Question on BBK and ABS

If rotors are new from 2 months ago, a cheap fix will be skimming them.

BTW what BBK and rotors are you using ?

The brand is Kido. Comes as a set. Made in Taiwan

Problem is probably due to the uneven surface of the rotor after some time of usage. Cause of this could be brake fluid not bleed probably to release air in the system.

To solve, go to WS to file the brake pad to even surface and get the rotor to be surface. Then do a proper brake fluid bleed. Then do a proper brake bed-in. Search for the WS and the bed in procedure.

Under normal road usage, it is very unlikely the rotor will be warp. Unless u do 80-100km/h to 10km/h hard brake several times within in short period (1min) and splash it with water.

just one question here, is it normal to hear the screeching sound when braking? it is like the sound of pad finished.

What if even the pad already been changed, sometimes still have screeching sound, what's the problem? [:/]

just one question here, is it normal to hear the screeching sound when braking? it is like the sound of pad finished.

Unless you are on BBK or after art pads, normal stock pads should not give this problem,

at least very very rarely.

If on BBK, check that there is the pad sweep surface matches the rotor, as a guide, it is

usually 1-2 mm unswept area on the rotor top and bottom.

Pad material could be the culprit too and it usually is.

What if even the pad already been changed, sometimes still have screeching sound, what's the problem? [:/]

Check if there is ceramic brake pad for your brake model. Normally the brake pads are metallic/semi metallic in nature so it produces alot of brake dust and also causes screeching sound when cold.

Live with it or change brake pad with different material.

Used to be on mintex brake pads which produces alot of dust and screeching noise. Went to a few workshop and they skim the brake pads, refitted it but the noise came back the next day.

Fed up went online bought ceramic brake pad and noise went away and virtually very little brake dust and the bite is better.

Unless you are on BBK or after art pads, normal stock pads should not give this problem,

at least very very rarely.

If on BBK, check that there is the pad sweep surface matches the rotor, as a guide, it is

usually 1-2 mm unswept area on the rotor top and bottom.

Pad material could be the culprit too and it usually is.

yes, change to 4p BBK with ap racing pad.. dun quite understand what you mean by the unswept area leh :wacko:

Check if there is ceramic brake pad for your brake model. Normally the brake pads are metallic/semi metallic in nature so it produces alot of brake dust and also causes screeching sound when cold.

Live with it or change brake pad with different material.

Used to be on mintex brake pads which produces alot of dust and screeching noise. Went to a few workshop and they skim the brake pads, refitted it but the noise came back the next day.

Fed up went online bought ceramic brake pad and noise went away and virtually very little brake dust and the bite is better.

i dunno mine is ceramic or metallic pad. but it produces ALOT ALOT of brake dust. 1-2 weeks no wash my chrome rim become matt black rim liao.. the screeching sound is really loud i can even hear it inside the car with music on (normal volume). the sound kicks in when speed is below 50km/h.

BTW where you get ur ceramic brake pad? how to tell if it fits my BBK? i bought it over 2nd hand..

Edited by Alvinchoo

confirm is metallic brake pad....

Check with AP dealer in Singapore if they have non-metallic material and then do some research on web...no need ask them if got brake dust or not. they sure tell you little brake dust..

You can try ebay as I got my ceramic brake pad on eBay for USD$69 including shipping for front brakes only.

actually BBK with slotted discs are the worst for daily driving as the slotted grooves wear out your brake pad very fast so you change every 6 months...

Was on VTTR 6-pot then sold it after a year....

confirm is metallic brake pad....

Check with AP dealer in Singapore if they have non-metallic material and then do some research on web...no need ask them if got brake dust or not. they sure tell you little brake dust..

You can try ebay as I got my ceramic brake pad on eBay for USD$69 including shipping for front brakes only.

actually BBK with slotted discs are the worst for daily driving as the slotted grooves wear out your brake pad very fast so you change every 6 months...

Was on VTTR 6-pot then sold it after a year....

USD$69 every 6months is not alot.. but if you compare to non-slotted or stock ofcos expensive la. i need the breaking power becos tend to drive fast and my brake is a bit soft even with booster.

but i also notice something leh... the screeching is not constant... its like going over a period. like when the rim is at a certain position den have screech.. another position no sound... so when i brake is like ekkkk....silent....eekkkk...silent....(den when almost complete stop 0-20km/h) is constant screeching... can it be slanted rotor or never fix properly?

Edited by Alvinchoo