2012 allowable car population growth

Cluboxed

So the quota ain't entirely dependant on the market =)

Anyways, I'm pretty sure the gahmen will think of new policies to justify their next move; be it to increase or decrease the quotas.

I'm pretty sure the pay-per-distance thingy will play a major factor.

Just wait for the next budget in YR2012.

definitely the distance-based charging system will kick off..anyway it's in testing now.. [;)]

With land scared place like spore, govt should long consider building those two tier expressway example two tier for the CTE rather than open another one that take up space again.

dun think so.. it mean they going to use up Singapore reserves to spend..

It depends, more cars doesn't necessary mean more congestion on the road.

If the govt allows a higher growth, they will control the usage....

For example, increase ERP, parking rates & petrol to deter usage.

So, one can own a vehicle, but to use it...... [idea]

Den ppl will say they rather have the high COE as COE can borrow from bank. Imagine to deter ppl from using car, govt charge 30 bucks min. per ERP gentry, 500 bucks for HDB season parking per mth, parking rate at min. 10 bucks per hr, petrol at 5 bucks per ltr etc... all these lan lan need to pay in cash. Ppl confirm rather want high COE., coz at least they can take bank loan.

COE was supposed to be secured by individuals before they can buy a car,

but now, it's just an additional tax on the car. It still works to a certain extent. I mean, what if cars here don't have this additional COE tax? It'd be much worse. The roads will be jammed packed with cars.

But it ain't working as what it's supposed to be. If COE has to be paid in full cash, not many will want to buy car already.

[Just look at COE cars to be deregistered. COE is now so high, it just doesn't make sense to renew their COE's]. Now there's fewer and fewer COE cars left on our roads.

And it seems that ERP ain't working in practical terms as well. Certain parts, there's slow traffic, in KPE, there're traffic jams.

I still believe the gahmen will want more people to own cars, and will still make it appealing to drive them. Or else, year-on-year, they don't have % increase, how to answer to their shareholders???

And the roadtax, ARF, GST, fuel duty, etc all the additional taxes that drivers pay, should be more than enough to fund for expansion of motorways and roads isn't it???

They're just keeping all these money in their pocket.

They will slowly but surely increase the road usage fees, so with each increment, motorist's wouldn't feel the pinch, and will still not give up the convenience of driving for the price to pay to use the car on the road.

This is the success of our gahmen.

Edited by Proton_neutron

come 2014, GPS/SIM based ERP will be operational.

Can issue more COE already.

2012 + 3%

2013 + 5%.

Road more congested. So, justify to start implement distance based ERP in 2014.

come 2014, GPS/SIM based ERP will be operational.

Can issue more COE already.

2012 + 3%

2013 + 5%.

Road more congested. So, justify to start implement distance based ERP in 2014.

Yeah. With Pay-Per-Use scheme, gahmen will allow for more COE quotas, which will hopefully, bring down prices.

The allowable growth rate was cut from 3% to 1.5% back in 2009.

The 1.5% growth rate will be due for revision for 2012 onwards.

What is your take on the new growth rate? increase? stay the same? decrease?

My view is decrease..maybe to 1% or lesser.

My view is: Keep good maintenance of your current car...Don't gong gong kana carrot by the MIW...it is simply gong to buy a car at this COE...I will go overhaul, respray and anything to keep my current ride in super condition....Sooner or later...with the car population aging and pollution level go up... COE will have to be reduced to a level of sub $20K..so as renewal of car population will occur......it just a matter of time...I foresee the COE will be down around 2014 or so......Let see who can ''tong'' longer...For me...I won't change car anytime if the COE remain at this stupid level.....worse case...go for 2nd hand car....

Haha. Yeap.

Then again, the rich are really rich, and we need them to contribute to the sales of cars.

The lousy thing about the govt is that they want to increase population but then the infrastructure is not ready for it...

Even if you want to sell the car, public transport is damp lousy... last wk, i waited 1.5hr for a bus.... The stupid bus arrival system is totally unreliable..

Anyway on the topic... we are lucky if it is 0% growth...

The lousy thing about the govt is that they want to increase population but then the infrastructure is not ready for it...

Even if you want to sell the car, public transport is damp lousy... last wk, i waited 1.5hr for a bus.... The stupid bus arrival system is totally unreliable..

train still best.

but u pay more.(compared to bus)

u pay peanut get peanut.

Actually, public transport can be good or bad. It really depends on when you take it, and how you take it.

There're some who take the direct bus route, but the bus ends up circling around where you don't intend to go.

Others, change buses here and there, but they forgot about factoring in the waiting times for more buses, though the overall journey may be much shorter.

Take public transport must have tactics one

^_^

train still best.

but u pay more.(compared to bus)

u pay peanut get peanut.

But people will still wanna take bus as there's a chance of having a seat throughout the journey.

But that chance of having a seat is only there if you take the bus from the interchange. And during off-peak hours/ first in line during peak hours.

But people will still wanna take bus as there's a chance of having a seat throughout the journey.

But that chance of having a seat is only there if you take the bus from the interchange. And during off-peak hours/ first in line during peak hours.

same for train. take from the ends and off peak hrs no need stand.

when i was staying in tampines last time, i took the train to pasir ris just to get a seat.

same for train. take from the ends and off peak hrs no need stand.

when i was staying in tampines last time, i took the train to pasir ris just to get a seat.

Yah. But that's only for those living near the ends of the train lines.

The rest boarding from other stations, LL have to stand lorh.....

=(

And to think we pay a bomb just to stand in trains.

It's equally bad during peak hours on the roads and in public transport.

either way its gonna be bad...

so the govt will still sell cars with COE....

and then make the roads overpacked and force everyone to squeeze into public transport...

Yah. But that's only for those living near the ends of the train lines.

The rest boarding from other stations, LL have to stand lorh.....

=(

And to think we pay a bomb just to stand in trains.

train faster=pay more

bus slower=pay less.

"express" service=less stops=pay more.

The allowable growth rate was cut from 3% to 1.5% back in 2009.

The 1.5% growth rate will be due for revision for 2012 onwards.

What is your take on the new growth rate? increase? stay the same? decrease?

My view is decrease..maybe to 1% or lesser.

do not matter to me as my car is still new.

train faster=pay more

bus slower=pay less.

"express" service=less stops=pay more.

driving your own car = stop anywhere u like and u want= pay a bomb..