Mllcg 3rd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 driving your own car = stop anywhere u like and u want= pay a bomb.. time saved travelling=money well spent. lols. to some extent la. not all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takumi21 2nd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 My view is: Keep good maintenance of your current car...Don't gong gong kana carrot by the MIW...it is simply gong to buy a car at this COE...I will go overhaul, respray and anything to keep my current ride in super condition....Sooner or later...with the car population aging and pollution level go up... COE will have to be reduced to a level of sub $20K..so as renewal of car population will occur......it just a matter of time...I foresee the COE will be down around 2014 or so......Let see who can ''tong'' longer...For me...I won't change car anytime if the COE remain at this stupid level.....worse case...go for 2nd hand car.... hmm.. if everyone think like u, i dun think the COE will go down to $20k... dun forget the new PR citizen and new Drivers... now $40k ++++, i think come down slight to $30s, many ppl will chiong and change cars liao.. end up e COE increase again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takumi21 2nd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 time saved travelling=money well spent. lols. to some extent la. not all time save travelling.. but hor.. sometimes when going to certain location, u need spend another 30mins looking for parking lots!!! LOL.. + another expensive parking charges.. (example idiot orchard road)..... wasted another 30 mins.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 time save travelling.. but hor.. sometimes when going to certain location, u need spend another 30mins looking for parking lots!!! LOL.. + another expensive parking charges.. (example idiot orchard road)..... wasted another 30 mins.. still faster than bus la. bus:15 mins wait. 30 mins ride. 10 mins walk. train: 10 mins walk, 5 mins wait,15 mins ride. car: 2 mins walk, 20 mins ride, 10 mins finding lot. lol. orchard parking is madness. same for bugis area. normally if i go orchard, i park at dhoby guaut and take train. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 (edited) hmm.. if everyone think like u, i dun think the COE will go down to $20k... dun forget the new PR citizen and new Drivers... now $40k ++++, i think come down slight to $30s, many ppl will chiong and change cars liao.. end up e COE increase again.. My view is different..If gahment want to replace the aging car population...What they need to do is to issue COE like toilet paper....Once that happened, people will change and change...it just take a year or so with a flooding of COE on market and those need to change car will have already changed ...What happen then? the demand will be reduced and COE will go down......that will be the best time for people like me to change my current car......This is what happened when COE was at sub $20K....because they did not reduce the COE issuing to such an extend so during that time, you hardly see an old car on the road...and COE is considered low.....if you old enough, COE was also at current high level in the 90s and there are so many COE car on the road then....close to 20 years old car is so common on the road...Until a time, gahment think they need to renew the car population...there they go...isuse and issue COE like toilet paper....and now is time to stop/reduce the renewal....so COE was limited again.............It will come again...it is in a cycle.....so if one had an existing car...keep it...if one have no car and die die need a car....buy a 2nd hand car...let's pollute the damn air in Singapore and gahment will start to renew the car population..... Edited September 9, 2011 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Author Share September 9, 2011 it is just based on different logic.. projected de-reg forecast vs actual de-reg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 it is just based on different logic.. projected de-reg forecast vs actual de-reg What trigger de-reg? Is link to change of car ...and what is link to changing of car? Is link to car price... and what is link to car price? Is COE. So it is just another way gahment put it to us... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 What trigger de-reg? Is link to change of car ...and what is link to changing of car? Is link to car price... and what is link to car price? Is COE. So it is just another way gahment put it to us... old formula is projected degestrations added to the coe pool. new formula is ACTUAL deregs, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 it is just based on different logic.. projected de-reg forecast vs actual de-reg This is just a excuse. Not the reason. The forecast might be wrong for the first 6 months, they could correct it in the next 6 months, but they chose not to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takumi21 2nd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 My view is different..If gahment want to replace the aging car population...What they need to do is to issue COE like toilet paper....Once that happened, people will change and change...it just take a year or so with a flooding of COE on market and those need to change car will have already changed ...What happen then? the demand will be reduced and COE will go down......that will be the best time for people like me to change my current car......This is what happened when COE was at sub $20K....because they did not reduce the COE issuing to such an extend so during that time, you hardly see an old car on the road...and COE is considered low.....if you old enough, COE was also at current high level in the 90s and there are so many COE car on the road then....close to 20 years old car is so common on the road...Until a time, gahment think they need to renew the car population...there they go...isuse and issue COE like toilet paper....and now is time to stop/reduce the renewal....so COE was limited again.............It will come again...it is in a cycle.....so if one had an existing car...keep it...if one have no car and die die need a car....buy a 2nd hand car...let's pollute the damn air in Singapore and gahment will start to renew the car population..... 1st - i dun think e govt will wan to reduce e age of the car population, never.. but will try reduce e number of cars ownership.. reason why COE hit low during 2007 till 2009 because they miscalculated the growing percentage of COE issue.. i dun think this mistake will happen again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 My guess is at best 0% i.e. no growth, might even be a symbolic cut of up to -1%...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Don't forget without a doubt that for each new car sold here, it attracts a tax of 1. 27% of the OMV, even without factoring in COE. U think gahmen wanna forsake this 1.27% of gains for each car sold here? They'll obviously try their very best to have as much cars sold here as possible. Whatever else they do, is only for their benefit, and not for us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 It is obvious that the problem today with the congestion was created by the mis-projections in Y2006 to Y2008. They have cut the allowable growth from 3 % to 1.5% but IMO there should have zero growth or even negative growth and cut the no. of COE allocated. But this is going to be very unpopular action and will create further unhappiness with the people. Hence, I doubt that the authority will cut the allowable growth and it will remain at 1.5%. I am personally disappointed that the authority is not taking positive action to rectify the problem that they have created...... COE is supposed to control the population of the car but it is obviously not working in recent years due to the misprojections. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Don;t you think they are squeezing us on both ends ? Buy car too expensive cannot afford Take Pubic Transport - overcrowded cannot tahan Dono what they are thinking or wnat they want.. The only option is Bicycle or Electric ones. If our roads reduced cars after COE Sky high, and 90% of "vehicles" are Electric Bikes that will be nice isn't it ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Don't forget without a doubt that for each new car sold here, it attracts a tax of 1. 27% of the OMV, even without factoring in COE. U think gahmen wanna forsake this 1.27% of gains for each car sold here? They'll obviously try their very best to have as much cars sold here as possible. Whatever else they do, is only for their benefit, and not for us. i think u mean 127% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 (edited) I don't know if they will allow the car population to grow or not but I like to bring out a really farked up forecast done by them. In 2007 or 2008, they went ahead and implement the Euro 4 for commercial vehicles. They said it's for cleaner emission and fresher air. At that time, there was NO dealers selling any Euro 4 vehicles as the manufacturers (mostly Japanese) were not ready. So what happened as a result? No one was buying any commercial vehicles and therefore COE for Cat C dropped to.......$1! After that, the owners of those old beaten up lorries and vans went to renew their COE for 10 years at $1. That is why you see so many old lorries and vans with black smoke on the roads today, which they should have been scrapped by now. So much for their 'cleaner emission and fresher air'. Should sack the bloody scholar who came up with this brilliant idea. Really FUBAR. Farked Up Beyond All Recognition. Edited September 9, 2011 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 Don;t you think they are squeezing us on both ends ? Buy car too expensive cannot afford Take Pubic Transport - overcrowded cannot tahan Dono what they are thinking or wnat they want.. The only option is Bicycle or Electric ones. If our roads reduced cars after COE Sky high, and 90% of "vehicles" are Electric Bikes that will be nice isn't it ? the best fix now, is to make cars cheap to buy. but expensive to drive. and lower public transport prices 20 per ERP gantry. 10 bucks per hr to park in CBD. ERP gantry on from 7am to 11pm. too expensive dont drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear September 9, 2011 Share September 9, 2011 the best fix now, is to make cars cheap to buy. but expensive to drive. and lower public transport prices 20 per ERP gantry. 10 bucks per hr to park in CBD. ERP gantry on from 7am to 11pm. too expensive dont drive. In that case, what should be the correct no. of cars on the road ??? Now it is about 1 Million .... let say that cars are really cheap and the population double to 2 Million. And everyone decided that they are driving on the same day ..... what happens next ????? The roads are not able to cope with 1 million cars, how to cope if we have 2 Millions cars ? Cheap to buy, expensive to drive ????? IMO, not workable ..... car population still needs to be controlled. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...