Hybrid + CNG Possible?

Kenmical

Hybrid + CNG?  

8 members have voted

1. 1. Was planning for the future in a resource scarce planet earth. So this idea actually came up. What do you think?

• Yes
    • No

Just a wild thought :D ...imagining if I can top up petrol and gas in Msia. Run out of gas just continue to use petrol and travel to Msia in 3/4 tank to top up both. :D

I read somewhere before that one of the car makers (Toyota or Honda I think) did a successful prototype before but say no plans for production.

I thnk CNG is not commercially via for car companies yet.

It's not a real solution to replacing fossil fuel. Car manufacturers employ so many PhD engineers, why didn't they think of that? Simple reason. For the extra cost just to build such a car plus the high fuel cost, ppl will just give up and use a cheaper alternative.

Just a wild thought :D ...imagining if I can top up petrol and gas in Msia. Run out of gas just continue to use petrol and travel to Msia in 3/4 tank to top up both. :D

no need lah.. now currently wif normal petrol car + CNG.. i still can maintain 3/4 tank easily to go in JB once every 3 weeks..

u still wan hybrid????

I attempted this idea and drove my Estima hybrid to the CNG people

The answer is NO.

Either they dare not modify or no CNG kits available for hybrid engines.

Was told that CNG cannot be installed to Atkinson cycle engine which Toyota hybrid car engine is based. Not sure for Honda hybrids.

Hybrid system is factory fitted so the suspension has been designed for the additional weight.

Thought I had approached the CNG people, it is for the fun of getting to know if CNG kit can install onto hybrid cars.

For me the decision not to buy CNG car, are SAFETY and the tanks take away the boot space.

Hybrid system is factory fitted so the suspension has been designed for the additional weight.

Thought I had approached the CNG people, it is for the fun of getting to know if CNG kit can install onto hybrid cars.

For me the decision not to buy CNG car, are SAFETY and the tanks take away the boot space.

now also no pt. so few stations and got the tax

IMO, i dun think so...

Even "CNG" is brand as one of the "hybrid"....E.g (Petrol & CNG)

No matter wad...Car still requires fuel (diesel/ petrol) to at least run...

Maybe u try (Petrol & Electric Motor + CNG tank)?

:wacko::wacko:

lol. no need so troublesome. just convert the CNG tank to put petrol [sly]

CNG only workable in countries with cng reserves and convenient supply.

In Singapore everything is imported....and CNG price is tied to crude oil price....there is zero incentive to use CNG cars, as the running costs will be similar!

I was watching the news 25thjune on TV, about the electric car trial in Singapore, all the drivers in the electric cars are Angmoh drivers, most likely CEO or executive levels. I know the review of the trial will be skewed, as these Angmoh drivers are staying in nice house and nice offices, the charging system are already built in for their conveniences. Of course driving the cars will be a pleasure and convenience for them.

The SPC at Jurong which was one of the first to offer CNG, had also dismantled CNG pump station and revert back to normal fuel already.