Drive to Peneng?

Ruzhyo

Bro in law jio drive to Peneng...

Kinda far... most I have done is KL and back in a day but kinda tired already when on the way back at night.

I did not make any stops on the way up or down.

Just full tank in JB, and again full tank in KL.

Not sure if I can do Peneng in a single bound. I'm sure have to stop to top up along the way.

Train looks slow and dirty, bus are scary fast.

I'm trying to ask him to fly as Jetstar only $100+...cheaper than petrol + toll...

Any one done SG - Peneng - SG? Any tips?

On yeah...both cars will be loaded with in laws......that means I cannot enjoy my sound system and have to listen to em yak....

you drive a sedan??

there is always a boot for them..... [sly]

i drive a mpv, so my option is ..................roof top [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Hamburger

Hmm, driving to Penang can be fun. However, it will be do-able if you have 2 drivers to rotate.

Can stay at Evergreen Hotel which is along Gurney drive where there is a big mall and the famous food centre.

However, the petrol ad the toll will definitely be costly.

When I was there last year end, saw two Singapore plate motorbikes there (those big cap sports bikes). Dunno how they survive the long road trip. If they are on enduro bikes or road bikes, still doable, but sports bike [hur] [hur] [hur]

I do Penang trip every year. I will drive non-stop to Ipoh for Ipoh hor fun lunch and then proceed to Penang after a good rest. Set off at 9am and u should hit Ipoh by 2pm and reach Penang by 5pm. The drive along Ipoh to Penang is quite scenic but b cautious of the slope (which u can't see but your car can certainly feel it), esp driving downslope. For stay, I recommend G Hotel - a nice hotel just next to Gurney Plaza and hawker - very convenient place.

You can stop at KL for a day and continue the journey on the 2nd day. Makes it more bearable. Have done SG to Penang a few times and I love it. KL is almost at the mid point. Penang is a very nice place. The food is fantastic. You should go.

Bro in law say set off at 4am SG, reach around lunch.

I be the only 1 driving. Bro in law will be in his Honda Fit but he got Co driver.

Really sian...really don't feel like going... air asia / jetstar so cheap ... knn still wanna drive...

I be the only 1 driving. Bro in law will be in his Honda Fit but he got Co driver.

Really sian...really don't feel like going... air asia / jetstar so cheap ... knn still wanna drive...

Put the in laws in his car. Problem solved!

Kinda far... most I have done is KL and back in a day but kinda tired already when on the way back at night.

I did not make any stops on the way up or down.

Just full tank in JB, and again full tank in KL.

Not sure if I can do Peneng in a single bound. I'm sure have to stop to top up along the way.

Train looks slow and dirty, bus are scary fast.

I'm trying to ask him to fly as Jetstar only $100+...cheaper than petrol + toll...

Any one done SG - Peneng - SG? Any tips?

Are you driving a Japanese car?

Can fly to meet them there?

I drive to Penang every year.

The way to drive such long journey is to have more petrol and rest stop in between so that the journey becomes very relax and pleasant.

If you cannot drive in a relax manner but have to rush or play catching all the way to Penang, then forget about driving, it is too dangerous and stressful.

Haha alot of us had rode sport bike the whole round of thailand..so riding sport bike from sgp to penang is peanut..the true challenge is ride kup kia hahaha:)) one of my fren did his Laos and cambodia trip on a kup kia.. [hur]:wacko:

penang is generally not a difficult drive... last time after the tunnel the winding road was pretty dangerous, seen many cars skidded there especially during raining weather but now the road is wider and generally safer just keep your speed slow. for me I usually drive up without stopping well of course with the exception of topping fuel. heck even to kedah as well as my in-laws are there. around taiping, need to pump one time fuel then shoot all the way up. to penang is about 5.15hrs for me and to kedah is about 6hrs generally. I suggest if you are going alone maybe with just one partner just direct to penang, well taking flight is a better option.

its kinda of fulfillment... if you dont enjoy driving... Malacca also sian lah.... [laugh]

i drove to penang once, stop over 1N @ Genting... however, going with in law is no joke, cannot go too fast, nag at your speed you travel and u need to balance between the speed u travel and the braking distance... and your alertness / anticipation on night drive...

its kinda of fulfillment... if you dont enjoy driving... Malacca also sian lah.... [laugh]

i drove to penang once, stop over 1N @ Genting... however, going with in law is no joke, cannot go too fast, nag at your speed you travel and u need to balance between the speed u travel and the braking distance... and your alertness / anticipation on night drive...

Thats what I am afraid. I am not much of a people person.

Thanks for all the tips. Trip will be later this mth. Can't say I am looking forward to it but heard the food is good there.

Hope its worth while......