Burst my timing belt

Aimnfire

Alot of guys here seems to forget,while you are idling your engine, your belt is running as well with no milage increase. If you are the type like to on air con and wait for people everyday or on air con in car to sleep every now and than, you better not follow the recommended milage in the book.

got a call from the workshop

the mech said i was very very lucky

as the belt burst when i was stationary (i told them at traffic light junction when move off realise engine die off already)

therefore never kena the rod or valve whatsoever

can collect today but i told him cannot as i cannot make it on time before they close

so will collect tomorrow after work

the damage is around $500+

well its better than kena almost $2k top overhaul

I must say you are very fortunate in this case.

hi gendut

the car is new when i bought 5 years ago

actually i was rather piss off with the workshop that change my timing belt

i ask how much?

he said $350

what item change?

he said every thing change lah, bearing, water pump etc etc

can pay by credit card?

he said no problem

so when i collect my car kena pay cash no credit card

knn lucky i was holding some cash

then after payment when i ask for breakdown detail invoice

knn give me 1 invoice change timing belt

then i ask what change

he said change timing belt, bearing

then i ask how come water pump never change

he said still ok

then why price same when pump never change

he said if change will be charge more

knn

until now i dont trust that bloody workshop anymore

futhermore can use my car and drive to buy spare parts

how i know?

cause i caught them when i return to the shop 1 hour later as i left something in the car

knn the shop can say he got out to test my car suspesion blah blah blah

This kind of workshop I will dump them straightaway and drive to another trusted shop to troubleshoot their job. Especially changing timing belt which is an important part of car servicing.

Sud not b a problem?????

Some pple exceed mileage by 50K km also no problem. :wacko:

This kind of thing it is not worth to take chances.

yes i do know that from the years when i use to ride

when you buy spare parts most workshop not happy

thats why some minor parts usually i buy then change in jb

but involving major works like timing belts and overhaul

i prefer in sg letting them buy the spare parts as anything breakdown can refer back to them

Correct. That is what I do with my timing belt servicing.

But I will hang around and see them do or service my car.

Don't you do regular manual checks on your car such as tyre pressure, engine oil, physical inspection of what is under the bonnet?

I had a timing belt that was split down the middle 1 week after I sent to Borneo for servicing for my old Toyota Corona. And the timing belt wasn't due to replacement for another 10k. If it wasn't for my habit to do under the hood checking, I'll be in big trouble.

sigh

was sending wife to work before proceeding to work place

at traffic light junction suddenly engine die off

try to start but i hear the cracking sound i knew my timing belt gone already

sigh was targeting another 4000km before changing the belt as it will reach 80k base on my calculation from previous belt change

forgot my work environment alot of dust and dry marking most rubbers harden faster

sigh sibei sian

Not very nice leh because Kia may not be happy.......but who cares!!!! :D

OK here goes (you may need some handyman skills here):

For Kia Cerato 1.6 2005 Model year......

1. Your aircon fan may experience frequent blown fuse.

2. You aircon fan may fail without you realising it because the radiator fan would still be running. The long term effect to this is that your radiator would eventually crack at the top header due to uneven thermal stresses on it. Solve the root cause and you avoid this.

3. Your alternator carbon brushes may give up soon. If not found out, it may cause you to run your battery flat. Then if not diagnosed properly, you end up first buying a new battery, then new alternator or any other unnecessary stuff tha shop may want to push. Just take the alternator out and get carbon brushes done. maybe a $40 job.

4. Your high pressure steering pump hose may leak at the joints. First the leak is so tiny, manifested by reservoir level drop, almost unnoticeable. It leaks onto the pump shaft making you think the seals are gone. Shops will want you to buy a new pump.

5. Your expansion tank cap may develop a crack at the point where it connects to the hose, preventing coolant being sucked back into the radiator when its cool.

At the moment cannot remember anymore stuff that I manage to troubleshoot. Besides this, its a wonderful car. I enjoyed working on it as much as driving it ever since I bought it. [thumbsup]

hey bro thanks for the info

here's my take

1. never experience before

2. radiator crack already. topping up water once a week (any recommendation after changing the radiator what is the preventive measures)

3. ok this have been bugging me from the start when i got my car. when at agent i told them the car literally cough sometimes like battery wanna falt before firing the engine. but they take easy way out by saying battery going to be gone soon. even the jb mech cannot diagnose the problem after changing the battery few days later the cough start to come back(any recommendation)

4. leak already, now topping fluid once a month

5. so far so good

just to add, my engine sometimes have alot of engine oil, so my mech trace it to worn out seal at the engine oil cap

depend on which way the piston hit......if hit side of block(toa kong liao)

yup if the piston scratch the block, game over

Alot of guys here seems to forget,while you are idling your engine, your belt is running as well with no milage increase. If you are the type like to on air con and wait for people everyday or on air con in car to sleep every now and than, you better not follow the recommended milage in the book.

yup thats why i mention i forgot the advise form my late dad

anyway now will change at 70k instead of 80k

providing coe dont crash and i bought a new car

I must say you are very fortunate in this case.

yes bro

i am very very lucky

time to donate some money to mosque or charity organisation

Correct. That is what I do with my timing belt servicing.

But I will hang around and see them do or service my car.

that time is because since its convenience over at my work place

futhermore i kena recall back to attend urgent job

thats why cannot take leave to see the car

Don't you do regular manual checks on your car such as tyre pressure, engine oil, physical inspection of what is under the bonnet?

I had a timing belt that was split down the middle 1 week after I sent to Borneo for servicing for my old Toyota Corona. And the timing belt wasn't due to replacement for another 10k. If it wasn't for my habit to do under the hood checking, I'll be in big trouble.

i did

but for timing belt cannot see

for aux belt that one no problem

once i detect a crack wil change it asap

i tot the car nowaday all using timing chain (maintenance free)...timing belt is for old generation car?

only nissan uses timing chains.

U mean for your car, the timing belt can't be seen visually? Is it enclosed in a casing?

i did

but for timing belt cannot see

for aux belt that one no problem

once i detect a crack wil change it asap

only nissan uses timing chains.

no i dun think so...

my previous accord 2002 model...using timing chain

my current toyota mark X using timing chain as well

tats y i am just wondering if the "timing belt" u guys mention is the aircon compressor belt, which link to crank pully...alternator and aircon compressor