Wizzercool 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Of course, you may. Do take note that we are targetting to reach SKY 10am, so that are ample time to enjoy the durians without rushing. We will arrange a convenient meet-up point at a later stage [you will be coming in from the Ayer Keroh Tolls, we from the opp direction, and no u-turns around]. If you wish, please add your nick in the list. Bro, If we leave Sg at 6:30am, definitely can reach SKY by 10am. Early morning drive at NSH is cooling and quite shiok too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 It is alright. The poor response is likely due to : RM40/pax, overnight stay in hotel, no-chiong driving After we receive the durian harvest update on 21/5/2011, the plan would be finalized. Those names remaining on the list will proceed, because there is no minimum pax required. RM 40 per pax is OK, depending on the quality of the durian. I paid SGD 15 (RM 35) per kilo for Mau-Shan-Wang in Singapore. If they provide only the lowever grade D13, D2, D101 then not worth the trip liao becos our total costs include 3/4 tank petrol, toll, time and any incident (touchwood, no summons). Keep me informed when the harvest is confirmed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phmaksg Clutched May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 (edited) RM 40 per pax is OK, depending on the quality of the durian. I paid SGD 15 (RM 35) per kilo for Mau-Shan-Wang in Singapore. If they provide only the lowever grade D13, D2, D101 then not worth the trip liao becos our total costs include 3/4 tank petrol, toll, time and any incident (touchwood, no summons). Keep me informed when the harvest is confirmed I've been to Kg Teratai durian farm twice, they charged RM$25 per pax for durian buffet but the durians offered are all of lower grade. However the Mao San Wang that I bought back was nice (RM$25 per kilo) Actually to drive up juz for durian is not worth while, it's for the fun of driving and interest. Edited May 16, 2011 by Phmaksg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear May 16, 2011 Author Share May 16, 2011 yeah, it's my first trip to such farm. can't wait too but what kind of durian grade to expect? I can only say "not bad", because I am not related to SKY Try browsing the SKY website, and also the comments in our previous trip. The links are included in the opening post here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Poor response Looks like have to wait for Enzomatrix to organize one. Last year event was a big convoy, speeding along the NSH . Probably wil have to wait because I have not contact the plantation. Will be out of town till end of May haha. This time I will be going with VOGS club members. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Yes, RM$40/pax for adult durian buffet. More info [price, location, etc...] can be found in the SKY website in this thread. Not sure which hotel yet, because not familiar with Melaka, and also can only finalize after 21/5/2011 when durian harvest update come in. - preliminary plan is set off SG early morning [6am ++], reach Melaka 9am++, drive to explore those places near the Straits of Melaka, lunch/makan/shop. Check in hotel mid-noon. - likely to be those average-price hotels [eg. Baba House, Puri Melaka] in the vicinity of Jln Tan Cheng Lock. These are walking distances to some of the places of interests [eg. Nonya Museum, Jonker Night Market]. At nite, leave the cars in the hotel carpark, and walk to Jonker Night Market. - next morning, after breakfast, reach SKY 10am for the durian buffet. Sorry fellas! But I have a great fear of durians! The roadtrip sounds good though , is it OK if I don't go fo the durian part? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 I've been to Kg Teratai durian farm twice, they charged RM$25 per pax for durian buffet but the durians offered are all of lower grade. However the Mao San Wang that I bought back was nice (RM$25 per kilo) Actually to drive up juz for durian is not worth while, it's for the fun of driving and interest. Problem is I dun like to ta-pao durian. The whole car will smells of durian for days. You should join the one organized by Enzomatrix, it is at Pagoh, much further north than Kg Teratai, 180km of driving from Second Link (M'sia Side). The return trip is damn siong becos stomach is full and it is hot in the afternoon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear May 16, 2011 Author Share May 16, 2011 Sorry fellas! But I have a great fear of durians! The roadtrip sounds good though , is it OK if I don't go fo the durian part? All are welcome, in any format [eg. only durian, only roadtrip, only hotel, etc....]. Just dun set expectation too high, because I am newbie to Melaka. Nonetheless, I am checking info from websites [MCF, asiarooms, malaysia tourism, etc....], to gather as much info as possible. Suggestions/contributions are welcome as well. Maybe, someone with good knowledge of Melaka can take lead for the roadtrip, etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 (edited) Sorry, double post Edited May 16, 2011 by Good-Carbuyer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Of course, you may. Do take note that we are targetting to reach SKY 10am, so that are ample time to enjoy the durians without rushing. We will arrange a convenient meet-up point at a later stage [you will be coming in from the Ayer Keroh Tolls, we from the opp direction, and no u-turns around]. If you wish, please add your nick in the list. Many thanks. Let me check anyone else coming for durians (not all my siblings like durians). I believe it is a very luxurious time to drive there by 10am. Either date is fine with me. Just keep us posted on this forum. Mine a sliver Myvi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear May 17, 2011 Share May 17, 2011 All are welcome, in any format [eg. only durian, only roadtrip, only hotel, etc....]. Just dun set expectation too high, because I am newbie to Melaka. Nonetheless, I am checking info from websites [MCF, asiarooms, malaysia tourism, etc....], to gather as much info as possible. Suggestions/contributions are welcome as well. Maybe, someone with good knowledge of Melaka can take lead for the roadtrip, etc... WoW! Thanks mate! Came back from Melaka about 2 months ago. Small place lah, no need to worry about getting lost or anything. There're a few new malls there, all quite modern and comfortable. Went to the Dataran Pahlawan Megamall, new and looks big from the outside already, but occupying a huge area underground, this is where the mall really starts to spread out! When I was in there, stayed at the Equatorial. The Peranakan restaurant there is damn good, but not cheap. Singapore prices in fact. Never been to the revovling tower and all those other new attractions, so a return trip there would be nice! Lemme know when you guys have a confirmed date yah? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phmaksg Clutched May 17, 2011 Share May 17, 2011 WoW! Thanks mate! Came back from Melaka about 2 months ago. Small place lah, no need to worry about getting lost or anything. There're a few new malls there, all quite modern and comfortable. Went to the Dataran Pahlawan Megamall, new and looks big from the outside already, but occupying a huge area underground, this is where the mall really starts to spread out! When I was in there, stayed at the Equatorial. The Peranakan restaurant there is damn good, but not cheap. Singapore prices in fact. Never been to the revovling tower and all those other new attractions, so a return trip there would be nice! Lemme know when you guys have a confirmed date yah? Thanks! There is a place call Portuguese Square in Melaka where the seafood restaurants are located. It's directly facing the sea and the price is quite cheap and the food is not bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear May 17, 2011 Share May 17, 2011 There is a place call Portuguese Square in Melaka where the seafood restaurants are located. It's directly facing the sea and the price is quite cheap and the food is not bad Oh yeah, my friend brought me there a long time ago. Was high as a kite back then! On my recent trip there, I couldn't remember the location nor the name of the place! So couldn't even ask around for directions! Portuguese Square izzit? Thanks for the reminder! Loved the BBQ fish there cos they did it with assam chilli instead of the regular sambal for a Peranakan twist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear May 18, 2011 Author Share May 18, 2011 (edited) I have been trying to make reservation, in lieu of the durian harvest update, just in case fully booked by their local durian fans. Below is one the email reply from SKY, received moments ago. ----------------- Hi OPEL, FYI, as per current observation, the next harvest time will be at mid of June and a great amount of durians will be available at the end of June. For 05.06.2011, the durian might not sufficient for durian buffet for 10 adults (depend on individual food intake). If this date is the most ideal date for you all, you may still visit us and in case the durian is insufficient, the pricing will be either buffet per pax or durian per kg which is the lowest. For 26.06.2011, since this date is end of June, as mentioned before in this email, there will be a great amount of durians. Thank you. Best regards, Sim Koa Yen - Yap Min Siang ----------------- Under such circumstances, the drive-up to Melaka & SKY would be amended to 25 & 26 Jun'2011. More details would posted 1-2 days. Bro Kurty, I am sorry for this situation. May I propose as follows : - we will check with SKY on 9/6/2011, about durian harvest for 12/6/2011 [sun]. - if there is durian harvest expected for 12/6/2011, we will go with you just for the durians, w/o Melaka tour. - after durian buffet, me and wife will head up for our 1week stay in Genting. You will be on "free & easy". Hope this would be acceptable to you, subject to durian harvest update 9/6/2011. Cheers to all !! Edited May 18, 2011 by Opel17 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 I have been trying to make reservation, in lieu of the durian harvest update, just in case fully booked by their local durian fans. Below is one the email reply from SKY, received moments ago. ----------------- Hi OPEL, FYI, as per current observation, the next harvest time will be at mid of June and a great amount of durians will be available at the end of June. For 05.06.2011, the durian might not sufficient for durian buffet for 10 adults (depend on individual food intake). If this date is the most ideal date for you all, you may still visit us and in case the durian is insufficient, the pricing will be either buffet per pax or durian per kg which is the lowest. For 26.06.2011, since this date is end of June, as mentioned before in this email, there will be a great amount of durians. Thank you. Best regards, Sim Koa Yen - Yap Min Siang ----------------- Under such circumstances, the drive-up to Melaka & SKY would be amended to 25 & 26 Jun'2011. More details would posted 1-2 days. Bro Kurty, I am sorry for this situation. May I propose as follows : - we will check with SKY on 9/6/2011, about durian harvest for 12/6/2011 [sun]. - if there is durian harvest expected for 12/6/2011, we will go with you just for the durians, w/o Melaka tour. - after durian buffet, me and wife will head up for our 1week stay in Genting. You will be on "free & easy". Hope this would be acceptable to you, subject to durian harvest update 9/6/2011. Cheers to all !! Thanks for the update! 25th / 26th June sounds good at the moment... ...provided we don't get "raptured" by then!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phmaksg Clutched May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 (edited) Hi to everyone We had a drive-up in the previous year [4/7/2010] to Sim Koa Yen Durian Farm "SKY". * reference : http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...2382&st=200 [from post #210 onwards] Now we are planning a drive-up for Jun Edited May 19, 2011 by Phmaksg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hunkyhoo Neutral Newbie May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Please keep me posted. We might be interested to join. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phmaksg Clutched May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Updated list of participants Hi Bro, At the moment we have at least of 12 Adults, hope Mr. Yap can reserve for our group. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...