Bugts Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Author Share May 20, 2011 The time to think about speeding and any beneficial results it might produce is NOW, not during an emergency, whether real or imaginary. This is otherwise known as preparation. Only then will you be able to take hold of the crisis and cope with the situation. Typical case: 20 km from hospital. Likely actual average speed if comply with speed limit assuming encounter the usual traffic lights and road conditions: 60km/h. Journey time is therefore 20 minutes. If speeding at a constant 120kmh, likely overall average speed will only increase to maybe 68km/h. Journey time is therefore 17.5 minutes. Time saving: 2.5 minutes. Anyone who wants to exchange 2.5 minute time savings for 3 months suspension, go ahead (this is for those people who claim that they are speeding for emergencies not everyday speeding). preparation and emotion can't fit well.. maybe i'm too weak. when accident happen to close/loved, brain cannot function properly.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 more than double the speed limit is an automatic chargeable court offence! but isnt the law by the book? with is 24 points=3month suspension or 4 weeks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 but isnt the law by the book? with is 24 points=3month suspension or 4 weeks? bro that only applies to common offence but to travel above the speed limit at twice the legal speed limit is a very serious offence. there are other offences that has a similar penalty such as drunk driving and such. U have to go to their webbie to check the list. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 bro that only applies to common offence but to travel above the speed limit at twice the legal speed limit is a very serious offence. there are other offences that has a similar penalty such as drunk driving and such. U have to go to their webbie to check the list. so the points is fake one la? can collect 12 but still suspended? and like i said before, i rather pay 1k in fines than to let them deduct ONE point!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 (edited) so the points is fake one la? can collect 12 but still suspended? and like i said before, i rather pay 1k in fines than to let them deduct ONE point!!! its not fake la! points are given out depending on the seriousness of the offence from 3 onward. But for major offences as above u have to go court. i have had 22 points before or they say left with 2 points and i have the reminder letter from TP to prove such. First letter is when u breach the 12 points within a yr of the 1st offence and they will nicely ask u to go for refresher course. my above post #51 is real hor but it happened 18 yrs ago when i was young and dangerous. Edited May 20, 2011 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 its not fake la! points are given out depending on the seriousness of the offence from 3 to 24. But for major offences as above u have to go court. i have had 22 points before or they say left with 2 points and i have the reminder letter from TP to prove such. First letter is when u breach the 12 points within a yr of the 1st offence and they will nicely ask u to go for refresher course. i dont understand. im reading the BTT book now and im looking at the DIPS page. according to what they say, u get 24 points for crossing speed limit >60 of the road. so if i go at 160 on a 70km road, i have crossed the 60km/h limit. and thus i should be getting 24 points and 3 months suspension. if i go for the course its 4 weeks. once i get back the license, case closed i start from 12 points. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 i dont understand. im reading the BTT book now and im looking at the DIPS page. according to what they say, u get 24 points for crossing speed limit >60 of the road. so if i go at 160 on a 70km road, i have crossed the 60km/h limit. and thus i should be getting 24 points and 3 months suspension. if i go for the course its 4 weeks. once i get back the license, case closed i start from 12 points. see the link and check out the last paragraph http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...ps_offences.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 see the link and check out the last paragraph http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...ps_offences.htm oo. ok. so its 3mths suspension by default. but the court will decide if it should extend or shorten? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 i dont understand. im reading the BTT book now and im looking at the DIPS page. according to what they say, u get 24 points for crossing speed limit >60 of the road. so if i go at 160 on a 70km road, i have crossed the 60km/h limit. and thus i should be getting 24 points and 3 months suspension. if i go for the course its 4 weeks. once i get back the license, case closed i start from 12 points. There's a "PLUS" there - it's 24 points PLUS a court appearance.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 oo. ok. so its 3mths suspension by default. but the court will decide if it should extend or shorten? if u exceed by 60 km/h or more u will get 24 points and a date for the high court to impose the fine and the duration of ur suspension. My friend was charged under section 276 for illegal racing, had his licence revoked for a yr and fined 1000sgd and the fella he was racing was only fined due to some circumstances that best be remained unwritten. This offences are on bikes cos i not sure if the same applies to cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer8596 Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 so i can get one 24 point offence from 0 then get 3 months? i see before of cases where those with 0 points and kena caught going 140 on a 60km/h stretch suspended 1 year? how come? Let me explain to you again.. Ur frd is left wif 6 points and being summoned on another 8 pts where its a compoundable offence (which mean dun nd attend court), this will be liable for suspension... For exceeding road/vehicle speed limit by 60km/h is a non-compoundable offence (court case + 24points + suspension) In this case, suspension is given by Judge whom normally will gif at least 1 yr, in law, 1 yr suspension will mean revoke.. Need retake all over again.. Reason being is that u committed a 24 pts offences which is dangerous.. Just like u cnt expect a person always park at zig zag lines and kena 3 pts each time.. If he park 8 times within a year, his 24 pts will be gone, cnt b ask him retake driving test again since there is no 'dangerous' towards the public.. Speeding excessively is danger to other motorists and ownself, so is straight away court case plus revoke.. Its different scenario of ur origin scenario posted... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer8596 Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 if u exceed by 60 km/h or more u will get 24 points and a date for the high court to impose the fine and the duration of ur suspension. My friend was charged under section 276 for illegal racing, had his licence revoked for a yr and fined 1000sgd and the fella he was racing was only fined due to some circumstances that best be remained unwritten. This offences are on bikes cos i not sure if the same applies to cars. Road Traffic Act applies to same on car and motorcycles.. So long its petrol driven except for bicycle will be having same treatment except that fine might be different depend on Judge mood.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer8596 Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 oo. ok. so its 3mths suspension by default. but the court will decide if it should extend or shorten? For those non-court case, suspension is based by d law.. Judge will only come in when ur offence is non-compoundable (court case like drink driving, dangerous driving, speeding excessively more than road or vehicle speed limit of 60km/h and etc..) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer8596 Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 so anyone can confirm no revoked for -pts? suspend is ok but not more 12mths lah..! If its 1st timer suspension, almost 99.9% will be suspension for 3 months or 6 months, not more than 12 months... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 cant imagine bicycle doing 60 more than speed limit. guy must be carl lewis on wheels:-D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugts Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Author Share May 20, 2011 If its 1st timer suspension, almost 99.9% will be suspension for 3 months or 6 months, not more than 12 months... haa.. forgot to mention he's on P-Plate. so gone case right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 cant imagine bicycle doing 60 more than speed limit. guy must be carl lewis on wheels:-D a programme on cable showed a guy who raced downhill at a whopping 110+mph and his bicycle broke into 2 while attemtinh the record. Sad to say he had more than 2 broken bones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 must be ang mo. only ang mo everything also dare to do ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...