask them to run inside them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 2, 2011 Share June 2, 2011 (edited) i no like hd or 3d! got 1 time saw a programme in hd and feel like want to vomit! maybe my brain suaku brain! no lah ... its may be becoz ppl will have different visual wavelengths. i bought plasma becoz i felt tired after looking at my LCD tv for a while. and when i saw the LED - its was no doubt sharp and crisp ... but same thing i felt uneasy after watching the screen for a while. btw, the fibre cable that is given is only 3m long ..... can't do much .... so now i have to run my own cables from my room to the router myself. Edited June 2, 2011 by Ysc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 no lah ... its may be becoz ppl will have different visual wavelengths. i bought plasma becoz i felt tired after looking at my LCD tv for a while. and when i saw the LED - its was no doubt sharp and crisp ... but same thing i felt uneasy after watching the screen for a while. btw, the fibre cable that is given is only 3m long ..... can't do much .... so now i have to run my own cables from my room to the router myself. Hi Bro just want to ask if the speed is consistent throughout the day? my 30mbps can range from 20mpbs to 4mbps, with average hovers around 15mbps.... My contract ending this OCT, since fibre plan is even cheaper, y not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 (edited) i am using wireless at the moment .... so closer to the router is better. my pc just beside to the router is showing 25mbps for up and down and zero latency. i am on M1's 25mbps .... to be frank, the browsing speed is abt the same as my Mio 8mbps(butt feel). but downloading files is faster. wireless speeds are very inconsistent .... will be cabling up the connection this weekend. and yes, by switching from mio 8mbps to m1 25mbps fibre, i am saving $10 every month ! I am also porting my homeline over to M1 by paying a one time fee of $37. (canx my mio tomoro) so rental of the gateway from M1 at $2/mth, compared with $25/3 mths home line from Singtel .... save another 75% for the home line !! speedtest taken 3 jun @ 8:50am. Edited June 3, 2011 by Ysc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 i am using wireless at the moment .... so closer to the router is better. my pc just beside to the router is showing 25mbps for up and down and zero latency. i am on M1's 25mbps .... to be frank, the browsing speed is abt the same as my Mio 8mbps(butt feel). but downloading files is faster. wireless speeds are very inconsistent .... will be cabling up the connection this weekend. speedtest taken 3 jun @ 8:50am. Oh Thanks. The lower speed is due to the wireless connection? Is your router on N or G? Please let us know the speed when u r on direct connection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 for my block the installation was last yr but for the same concerns, wires alr concealed swee swee, new reno etc..i did not take up the offer to install. anyw these tech stuff, it wil b some time before it becomes absolute crucial for living. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 On wireless On wired I on M1 100mb plan, it is damn fast on wired. But M1 default router is a crap for wireless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patricklyb Clutched June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 (edited) On wireless On wired I on M1 100mb plan, it is damn fast on wired. But M1 default router is a crap for wireless. does that mean have to change the router as M1 give huawei! first day try to use spoilt have to change it at M1 shop mi more or less about the same speed on wireless, but on wired you download speed is wonderful my only 60+mbs but upload speed my is at 60mbs! btw im also using the M1 100mb plan! Edited June 3, 2011 by Patricklyb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 (edited) does that mean have to change the router as M1 give huawei! first day try to use spoilt have to change it at M1 shop Same as me lo. First day, my huawei router spoilt. I damn dulan, went straight to M1 and exchange new one lo. To improve the wireless, just buy a add on wireless router lo to bridge connection. But i dont see the purpose of doing it as i had lay 2 LAN cable into my room. Wired speed is the best and stable. Have you called M1 to upgrade your huawei router firmware to a new version, it will improve the speed. If you have 100mb plan, the wired download speedshould be around 80-90++, you 60mb seem like slow, i guess is your pc spec is bottleneck. Best is you check your PC spec. Edited June 3, 2011 by Dscheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hulk 1st Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 (edited) no lah ... its may be becoz ppl will have different visual wavelengths. i bought plasma becoz i felt tired after looking at my LCD tv for a while. and when i saw the LED - its was no doubt sharp and crisp ... but same thing i felt uneasy after watching the screen for a while. btw, the fibre cable that is given is only 3m long ..... can't do much .... so now i have to run my own cables from my room to the router myself. Yes me same too. The fibre termination point is at living room behind TV, my desktop is in my bedroom and I don't want wireless (slow) so I enage my own contractor to lay LAN cable to my bedroom to desktop, heng LAN cable able to squeeze into fibre trunking. Edited June 3, 2011 by Hulk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hulk 1st Gear June 3, 2011 Share June 3, 2011 Same as me lo. First day, my huawei router spoilt. I damn dulan, went straight to M1 and exchange new one lo. To improve the wireless, just buy a add on wireless router lo to bridge connection. But i dont see the purpose of doing it as i had lay 2 LAN cable into my room. Wired speed is the best and stable. Have you called M1 to upgrade your huawei router firmware to a new version, it will improve the speed. If you have 100mb plan, the wired download speedshould be around 80-90++, you 60mb seem like slow, i guess is your pc spec is bottleneck. Best is you check your PC spec. Same happened to me also. Router spoilt upon first day (didn't know at that time) install, make opennet ppl come troubleshoot all the connection. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...