Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 Hi guys, Thinking of upsizing from 205/55/16 to either 225/50/17 or 225/45/18 difference will be new tyre is 5% larger than original in terms of diameter. Has anyone upsized their tyres this way and how did it affect your car? My body kit is too low and my wheel gap is too large so instead of lowering it i am thinking make the wheel bigger to cover the gap and at the same time preserve the ride height so i may still enter MSCP. My wheel gap is 3 inch. my front kit to ground is 3 inch which is already scrapping every mscp in singapore. I got neighbour with car undercarriage saying 'g-r-e-a-t' each time he drove over the speed hump at open carpark, as well. However, 3% seems to be the recommended threshold for any tire upsizing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 (edited) what car are you driving.?Our speedometer by the way is about 5-7% faster,actually upsizing your tires will make it more accurate. base on what "speedometer is faster abt 5%-7%"? what car u driving?? my car speedo very accurate, reason, speedo same as GPS thus cannot be 5% to 7% apart the most 1% apart Edited September 27, 2011 by D3badge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 base on what "speedometer is faster abt 5%-7%"? what car u driving?? my car speedo very accurate, reason, speedo same as GPS thus cannot be 5% to 7% apart the most 1% apart really? what car are you driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Author Share September 27, 2011 Inaccurate odo is small issue.. its the rubbing with fender when making completed turn that's irritating. . Make sure yr wheel arc can accommodate. I upsize 3%.. more for comfort factor as thicker.. having the tyre svrabbing against fender when turning completely when doing u turn especially well... there is no way my fender is even going to smell my tyre. as you can see, they are like worlds apart from each other now someone look me in the eyes and tell me my tyres are nicely sized for that wheel arch so that i can sleep well tonight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Author Share September 27, 2011 best if you can share your concern with the same car model fan club so they can provide the most accurate live data. the club is already extinct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prodrive7354 Neutral Newbie September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 your car lowered on coilovers? Stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 the club is already extinct. your Galant VR4? How many years left on COE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Author Share September 27, 2011 your Galant VR4? How many years left on COE? Normal 6yr old galant only leh, VR4 wheels/rims/brakes/rotor wont be so small one hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 u can fit 4 stray cats inside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Author Share September 27, 2011 u can fit 4 stray cats inside and 4 more stray dogs why the hell my car is designed with such a big wheel well. It looks like i need some huge ass rims and tyres! i think only a suvs gap is more! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 (edited) well... there is no way my fender is even going to smell my tyre. as you can see, they are like worlds apart from each other now someone look me in the eyes and tell me my tyres are nicely sized for that wheel arch so that i can sleep well tonight. Looking at the pic, other than the speedo being off, the only other possible issue is with the tyre rubbing the sidewall when you're turning. I doubt your car will bottom out and hit the tyres with a full load over bigger bumps Is the lip at the bottom of the front bumper stock??? It seems to be really low (compared to the side-skirts) which may be your issue. Edited September 27, 2011 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 just add arch cover la , cheapest Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lectrosphere 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 well... there is no way my fender is even going to smell my tyre. as you can see, they are like worlds apart from each other now someone look me in the eyes and tell me my tyres are nicely sized for that wheel arch so that i can sleep well tonight. nice ride bro! your front only so many light bulb liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Author Share September 27, 2011 nice ride bro! your front only so many light bulb liao ya got alot of bulbs to change Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lectrosphere 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 ya got alot of bulbs to change nice front kit.. always wanted to get 1 galant... but bo lui your front kit very special... still got retain the original galant type foglights Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear September 27, 2011 Author Share September 27, 2011 Looking at the pic, other than the speedo being off, the only other possible issue is with the tyre rubbing the sidewall when you're turning. I doubt your car will bottom out and hit the tyres with a full load over bigger bumps Is the lip at the bottom of the front bumper stock??? It seems to be really low (compared to the side-skirts) which may be your issue. no not stock. its about 2 inches lower than stock. thinking upsize 5% and lower 2 inches but then im not sure if i can survive most carparks. anyone here with ultra low cars? How do you park/survive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_young_once Neutral Newbie September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 no not stock. its about 2 inches lower than stock. thinking upsize 5% and lower 2 inches but then im not sure if i can survive most carparks. anyone here with ultra low cars? How do you park/survive? I think everyone already mentioned all the possible concerns about your upsizing plan, I feel the most pertinent is rubbing inner wheel well when full-lock turning, other than that speedometer a bit out is ok? Just don't speed, stay 5km/h below the limit (as indicated by meter) I was once low, 1 finger front, zero to negative finger rear, with no one in car! Unusable, I changed that setup after few months, how to park? strictly no overhang allowed over any kerb (initially bang the bumper a lot) so the car quite 'sticks out' esp in normal HDB lots, and no need to say, at least half of the humps I go over is scrappage time, even if very slowly, with 1 person in car only (driver)!! Going up MSCP slope, every slope is scrappage also As I said, unusable, changed very quickly, but I never put any skirting/lip/bodykit, I know to each his own, but I loves the LOW, but strictly w/o kit, bare body shape best, btw, 2006 Altis Kenny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear September 27, 2011 Share September 27, 2011 (edited) serpent Q4 Edited September 27, 2011 by D3badge ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...